We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Travelodge yet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Travelodge yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This Travelodge was the most comfortable we have ever stayed in - well done Travelodge for the new style beds. Room was quiet and spotless. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Hotel was easy to find. On site Little Chef provides great breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank JudeJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    92
    33
    22
    14
See reviews for
78
99
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
95 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a family room. The hotel is at a small services and is a good place to stay if you are on the way to somewhere. The room was clean and tidy and in good condition - pretty much what you expect from a Travelodge, though it was an unusually weak shower.

We paid just £44 for a family room, which I thought was excellent value. The family room setup was OK, though the pull out beds are not the most comfy, but for what you expect and what you pay it was a good deal all round.

The staff were all very friendly and polite. If you can, ask for a room at the back. Although the services are not that busy, it was a warm night and having the window open did let in the intermittent noise, so would have been better to be at the back.

Excellent value though - can't really go wrong.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The room was large & the bed extremely comfortable. One of the most comfortable we have ever slept on. So comfortable in fact, that we now plan to buy one of the Travelodge Dreamer beds by Sleepeezee for home. The room was clean & quiet. We slept very well with no disturbances. There is a McDonalds across the other side of the car park & very easy access to the A34. Excellent value for money, especially considering the prices of alternative accommodation within about 5-10 miles away.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sigosling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here 26/07/14 in a family room we arrived at 11.30pm & the staff member who greeted us was very helpful. The beds were very comfortable & the room was clean & facilities were just what you need. The shower was decent however I did clean the bathroom before using it. I have rated this as very good due to the quiet room & good night sleep had by all my family all for £29.50.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsCh1z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Unfortunately I had to stay at yet another Travelodge. On arrival the woman behind the counter informed us that even though as usual there is no aircon there are no fans left. You are left in a room so hot it's unbearable. The windows only open 6 inches as they treat their customers like 6 year olds and put stupid cables on the window. I'm 47 and have never fallen out of a window yet, so there is no way to remove the heat. They will of course state "It's for your safety" bull. Even if you do get some cool air the noise from trucks, vans and cars throughout the night will keep you awake. The rooms themselves are ok. Nothing special and suffice for an odd stay but not more than that.
Recommendations...Pick a hotel with aircon and one that doesn't treat it's customers like babies...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This used to be a dive but is much better now its been refurbished - I stay in Newbury a lot for work and this is one of my favorites (for the cost). Its somewhat out of town which makes it not quite as convenient as the London Road Travelodge but is nicer (at this time - London Road is due its refurb in August).

Room Tip: Rooms at the back left are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubaian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Having been unfortunate enough to sample the delights of an older style Travelodge last week, I was pleased to find myself in this one. The web-site claims it has been refurbished in their ‘fresh new style’ and for once this doesn’t seem to be an empty claim. The room was very clean and welcoming. The bed was superb – one of the most comfortable beds I’ve stayed in for a long while.

My only real gripe – and it is a very minor one – is that the room was unpleasantly hot. This was less due to any deficiency in the room itself and more down to the fact that the ambient temperature outside was ridiculously hot. In a perfect world, air-conditioning would have been ideal here, but I realise this is an unrealistic wish for a ‘budget’ hotel. However, a simple, inexpensive fan would have made a big difference…

The service was very good and the staff were genuinely welcoming both on check-in and check-out. During check-in, I was in a small queue behind a family group who appeared to have a problem with their reservation. Despite having a clear booking for that night, the reservation was not on the system so no room had been allocated and the hotel was full, meaning no room could be allocated. Much as I felt for the unfortunate family, the receptionist remained polite and unflappable and handled the situation as well as could be expected.

All-in-all - a nice little Travelodge, reasonably priced and very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPGDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
3.9 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
6.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
4.2 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
3.9 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill

Property: Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill
Address: Tot Hill Services, Newbury Bypass | A34 Trunk Road, Newbury RG20 9ED, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill Hotel Newbury
Travel Lodge Newbury
Newbury Travel Lodge
Newbury Travelodge
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing