We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Wimborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Despite our very late arrival received a genuine warm welcome. Lovely spacious suite (room 31) with large sony lcd tv with freeview, selection of hot beverages and biscuits, comfy sofa and chairs. Lovely fluffy white towels in bathroom and quality toiletries provided, oodles of hot water. Plenty of space in bedroom, comfy bed, spare pillows in wardrobe if required and loads of storage. Hairdryer and trouser press also in room. Breakfast was superb, in addition to the full english on offer, large selection of cereals, fruit juices, preserves, fresh coffee and tea including fruit/herbal teas were on offer, only problem was what to choose!!! Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LNsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    202
    64
    24
    14
See reviews for
139
234
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
guildford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hotel gives good value for money, the staff were friendly and helpful and a particular thanks should go to Mel on reception.
The quality of the food was very good and I would recommend the Steak Pie.
If there was any criticism it would be to the water pressure in the shower but this did not cause any overwhelming issues.
If in the area again I would seek out availability at this hotel as a first option.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The good: the room was very comfortable and clean.
Massive comfy bed.
Quiet at night.
Easy to find!
Fantastic food at dinner.

The bad: when we arrived we were waiting 20 minutes to check in (despite ringing the bell twice) we were then told our booking wasn't there and someone else would see to us, who then said the booking was there!
The shower in the room was so noisy and only seemed to have one temperature setting-boiling hot!
The website says satellite TV and its not, its freeview.
At breakfast my beans were absolutely freezing. We were a couple away on our own and were a bit disappointed when the waitress sat us at a table that was pinned in by 14 hungover men- really put us off our food!

Overall: Would stay here again and would definitely eat here in the evening again but we were a bit disappointed by our visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

just returned from a great weekend with friends, excellent service, friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms. Food was fantastic, great value for money, will no doubt stay here again and would highly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berkshire10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We booked our room at the very last minute and paid £54.50 for a double room with breakfast. Overall, the room was good, clean with a comfortable bed and we were quite satisfied with it. What really lets it down is that there are no opening windows, air vents or any method of refreshing the air - it really needed some form of ventilation. Also, the noise from the bathroom extractor from the room above seemed to amplify in ours, so much so it woke us in the night - it didn't go off for a very long time and until we realised what it was we were up hunting for the source! The other negative was that the promised free wi-fi didn't function in our room either (it did in reception).
However, the breakfast was good (although a little slow) and if they'd fix these little things we'd be returning as it offers good value for money and the staff are all very friendly. I really hope management read this and make the necessary changes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an opening window
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iresearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Not value for the money £ 75.
Poor room and narrow shower.
The staff forgot to reserv the dinner table we asked for
Their 'famous fish pie with salmon, cod, scallops, shrimps with sauce made of white vine and cream topped with mashed potatoes,
proved to be small pieces of salmon, hardly any cod, no scallops or shrimps. The sauce contended more water than vine and cream. We complained but no reaction at all from the chef.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birgitta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We chose this hotel as it was close to the A34. It is a former coaching inn with cottages in the carpark to the rear converted into bedrooms. Our bedroom was on the first floor of one of the cottages. It was very clean and the furniture was good quality and looked quite new. We arrived quite late and had dinner in the quaint restaurant - good value 2 courses on a Friday Steak and Grill night for £16.25. The beer was good. Breakfast was served in the same room. Service was brisk and whilst there was not a huge choice on the buffet, the hot food was cooked to order and OK. All in all a good hotel for its location close to A34 and ideal for the races at Newbury

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkYorkshirelass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
0.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,707 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
745 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
1.2 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newbury
#4 Business Hotel in Newbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing