We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went out of their way to make our stay really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I booked this for my wife as a surprise stay away on our 10th wedding anniversary. On my behalf they organised flowers for the room, let us book the restaurant at 6.00 (they don't normally serve until 6.30) as we had to get the the lovely local theatre (The Watermill - a small theatre which was great fun), and also had chocolates and a teddy bear in the room for us.

Dinner was superb - The food was lovely and plentiful. For dessert we both chose chocolate brownies and they arrived with hearts drawn on them with the sauce! :)

The staff were very friendly and helpful and really went out of their way to help and make our stay as nice as possible.

We both really enjoyed the stay and really enjoyed the show at the nearby watermill theatre. Next time we come to the theatre there we'll definitely be booking here again. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a "Cottage double" room which is in a separate building out the back. Spaciou...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for Hare and Hounds Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We visited the hotel during a very warm spell. I understand that you do not expect this type of Inn to have air conditioning and the weather is certainly not the Hotel's fault but if you are going to stick somebody in the attic with a miniscule window then you need to provide some other way of cooling the room down. We were offered a broken fan between two rooms and I suppose we were expected to keep moving the fan between rooms whilst are the same time trying to sleep. The rooms themselves were small and as I said in the roof and not particularly nice. On the plus side the staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good. The first point of a Inn is for somewhere to sleep this proved impossible here and even though we stayed at different hotels during our stay in the UK and the same heatwave this was the only one where we had trouble sleeping. We live in Paraguay so we are used to the heat but this was like a oven.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie_Cosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Mr H

I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and the service of our staff. Given the scores below you review I was disappointed you gave us a one star score. Perhaps on reflection this may seem a little harsh?

As mentioned in a reply below, we did experience extreme heat over the period you stayed, and I apologise that this caused your lack of sleep.

Our "attic" standard rooms are more characterful, but perhaps not everyone's taste. Indeed there is a picture of one of your rooms on the slideshow on our website, a link for which is above.

I would also note that if you had mentioned your disappointment on departure, we would have been happy to make a reduction on your room.

I trust the weather in Paraguay is pleasant.

Sincerely
Jonathan Nelsey MHI MBII
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Yes, the rooms are rather plain and the furnishings a mish-mash of items that might be found at yard sales or Goodwill. HOWEVER, everything is clean and serviceable, albeit eclectic to say the least. Beware that like most older properties (and new ones too) there is no AC. It was our luck to have booked two nights, that followed days when the temperature was over 90 degrees. Our pleasant 'suite' rooms were like an oven, and all we could do was place the little oscillating fan in the window and try to pull in some night air - which was still warm and humid.
The big, almost king-sized bed was comfortable but soft in the middle, yet not too bad. A plus was the high-quality flat-screen TV with excellent reception.
We really enjoyed the restaurant though - the food in the evening was excellent, and breakfasts were traditional and quite good. One of the best things about the hotel is the really pleasant and helpful staff. They really made my partner and I feel welcome.
Also, be aware that like many old inns, this one is right on the rather busy road and can be noisy, more in the morning than during the evening (sleep) hours. If you're a light sleeper, ask for one of the rooms in the addition at the rear. One other hint - drive just 8 miles to the beautiful town of Hungerford, which has many nice shops and picturesque long boats moored along the river. While there, go to dinner at Casanova's restaurant, in the lovely 3 Swans Hotel. Wonderful food and service in a cozy dining room.
Highclere Castle (Downton Abbey) is spectacular and just ten minutes away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Dangui

I trust your trip home was not too long and all is well in the great US.

As an old Inn we have very thick walls and in the exceptional weather we experienced recently the old girl did struggle to stay cool, for this I can only apologise.

The eclectic mix of furniture in our new suite is actually deliberate and I think the photo section show it off to be well worth the cost of refurbishment.

We were all pleased to read you enjoyed our restaurant and the added value of the discount for booking through our website!

Many thanks once again

Jonathan, Jean and all at our Great British Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were at a wedding. We arrived at the hotel at 1130am and housekeeping immediately sorted out our room so we could check in and use it from 1200, which was very good of them.

The hotel needs a bit of a refurb - it's a bit worn in places, but don't let this put you off. We had a room at the top of the main house with one of the most comfortable beds I have found in any hotel. We paid £54 for the night (breakfast was included and was a full English - very nice!).

The wedding was at the Watermill Theatre and this hotel is ideally placed if you are looking to stay over.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina_01_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Tina

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind review.

Our "attic" rooms are indeed next in line on our refurbishment schedule and we are glad that you felt them good value for money.

Our breakfast does prove very popular but we feel to cook each one fresh to order is well worth that little extra time1

We hope to see you again sometime.

Thanks again

Jonathan, Jean and all at The Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed at the Hare and Hounds for one night due to its proximity to the Watermill theater. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, I stayed in an annexe room which was very clean and the bed very comfortable. There was a lot of noise from the guests staying in the room above which kept me awake, but that is not the hotels fault. I didn't eat in the restaurant as it didn't open until 6.30pm and with the show starting at 7.30pm I didn't want the rush, however the breakfast, which was freshly cooked, was very tasty! All-in-all a very pleasant one night stay. Parking was not an issue and the whole place was very homely. The cleaning staff were very jovial in the morning, laughing and joking around, however I didn't really mind this, as it was nice to see people happy in their work and its obvious they take a great deal of pride in their work as my room was spotless! Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshlad15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Welshlad15

You are my Lil and the girls new BFF! They asked me to say this, and assure me it is good!!

To be serious, the housekeeping staff do an excellent job, particularly in the unusually warm hot spell we have just had!

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back.

Jonathan, Jean and all at the Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed as a group of friends at the end of July for a long weekend Fri-Mon.
On arrival there was a slight mix up with one room (out of 4) but it was sorted promptly and we ended up with a "nicer" room in the outer buildings from that at no extra cost.
We had booked in for an evening meal at the steak night. Personally, I won't have steak there again as it was overcooked, but the portions were generous and it was a very enjoyable meal. It was very good value for money as well. We had 2 birthdays that weekend so had arranged with the staff that we would bring cakes and they used their own candles (which is handy as you ALWAYS forget these when taking a cake to a restaurant, never mind on a short break!) And they were extremely accommodating with everything. I think everyone agreed that it was a very enjoyable evening, and then we continued to drink in the bar and outside until late at night.
Breakfast on the first morning was a bit disappointing but only because 2 of our party had to wait 35 mins between ordering their cooked breakfast and recieving it. That didn't happen the other 2 mornings so they might have been short-staffed? The food was good if not quite greasy but did they job and for the price per night, we couldn't quibble at all!
The rooms were comfortable and spacious, two of our rooms were in the main building and we also had 21 and 22 in the out buildings (handy being next to each other as well!) - I think we agreed the rooms in the outbuilding were more modern and nicer and the ones in the main building were maybe a bit outdated in decor. I think that maybe a little reinvestment in the decor and carpets (ours had an iron burn in it) would be appreciated by guests.
The location was brilliant for newbury, just a 30 minute walk or a few minutes drive so perfect for us. Very close to Highclere castle (which was the point of our trip) and enabled us to get to Highclere early and get in even though we hadn't booked.
Just a great weekend, great value for money, some improvements that could be done but overall perfect for what we wanted/needed it for.
Will definitely return if visiting that area again, and thank you to the helpful, polite and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not in the main building as these seem to be more modern and "nicer&q...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember08052015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Sooty and Co

Many thanks for your fulsome review1

The Superior Cottage rooms at the back are newly refurbished and we are very proud of them and more so our great staff.

We also pride ourselves in offering free full English breakfast in all our rates and when booked direct, a free gift (see above). I mention this as I think you agreed that as coaching Inn in the modern day, we do succeed in providing value for money

Thanks again

Jonathan
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

First of all, I must mention how kind and really nice the staff people are on the premises. It was busy after we checked in, and there was one person working reception, taking drink orders in the bar, and later as working as a waiter. He was so polite and helpful even with everything he had going on simultaneously. We had dinner in the hotel and the food was delicious. The rooms were not quite what we expected, but clean. One of our two rooms had a window which didn't open, and it was a super hot day. Not sure we would return for the accommodations, but would for the restaurant and to greet the staff!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Konatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Konatravelers

.

We are glad you enjoyed the service and food at the Inn. We have a great group of staff who really do care and its always nice to have their hard work recognised!

My sincere apologies for the window, it was sticking and is now fixed.

Please do return, we will ensure you are in one of the larger cottage rooms and that all is working properly.

Many thanks
Jonathan & Jean
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.3 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
791 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn, Newbury town centre south
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newbury
#4 Family Hotel in Newbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Price Range: £61 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing