We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at this hotel on gold cup weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another great stay at this hotel on gold cup weekend”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Lovely hotel stay here. Rooms comfy and warm. Stayed in a great family room with two rooms really spacious. Made to feel so welcome again by all staff. Fantastic food and drink at reasonable prices. See you next year!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alic26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Alic

It would seem that we were quite lucky for our guest over Hennessy as all seemed to do reasonably well against the bookmakers too! Long may that last!!

We look forward to another successful year next year and to showing you our new Barn. There are preview pictures on our website link above and a table by the log burner awaits your return!!

Have a great Christmas and Happy New Year

Jonathan and all at The Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    202
    64
    24
    14
See reviews for
139
234
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I was in Newbury for a dinner with friends and needed somewhere to stay. This hotel was great, the staff were lovely, very friendly and efficient. I travelled with my small dog and she was welcomed warmly. The hotel chose me a room with outside access because of the dog - very handy.
I only needed a drink and a snack - the bar area was full of cheery people who had obviously had a very good lunch! Breakfast the following morning was tasty and quite sufficient for the cost of the room.

Room Tip: My room faced the road and was near the road. I was not aware of the road until 8am the following d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CareFree5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Carefree

It is always a pleasure to have such nice comments, but particularly those from ladies travelling on their own.

It was our pleasure to look after you, have a lovely Christmas and a Happy New Year

Jonathan, Jean and all at the Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

A very Comfortable room, enjoyable good food and welcoming attentive staff. A good choice for our trip to the racing, less than 15mins by taxi even with very busy Gold Cup roads, will visit again. Thank you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miller F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Miller F

I trust you had good luck at the races too!

We fill quickly for all race meetings, so please book early when you return. Our staff are a constant source of pride and we are only too aware that they are what really makes "The Hare" a good place to really get away and relax.

Enjoy Christmas and we may even see you for the Dec 28th meeting?

Thanks again

Jonathan & Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We were attending a party locally and booked the hare and hounds. what a great choice, the staff were friendly and attentive.
Free box of chocs on the bed due to a special offer!
Bathroom was on the small side with just a shower, but it was fine for a one night stay.
Breakfast was tasty plenty if it and freshly cooked.
Plenty if free off road car parking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swind0nnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Nicki

Thanks for a great review, we sincerely appreciate your taking the time.

We get asked about the chocolates, so excuse me for a plug!!.....

Above the reviews at the top of the page is a link to our website where you will find the best rate available, guaranteed, and also get a box of Dairy Milk, or Harry the Hound, or Holly the Hare FREE.

Plug over sorry!!

Jonathan, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our group of 4 stayed the night before our Highclere Castle visit. A very warm welcome, clean easily accessible rooms with parking directly outside. Dinner and full English breakfast was excellent. Everything freshly cooked to order, attentive staff, lovely atmosphere. I would definitely recommend the Hare and Hounds and would stay again when next in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKBusinesslady292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear UKBL292

Highclere has meant we have had visitors from all over the world this year. I hope you enjoyed your visit there?

EAT, DRINK, SLEEP. as I so often say, that's really all we do. The fact that so many enjoy our service, food, real ales, wines and rooms, and take the time to tell us, is both a pleasure and a source of great pride to all of us here.

Thank You, have a lovely Christmas,

Jonathan & Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Just stayed for a 3rd year for Gold cup races weekend. Another great stay the staff could not be more helpful. 10 of us stayed and we always arrive early so they make sure at least one room is ready for us. We had lunch and dinner in the hotel and as always the food was excellent. The rooms are very comfortable and well kept. Overall this hotel is excellent value for money and would recommend it to anyone. We have already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0nes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Jones5

It was a pleasure as always and your arrival marks the start of our busiest weekend of the year with a smile! So thank you all in return!

Have a lovely Christmas and Happy New Year

Jonathan, Jean, Claire and all of us at the Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just got home from a lovely 2 night stay with a group of girl friends they have been coming to the races for a couple of years but it was my 1st time at the hotel staff very helpful we were made to feel extremely welcome nothing was too much trouble food was lovely and accommodation was clean and comfortable and really good value we will definitely be returning next year in fact we have already booked

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandabatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Manda

I think I'm more impressed you survived your first Hennessy with the girls!

It was our pleasure to look after you and says it all that you have booked for next year.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back and showing you our new restaurant!!

Have a lovely Christmas

Jonathan, Jean and all at the Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
0.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,707 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
745 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
1.2 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newbury
#4 Family Hotel in Newbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing