We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We found this family run hotel on the internet and are delighted we had. The room was lovely with car parking close to our room. Everything we needed in the room, small bathroom, hot shower etc. and tea,coffee hot chocolate in the bedroom. Cosy and convenient with internet access which enabled us to speak to our family abroad on our celebration day, a big bonus.
All the staff were welcoming and professional. This was a special Celebration for us and we ate in the dining room. The choice of food was good with some unusual choices to try. My grilled three fish dish with a herb butter, (butter served in a little pot at my request) was excellent and my husband was impressed by the steak pie. Fresh fruit with meringue was lovely and the ice cream was creamy and oh so good! Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and had a good choice of cooked items.
A memorable stay, we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank New-Horizons14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear New Horizons

Its great when a review enables me to remember our guests! It was a pleasure to have been able to help you celebrate your anniversary!

We do try to give free the very things that the budget hotels cut to reduce costs; Larger towels, wifi, toiletries, hot drinks and handmade biscuits, freeview, quality restaurant, & "pub" bar, to name but a few.

Mostly, however we are proud that those who work so hard here are recognised for the great job they do and the friendliness that so many of our guests enjoy.

So Thank You and once again Congratulations

from us All at The Hare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Having previously stayed here but didn't have oppotunity to sample the fayre we were passing the area again and called in for lunch. Glad that we did. Food was well served and very nice at a reasonable cost. Seems the locals use it a fair bit too as it was quite busy on the saturday we visited. We will visit again when passing again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank P4RXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear P4RXC

Thanks for your review!

We are lucky to have a restaurant that is equally popular with our locals as our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Jonathan, Jean and all at the Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Hare and Hound is a great little hotel close to Downton Abbey and Donnington Castle. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The staff was VERY welcoming and made us feel right at home. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Hi Annie652

Thank you for your recommendation! We do get many visitors to "Downton" I hope you found the village where the series is also filmed, with the help of our guide!

Many thanks again for taking the time to leave your review, we very much appreciate it.

Jonathan, Jean and all at The Hare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here again and was not disappointed. Usual great welcome on arrival, The breakfast is really good and the staff are friendly. The rooms are large enough and have all the required amenities . Parking is good as it is front of the room.
We will stay here again and definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AeroToulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear AeroToulouse

I often post that we read all reviews at our monthly staff meeting, and yours came with the news that we were in the top 3 hotels in Newbury!

We would all like to extend a BIG THANKS to yourselves and everyone who has taken the time to lets us know that they enjoyed their time at "The Hare"!!

Jonathan, Jean and all at The Hare

PS and from Jean and I to our hard working staff, thank you all BE PROUD and keep up the good work!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

stayed again at hare and hound - same room, room fab, food and service all good too, def come back as such a friendly environment.

walked into newbury as a short walk,

ate at pub on Friday night, steak night, steak was fab and good value with a starter for 16.95

Room Tip: room 17 has bay window and is a stones throw from pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hi Dougal

Friday is Steak & Grill Night!! So pleased to see your return lived up to expectations.

I guess our relaxed but professional service works for you!!

See you soon

Jonathan, Jean and all at The Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend in Newbury staying at this hotel. Everyone was friendly from arrival, breakfast staff and departure. The room was quite small, particularly the bath room, but had been told that when booked, opened onto the carpark which was perfect as we had our dog with us. There were nice little extras, like good quality biscuits and hot chocolate, which you wouldn't expect at a lower cost hotel, plenty of tea, coffee and milk as well. Big bonus was the box of chocolates on the bed on arrival, most welcome. Only things I would change in the room from a personal view would be to put some hooks in the bathroom for damp towels or to hang your dressing gown on, and put the TV on brackets on the wall , would be easier to see and save space in a small room. Breakfast was good, would have liked it a little later, a lie in at the weekend is always welcome!! So 9.30 finish was just a bit early for my taste - a minor thing! Please could you put some local info in porch area, like national trust locally and some walks maybe, they might have been available, to be fair didn't ask! We were on the whole impressed, good value and no real problems, have already booked to go back, so that really says it all. Will eat at restaurant next time. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naianiretak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Naianiretak

Thank you for you kind review. Next time perhaps you will choose to take home Harry or Holly instead of the chocolates?

Funnily enough the Stable rooms, (one of which you stayed in) have just had new furniture and are being redecorated as we speak. I have the brackets for the TV ready to be put up during decoration and hooks are also in hand. We are also awaiting the delivery of coffee tables which will give additional space.

We are also in the process of compiling a local walks map for what is a very historic area (as will be seen in January when our "friend" Michael Portillo will feature us on his Great British Railway Journeys programme! The local information is provided by a tourism brochure company and I shall ask them to replenish more often.

In addition to the things you mention, king size towels, free wifi, a quality bar and restaurant, and more, we do hope that we provide good value.

Look forward to seeing you on your next visit and once again thank you!

Jonathan, Jean and all at The Hare
A link to get your free gift is on the special offer under the hotel title at the top of the page

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very welcoming, good service, comfortable. Stayed two nights and ate in restaurant both times (curry night Thursday and steak night Friday) - high quality fare and at a fair price. Service was very good. Breakfast plentiful and first class.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back (off the road) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NavDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear NavDoctor

Thank you for your kind comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We pride ourselves on cooking our breakfasts to order and are very happy that in an ever quickening world our guests appreciate this and are willing to wait a little longer.

We are actually revamping the other items on the breakfast menu to widen the continental range. This should be done soon and we hope will make us even better value.

Glad you enjoyed your two special nights in the restaurant and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Jonathan & Jean and all at The Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
3.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
3.3 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#6 of 17 in Newbury
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newbury
#4 Family Hotel in Newbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Price Range: £57 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing