We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Sunday night dinner for two!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hare and Hounds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday night dinner for two!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We decided to visit after reading the other reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. It is in a very quaint setting with a nice big car park, and the staff were welcoming and very friendly. I had the mushrooms for a starter and fish pie for the main course. My husband had the same starter and fish and chips for the main course... the food, all of it, was absolutely delicious and obviously home-cooked. The batter on the fish and chips was the real high point - not sure what was in it but it was just beautiful - like nothing we have tasted before.

It's a shame we don't live closer as I would love to go back - there were people there with kids too so it is family-friendly (we were having a child-free night!) Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Chubblychoo

Many thanks for a great review!
We have recently extended our kitchen, one of the benefits being a dedicated fish fryer! So thank you even more!! The Fish and Chips has been a real hit so its great you mentioned it!1

See you next time your passing

Thank you
Jonathan and all at the Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    195
    60
    22
    11
See reviews for
131
221
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 night en route to Southampton. Booked it quite late on the back of reviews on website and trip advisor. Room was ok but at 6'2" I had to bend down to get through every door. You could also easily hear the people above and to the side.

We ate at the pub/hotel on the night we stayed and my wife's salmon wasn't cooked properly which resulted in her being ill. This also resulted in her not wanting to eat breakfast the day after and spoiled the 1st day of our holiday. We were offered a free drink and a reduction in the meal cost but when checking the bill a few days later we realised that the drinks had been charged for and only 10% had been deducted from the meal.

Not somewhere we will be going back to.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Stokie

My apologies for the salmon. To err is human, but not good enough I accept. To then not remove the charge was an honest mistake, but we have discussed this and will do better.

Bit lost on the doors, there are steps in the room you had, which we felt added character?

Our reviews suggest that we do get most things right, so once again our apologies

Sincerely

Jonathan Nelsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

A gathering of our extended family from Calgary to Clapham for our Silver Wedding and more. The Hare and Hounds was everything we expected, flexible accommodation, lovely food and such attentive and friendly staff who went the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Exburt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Exburt

It was our absolute pleasure to look after you all. To see you all have such an enjoyable time, and to be able to make it a little bit special, made it a happy weekend for all of us too,

So Thank You all

Jon. Jean, Claire and all at the Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We arrived later than expected on a busy Friday evening. As many other people, we had been caught out by traffic problems caused by an accident that had occurred. Any initial doubts we had on arrival about the friendliness of the staff were soon dispelled. We discovered they were dealing as best they could with a busy and full restaurant (and possibly hotel) that suddenly found its schedule thrown off balance, and the strain was a little evident. Notwithstanding the pressure, we were made most welcome, found a table, had an excellent meal, and a great overnight stay. Congratulations to the staff who coped really well and particularly the kitchen which worked much later that day but without any evident effect on the quality of the food. It was nice to see they able to relax once things had calmed down.
We would stay again at this historic inn which has a great atmosphere, good food (both evening and breakfast) and is good value for money. Some modernisation and improvement works were ongoing and did not affect our stay in any way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatComfortLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi Expat

Thank you for allowing a situation beyond our control to be treated with a forgiving view!

We had a large table arrive late which did cause a few logistic problems. However, when this does happen, its so nice to have people who are willing to be understanding and allow us to then show our true colours!
So pleased you were able to give us full marks, it really does mean a lot to all here
Thanks again
Jonathan and all at The Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Picked this old coaching inn because of the great reviews & it being so close to Highclere castle (Downton Abbey) only 15 minutes by car. We booked directly to get a better price & also a delicious box of Cadbury milk chocolates.

Very friendly service. Had a delicious meal in the restaurant/pub. A full English breakfast also is included.

We enjoyed the place so much we booked an additional night. We had to move rooms because our specific room was already booked. Was no problem though because our room was directly above our previous one & just as spacious.

Loved our stay here.

Room Tip: Stayed in a cottage double Rm #17 & 21. Very spacious with a large bay window, comfortable bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel5bugEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Elisabeth

Many thanks for your great review!

Having Holly or Harry (our cuddly mascots) or a box of chocolates, as a thank you gift, has indeed gone down very well with those that book directly on our website, (link above!!)

We do what we do and are very humble that it is appreciated by the many guests that enjoy our Inn.

We hope to see you both again soon.

Jonathan and all at The Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were to visit friends in the area and we booked into this great facility. The clerk, noticing that we were seniors, was kind enough to make sure we had a main floor room-neat and clean room. then we ate in the pub which was very tidy and well kept. The food was really great! We will return but we will make a reservation first as we don't want to take the chance of missing the opportunity of staying there.

Room Tip: All round nice place to eat and sleep and enjoy the country side.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Warren

We really enjoy all our overseas visitors and how much they enjoy our Inn, including all those visiting our friends at Highclere Castle (Downton Abbey)

We also do try to go that little further, so it was good to here we took care of your room needs on arrival!

We read all reviews at our monthly meeting, and in the main we are very lucky to have such generous guests as yourselves. We all enjoyed your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back!

Jonathan, Jean and all at the Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We arrived and emmediately made welcome, our rooms were available early and the restaurant was good, rooms clean, showers good, atmosphere in the inn great, good local beers, great.
All the staff were friendly and made our stay very enjoyable many thanks to everyone
for making all 8 of us happy, 3 cheers Paul

Room Tip: one room was in a mews complex with twin beds and no stairs will easy access from the car park, idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandhoppers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Paul and all

EAT, DRINK, SLEEP, we keep what we do quite simple and it is so nice that so many are willing to take the time to let all of us here know that we are doing it reasonably well!

From us all, but particularly the great bunch we get to work with Thank You once again to you all!

Jonathan, Jean and all at The Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
0.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.5 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newbury
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing