We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, comfortable, country stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of crockham lodge

The cottage overlooks the west facing courtyard garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage overlooks the west facing courtyard garden
Driveway in winter spring time
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The cottage overlooks the west facing courtyard garden
Driveway in winter
spring time
spring time
Double room en-suite
Double room shower
Double room en-suite
Double room bed
Twin room toilet
Twin room hand basin
Twin room
Twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newbury, Berkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
FiandRog
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect, comfortable, country stay”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This property was exactly as advertised. We travelled as a family group with my father who is 85 and found it suited us well . We carry our own shower chair which was useful, as otherwise bathing can be tricky, but otherwise it was just fantastic. The hosts Paul and Rosemary were great- never intrusive, but there when we needed them and prepared to go over and above to ensure our stay was a success.
The peace of the cottage, with only delightful birdsong for company was wonderful.
It is near to Newbury and also within easy driving distance of many great tourist attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position, comfort, warmth and friendly hosts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2016
Many thanks for your review. Glad we could make your stay with us enjoyable and hope the rest of your holiday in the UK is just as good, weather permitting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveandJ...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another peaceful & comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Crockham Lodge and it will not be our last, we love it there and cannot recommend it enough. Paul is friendly and helpful, there if you need him but never imposing. Peaceful, homely, fully equipped and very comfortable. We stayed for a cosy & relaxing few days, just what we needed to recharge our batteries.
Price is fantastic with free wifi, photos on your own website look great too.
It is lovely to see wildlife anywhere but on your doorstep was an absolute treat.
Thank you Paul for another great stay, we will see you again soon, keep up the good work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil and rural setting.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann M
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Was so pleased I found this place, a fantastic location to escape the city and relax, unwind and enjoy the tranquil surroundings.
The homely feel the lodge had to offer along with the free wifi was a bonus.
Having a special needs child made it all the more enjoyable as his love of nature was brought straight to our door step.

The information and service that Paul provided was invaluable.

I highly recommend this place for families and single parents.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaze1
Siena
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful stay”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were in Crockham Lodge for five days after a chaotic London and the change was total. Absolute quiet in the middle of the beautiful English countryside. The apartment was equipped with everything you need and very comfortable (great mattresses!). The owner was very friendly and price correct. Love the welcoming little rabbit on the green every time we came back from excursions in the surroundings. TV and wifi helped us when needed. We recommend it to all those who want to spend a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveandJ...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location & very peaceful”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is very homely, in a beautiful & peaceful location. A short distance from town for provisions. Has everything you would need for a comfortable & relaxing stay. Very helpful and friendly owner. Would definitely return for a future stay and thoroughly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Booked this accommodation for a colleague at short notice-extremely helpful!!”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this accommodation at very short notice for a colleague. We originally booked 2 weeks but had to extend the stay, again at short notice! Paul was extremely helpful in every way and could not have done more for us! Brilliant price and good location, out in the countryside but still close to the local shops etc! My colleague was very happy at Crockham lodge, I visited a few times and it was lovely, very homely! We will definitely be keeping hold of Paul's details for future stays! Brilliant!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swerr
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful stay in an excellent place”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Crockham lodge for 5 nights. This is a really lovely place, away from the hustle and bustle. Perfectly equipped, with everything you need. Paul was very hospitable and friendly. I can recommend this place to stay with family.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing