We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hare and Hounds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Great Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great stay, lovely helpful staff and good breakfast highly recommend this place. We would this hotel again and probably have a meal as didn't have the time to use the restaurant on this stay. My daughter & I stayed in the annex

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABunn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear ABunn

Its a shame you didn't get to try the restaurant, but pleasing none the less that you enjoyed your stay!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments!

Jonathan, Jean and all at The Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    195
    60
    22
    10
See reviews for
131
221
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night in a deluxe double (according to Expedia). Deluxe it certainly wasn't but it was comfortable and more than adequate for us. Room looked a little tired in places but we got good value for money and a bath too! Service is excellent. Dining was great and breakfast was generous. Recommended

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eapage57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Eapage

Unfortunately, we are governed by expedia's choice of description, so sorry for any misunderstanding!
We are a pub/Inn, our website says EAT, SLEEP, DRINK! Thats what we do, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your Great British Breakfast!

Thanks
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived Saturday afternoon, in time for a very tasty late lunch, then off to our room to get ready to go to a wedding reception elsewhere. The room was light and airy and very well appointed. Arrived back in time for a late night drink before a good nights sleep. Breakfast was very good and generous.the staff were all very professional and friendly. Friends we were with had reserved a table for lunch for us all, so yet another very tasty well presented meal. Our thanks to Jean for being the perfect hostess.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Avril

My real wife gets a mention!! Well done Mrs N!!
We do try to get rooms ready prior to our 2pm check in, if at all possible, and are pleased it help with what sounded a lovely day.

Many thanks

Jonathan, JEAN!, and all at the Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here before a bike event the next day and we're pleased that we did as it was ideal preparation.

Very friendly and attentive service, great food and cozy room which was clean and spacious, if a little creaky.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Kev

I'm glad we were ideal preparation and hope the ride went well

Hope to see you again next time

Jonathan and all at The Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked a last minute 2 night stay for Friday and Saturday and were very impressed with The Hare and Hounds. It looked and sounded very nice on the website and the reviews were encouraging. Our room was in the cottage annex and quite comfortable for our needs. All of the staff were very extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was good and we had a lovely steak on the first night.
Speen is very central for places of interest and close to the Cotswolds. Also, it is very near to The The Watermill Theatre, which is well worth a visit. Although Highclere Castle was closed that weekend, we visited Bampton and Swinbrook where some of the filming for Downton Abbey takes place. It is also near to Basildon House (NT) where they filmed the Xmas special. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thought it very good value. No doubt we will be back to explore the rest of the countryside and wouldn't hesitate to book another stay at The Hare and Hounds.

Room Tip: We chose a cottage room for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jem1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Jem
Thank you for a lovely review.
You highlight just what a great base we are for touring the area, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Jonathan, Jean and all at the Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were very impressed with the welcome we received at the hotel, and thought that the room we had for 1 night was beautifully decorated. The bathroom although fairly small was good, and the shower was excellent. The wifi worked well in all areas of the hotel. We were able to park very near our room. All the staff were friendly. Out breakfast was good too, with plenty of variety to suit all tastes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Bridget

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review.
We do hope that much as our small double rooms do have small ensuites, they are priced reasonably for our town. We also hope all that we do otherwise will ensure a happy stay.

Thank you for your kind comments

Jonathan & Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a nice afternoon drinking stout and watching World Cup on big screen, enjoyed dinner comfortable room and pleasant breakfast. A nice stay in a historic hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. Renovations are underway for larger dining area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Walkerspartyhire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Walker Party Hire

I'm afraid we all are a little lost. Your review suggests an enjoyable experience but you score us as only average?

We really do take our reviews seriously and read them at our meetings, and I know that all will feel perhaps you meant 4/5. Indeed we shall treat it thus and enjoy your kind words

Jonathan
Proprietor and proud employer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
0.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.5 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newbury
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing