We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great”
Review of Brebis - CLOSED

Brebis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relaxed family-run bistro offering great wines and lovingly prepared french food. Bistro/pintxos style lunch menu and full a la carte evening menu open wednesday to saturday, lunch and dinner
Newbury
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Went for lunch> Food was amazing with great flavour, great care taken in executing the dishes.
Restaurant staff was very passionate about the menus and could explain all of them finishing with "I had the pleasure of tasting tem".
Will return a fantastic addition to Newbury eating place

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrickthefroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    53
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food with good service”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Lovely meal tonight at the Brebis, with excellent service. Tasty sauce with main meal, very enjoyable. First visit here and would recommend this restaurant for quality food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank June227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening with friends”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A lovely evening spent at Brebis last Saturday. We were a party of 11 for a birthday, and although some of the party had been there before everyone was impressed with just how nice the restaurant is.
As others have mentioned, the building itself is nothing special but the food, service and overall evening were brilliant. The menu evidently changes day to day, which is always a nice touch for a restaurant and was a sensible size with a nice variety. Although French, the majority of items were detailed in English and the manager who served us all evening was quickly on hand to help with translations, recommendations and advice.

An extra touch the restaurant offers is a glass of recommended wine to suit each dish. Due to the size of the group we stuck with suggested bottles across the table, but I'm keen to follow their recommendations in the future.

The plates spoke for themselves, with nothing left on any course. Desert was welcomed but nobody was left feeling hungry at the end of the night. I enjoyed the selection of cheeses offered on the cheeses board, all locally supplied and certainly not your typical cheese board (I must get the pickled courgette recipe!).

A lovely evening, and certainly somewhere I look forward to going back to.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You must try this”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked a table for three and asked the chef to prepare us a menu free meal. We had the best meal I can remember and the service was both discreet and punctual. The food was just off the scale for taste and presentation. Joe selected a fantastic Bordeaux for the meal. If you book just ask them to do what they do best and don't bother with the menu we loved the anticipation of waiting for the next round of superb cooking. Looking forward to our next visit. I must declare that the owners and staff are friends as we all love good food but it was still an amazing experience for the three of us who have travelled the world eating good food over the years. A true food delight run by people who love food and know how to cook.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gregcheeseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect evening out”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Well, what a great night. Lovely interesting food, upbeat knowledgable waiter, relaxed atmosphere, good wine, great loo! Go, if you can get in!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brebis also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing