We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, will definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
suffolk, uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, will definitely return”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I booked several rooms by phone and the whole experience from booking to departure was excellent. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were a group of friends on an overnight stay and everyone was more than satisfied with their rooms. We had extra people join us for breakfast and also for dinner on our departure day and this was no problem, they even got the chef in earlier so we could eat before the normal food service time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainySuffolk_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Rainy Suffolk

We are so pleased that our willingness to be flexible was so helpful! And if it gets us a 5* review even better!! Seriously though, it was a pleasure to read your review. As an independent family run hotel, we realise that its the little things that make us stand out, and your comments mean alot, so Thank You.

Owing to the number of requests we get to open a little earlier or close a little later, we
intend to introduce a "cafe" menu and all day food in February! SO come back soon!

Many thanks again

Jonathan, Jean and all at The Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    206
    66
    24
    15
See reviews for
143
247
20
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed the weekend at this hotel this week, and we wern't dissapointed,
This is our 3rd stay and the service was excellent our room was lovely, loads of room nice and warm and cosy, the food was really good,plenty of breakfast the staff were really friendly, nothing was to much trouble,and the staff seemed really happy in their work which adds to the atmosphere Well done guys and thankyou we enjoyed ourselves and will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolann58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi Carol Ann

Thank you for your kind review. As always, we will be reading all reviews at our monthly meeting and yours will certainly bring a smile to our faces!

Our Winterbreak offer is back if you are on our mailing list? If not sign up on our website(link at the top of the page) and we will send it through the intraweb to you!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and thank you very much once again!

Jonathan and all at The Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We only stayed for 1 night on our way to Southampton but everything was lovely as expected after reading reviews .We had a evening meal which was perfect staff were really nice and the service was very good.Breakfast was served with the same friendly attitude as the meal the night before ,all in all a lovely place to stay ,would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Liz

Thank you for your great review!

Hopefully those reading don't get bored with me constantly emphasising the hard work that all here do. We are very lucky to have caring and proud staff, who truly believe in what we are and why we do it!

Happy New Year to you and to all who will Eat, Drink and/or Sleep at the Inn in 2014. And hopefully a successful New Year for our beloved Inn!

Jonathan & Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying here on New Years Eve. We met quite a few of the staff and they were all very pleasant and friendly. We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant in the evening and a fair few drinks from the bar......enough said :-/

The room was as expected, clean and with all the facilities we needed. Breakfast was perfect and my request for a super size full English was delivered with a smile and very tasty.

The owners obviously work hard to make the guests feel welcome. This establishment is an old coaching inn and is quaint in many ways and well priced. We would certainly visit again. Well done to the entire team for a great night.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Mark1466

Our memories of New Years Eve will live long here at the Inn. What a lovely night , with so many happy faces!

We can't wait for next year when we will have our new "Barn" restaurant!

Thanks for your review, come back next year for a 5* night!

Jonathan, Jean and all at the Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Had a fab weekend recently at the Hare and Hounds great place to stay with the girls for a weekend at a Newbury Races. Accommodation was perfect, clean and tidy. Had evening meal at the hotel food, service everything was great. Will defo return next year with the girls.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Melanie

Be it the races, Highclere (Downton Abbey) Castle, or any of our areas many attractions, we are just pleased that we play a part in making a break away relaxing and enjoyable.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we really do appreciate it!

Have a lovely Christmas and Happy New Year and will look forward to welcoming you back and showing you all the hard work with planning our new Barn was worth it!

Jonathan and all at The Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Perfect weekend at the Hare and Hounds.
Great atmosphere in the bar and restaurant and first class staff made for a great weekend.
Accommodation was exactly as described clean and comfortable.
Perfect location for visiting Highclare Castle which we enjoyed.
The food at Hare and hounds is excellent. We had lovely breakfast on both mornings and a delicious meal on Sunday night.
We really appreciated the friendly atmosphere in the bar area created by the efficient staff.
Thank you for a lovely weekend

Room Tip: Our room number 28 was just right for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfiieandLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Alfie & Lulu

"Every day in every way we get a little better" at least that is the aim we set ourselves!
In what has been a very busy month at the Inn, it is so nice of our guests to take the time to leave their comments. Our staff truly work hard and care very much. We are rightfully very proud of them!

Hope to see you again soon, have a great Christmas and a Happy New Year

Jonathan & Jean and all at "The Hare"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Lovely hotel stay here. Rooms comfy and warm. Stayed in a great family room with two rooms really spacious. Made to feel so welcome again by all staff. Fantastic food and drink at reasonable prices. See you next year!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alic26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Alic

It would seem that we were quite lucky for our guest over Hennessy as all seemed to do reasonably well against the bookmakers too! Long may that last!!

We look forward to another successful year next year and to showing you our new Barn. There are preview pictures on our website link above and a table by the log burner awaits your return!!

Have a great Christmas and Happy New Year

Jonathan and all at The Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.3 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
778 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn, Newbury town centre south
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newbury
#4 Family Hotel in Newbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing