We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super 2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
leigh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“super 2 night stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

stayed here for 2 nights with husband as he was on business in newbury. very happy with everything. all staff very friendly and helpful. nothing was too much trouble. great breakfast included and we had two excellent dinners. would definitely return and recommend. thank you for everything.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandyLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Jandy

EAT DRINK SLEEP
Its what we do and we are very grateful that you took the time to leave your review

Thank you

Jonathan, Jean and all at The Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    203
    65
    24
    15
See reviews for
141
237
20
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed with my family for one night at the hare and hound given a nice spacious family room for the 4 of us with all the necessary facilities needed.The staff were warm and welcoming especially gent at bar and in particular Clare who managed the hotel .Had a lovely meal at night food was excellent .Had comfortable nights sleep breakfast was excellent all lovely fresh produce I felt the staff put themselves out to be friendly and helpful would definitely stay again if in the area or passing through really enjoyed our stay .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillvictoria2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Jill

Thank you for your kind words.

We use fresh local produce and are very pleased that our customers appreciate this.

We hope to see you again and many thanks again

Jonathan and all at the Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked here as it was close to where we were attending a wedding. The staff were really helpful, as we checked in early. We stayed in room 3, which was wasn't in the main building.

The room was a little on the small side, but had everything we needed. However the shower was FREEZING, and very weak, the carpets were also sticky and the room really smelt of smoke.

Overall I can't complain, as it was only for a night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Erin

I am really pleased you enjoyed the early check in, our friendly staff, and the chocolates for booking on our website!
Having invested heavily in a complete new heating and water system, it appears we did have some teething problems, but these are now ironed out and pressure once again up.
The carpet will be deep cleaned immediately, and we do actually plan on putting new carpets in these rooms imminently.
We continue to try to offer great value, and inspite of the things you mention, we are glad you enjoyed your stay
Thank You

Jonathan Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed over on way to Isle of Wight from Nottinghamshire. Place easy to find, and gentleman and lady on reception/bar area very welcoming. Had room 3 and had our 2 dogs with us. Room was basic, but clean and comfortable. Ate in bar, and were able to have our dogs with us, and staff and customers alike made a fuss of them. Meal and selection of ales were excellent and staff friendly and attentive. Breakfast was good next morning, and due to buffet style nature of breakfast and how busy it was, dogs had to stay in room. Only negative was the noise at night, from customers coming and going, vans and cars and the busy A4 nearby. All in all it was fine.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Paul

Many thanks for your review.
We have three styles of room. Stable, which you were in, coach, in the main building, and cottage, to the rear of the building in annexes.
All rooms are priced according to the location, size etc, and the cottage are best for lighter sleepers.
We try to show true images and description and I know you were happy that you had good value for money.

Many thanks and hope to see you again soon.

Jonathan & Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The first time i stayed there the room was lovely and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The second time i went there but found out my company had booked me in another hotel. Was dissapointed to find out i wasnt staying here but the manager helped me find my hotel. Would recommend this place to everyone x thankyou x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lei-ku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Lei-ku

Awesome review, and thank you from all who work so hard here!
I read your kind words out at our monthly meeting, together with all reviews, and you should know just how much it means to all here that our guests take the time to let us know we are doing our jobs
So Thank You, and hope you get in next visit!!

Jonathan and all at The Hare & Hounds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. our room was nice with a TV and bath /shower comfy bed tea and coffee and a free box of chocolates.
The staff were very friendly and made us feel at home, the food is excellent as is the service.
As for comments on the noise from the A4 I had the window open all night and slept like a baby.
Would definitely recommend.

PS. I am pretty sure if you have a problem it would be sorted ASAP if you talked to the staff.
No point moaning when you get home.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Colin

Thanks for a great review, it really does mean a lot to us all here and....

Yes, Yes and Yes again.... Sorry to get carried away, but all we ask is that if you do have a problem, please let us know and we will do all we can to resolve it, Please!

Thank you again for giving us all a big smile!

Jonathan and all at The Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on five separate occasions between 2013 - 2014 and each stay has been better than the last.

The rooms are immaculate and the restaurant and bar are extremely welcoming. The food is excellent with the menu offering a wide but subtle choice which has always resonated with my pallet :-)

An excellent place to stay which is very well located near a number of arterial routes.

Overall an awesome hotel with friendly and attentive staff who make you feel like you are with family.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steve557460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Steve557460

Its so nice to be able to say that we do have many guests return time and time again, to both the hotel & the restaurant.
This has been a major factor in allowing us to extend our kitchen and begin building "The Barn", our new restaurant and wedding venue (due for opening January 2015).
I hope we will see you before, but if not we shall look forward to your seeing what we hope will be a truly stunning green oak frame barn. Ok yes we are a bit excited!

Many thanks again
Jonathan, Jean and all at The Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,742 reviews
0.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
762 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
1.2 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newbury
#4 Business Hotel in Newbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing