We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed for one night here on business. Very helpful staff, nice room (we were upgraded) with good shower room, all facilities, and well presented. Breakfast was excellent and made for an excellent value stay. Good atmosphere and busy with businessmen and builders staying. Evening meal - best to stick to the standards and a little expensive, well kept beer. Much better than Hilton or Travelodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnivalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Mnvalis

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review.

All reviews are read at our monthly meeting and it appears yours has become the rose between!

On behalf of us all here

Thank you again, we hope to see you again

Jonathan, Jean and all at The Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    197
    61
    23
    12
See reviews for
134
225
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed at the Hare and Hounds for one night as the halfway point to the airport for the next day flight home.
Hotel itself is quite old, which is what i was looking for.
Food was good as any other place i ate while in the UK.
The WIFI is spotty at best and I lost the signal quite often.
Was in a double room on the 3rd floor, bed seems to be two twins stuck together and it was very uncomfortable, honestly, worst bed I've slept on.
Lost hot water and then all water while in the shower, it came back after less than a minute but for that minute i was wondering how i was going to remove all the soap.
the room itself was basic..very small tv..small room. but it served the purpose, not quite large enough for 2 people in my opinion.
nice enough hotel though aside from my little issues...note they were my issues. others may be quite fine with it. i'd still stay again..the water thing we'd have to work on though.

Room Tip: stay low in the hotel or in the cottages...trying to carry a suitcase up the stairs could be dangero...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aloiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Aloiii

I'm glad you enjoyed most parts of your stay, the food and service, and I hope the weather back in the US is better than here!

It does however appear the poor fortune came your way and I apologise for this. I thank you for pointing out that some things were perhaps in keeping with our level of hotel, but we do not do excuses..

Our router crashed and we had to wait for a new one, the boiler dropped pressure and was fixed the following day, and our quaintness was lost on your having a fair amount of luggage. We could and should have recognised that this meant the room was not suitable and we will learn from this, rest assured.

Yours

Jonathan
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed Friday night after having an excellent meal (steaks cooked just to our liking, not an easy task) and then staying in one of the cottages at the rear of the Hotel. The breakfast was just right, parking no problem.

Loved it and we will stay again.

Room Tip: I cant imagine a bad one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topcat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear TopCat

Our Friday Steak & Grill menu does prove very popular with both locals and bedroom guests.

EAT DRINK SLEEP we say it simply and try our best to do it well!

Thanks for your lovely review, see you soon

Jonathan & Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have just spent two nights at the Hare and Hounds, it was to celebrate my sons 21st birthday, so we had 6 rooms booked for family. From initially booking the rooms to the end of our trip the service we received was faultless. Each request was fulfilled and exceeded. We all had meal in the restaurant which was really good and the breakfast both mornings very good. The rooms were clean and very well equipt, lots of tea, coffee milk biscuits etc. I have been to 5 star hotels and less has been provided. The outstanding value of this hotel is amazing. A special thanks to Clare for your hard work making sure our weekend all came together.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naianiretak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hi Naianiretak

Oh to be 21 again! To have hair would be good actually!! But I digress, thank you so much for your great review.

We are very aware that to compete with chain hotels, us Independents must work that little harder. This is made easier by the fact that our staff do actually enjoy their work and are happy to go that little bit further!

As Mr Portillo said when he featured us on BBC2's Great British Railway Journeys, (Yes that is an unashamed plug! and to those who saw it, I was the one in the normal jacket!) We "have a fine Coaching Inn"

We are proud to work with her and very grateful that our customers enjoy what we do!

Jonathan, Jean and all at the Inn
PS (series 5 episode 13 14.04mins, just in case you wondered!! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Have just got back from a 2 night stay here and would totally recommend, the staff are all a credit to the place. We arrived in the rain and at check in was given a large brolly as our room was across the car park. The room was lovely, clean and spacious, the restaurant/bar area again was very clean with a lovely atmosphere. The breakfasts were fantastic, normal cereals,yogurts etc available for help yourself, followed by a full English cooked to order if you wished. The menu choices for lunch and dinner are varied and the friday night steak/grill was fantastic value at 16.95 for 2 courses. What more can I say I totally recommend and you should try for yourself.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vodkafairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hi VodkaFairy

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We have just relaunched a more expansive buffet selection for breakfast, so your timing is a great boost to the guys for the time they spent organising and planning. It looks good, and is a credit to thier hard work...... but as a traditionalist! We shall always cook our breakfasts to order.

"Begone tired cooked breakfast buffet service, we shall uphold our Great British Breakfast!"

Hope to see you again soon

Jonathan & Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We used the Hare & Hounds for an overnight stop on route to the South Coast. B&B was good value in a cottage at rear of pub. Pub itself had a nice atmosphere, we arrived in the middle of a power cut but it hadn't fazed the staff and the candles made for a different start to our stay.
Our only issue was the size of our bed - definitely a "small" double", my feet were hanging over the end, and I'm not tall, might have been ok for one, but not brilliant for two of us.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi Lou & Mike

Ah yes we remember it well! I guess its not what happens, but how you deal with it! We like to add a little romance one way or another, and the candlelit look worked well in the bar & restaurant.... Not sure the kitchen would agree, but then it was back on in time for cooking.

I am 6'4", so I understand reference the bed and apologise you were not comfortable. In fairness our double beds are the standard UK size and bought from the country's leading hotel supplier. We check them and replace when needed every 3 months, so I shall pay particular attention next review.

Our suite has a King Size antique pine bed and separate lounge area. It is often only £5 or max £10 more than the cottage room you stayed in. Pics on our website, link above. Yes I am biased but its really worth the extra next time.

Hope to see you again soon

Jonathan and all at the Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk, uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I booked several rooms by phone and the whole experience from booking to departure was excellent. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were a group of friends on an overnight stay and everyone was more than satisfied with their rooms. We had extra people join us for breakfast and also for dinner on our departure day and this was no problem, they even got the chef in earlier so we could eat before the normal food service time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainySuffolk_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Rainy Suffolk

We are so pleased that our willingness to be flexible was so helpful! And if it gets us a 5* review even better!! Seriously though, it was a pleasure to read your review. As an independent family run hotel, we realise that its the little things that make us stand out, and your comments mean alot, so Thank You.

Owing to the number of requests we get to open a little earlier or close a little later, we
intend to introduce a "cafe" menu and all day food in February! SO come back soon!

Many thanks again

Jonathan, Jean and all at The Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
1.2 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newbury
#4 Business Hotel in Newbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing