We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newbury
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed at this Premier Inn for two nights as we attended Newbury Races. Accommodation was fab, clean, tidy, adequate, best night's sleep. Sight traffic noise but nothing too bad. The Berkshire Arms attached was wonderful, clean pub, staff were amazing. So helpful, accommodating and went out of their way to please the customer. Food was delicious, well presented, well prices and went down a treat! Already planning our next visit. Only criticism was the breakfast. Compared to the evening menus, the breakfast could have done with more cooking, and they should consider changing their sausages as they were quite unpalatable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    108
    73
    31
    27
See reviews for
78
115
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kilmaurs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

First visit on business and was a pleasant experience. Staff good if a little over the top as is the norm for the Premier Inn. Pub next door okay, pleasant food not the best. Breakfast not as good as I have had at similar Inns. Stayed for 3 nights so breakfast comment does not relate to just one morning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I recently stayed at this establishment on business for a few days. The staff were friendly and efficient and the check in formalities were completed quickly. The room was pretty much what you would expect at a Premier Inn, clean and comfortable. However, the whole site seemed a little worn and in need of a bit of TLC.

The attached pub/restaurant was in a similar condition to the Premier Inn, well worn. Although the food was of a reasonable standard the service was somewhat lacking and if it wasn’t so far into Newbury I would not have eaten there more than the once.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bournemouth_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Good place to stop over for business or pleasure. Clean and tidy rooms, great nights sleep away from traffic, comfortable beds. Excellent food and the staff go out of their way to ensure your meal is OK, plenty of it as well. Breakfast is plenty and would recommend the cooked breakfast, great and sets you up for the day.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

very good service/rooms lovely and comfy just what was needed as we were there for a funeral we did not want any hassle .staff we friendly and professional.never stayed in premier in before but would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttynetty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear nuttynetty2013

Thank you for providing us with your review.

I can confirm that I have passed on your kind comments to the management team and to the Area Manager of the Berkshire Arms who would like to thank you for your positive feedback.

We hope to see you soon at the Berkshire Arms
Kind regards,

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed overnight en-route from a long ferry crossing. Good size room with a high standard of cleanliness. Facilities in the room were fine. Found the stairs a bit of a pain, touch a arthritis in the knees being the problem. Very spacious bed, the mattress being a little firm for my liking, but that's a personal choice, otherwise slept reasonably well. Helpful and welcoming staff and great breakfast to start the day off. Wouldn't let the little niggles stop us staying again.

Room Tip: Select a ground floor room if stairs are a problem. No lift available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryharries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

My experience here is well short of the norm at PI. Yes the bed is the usual high standard and the room was clean. However in this day and age we expect a good package and to get what is offered. I am currently walking with a stick and was dismayed on arrival to find steps and a walk to reception. There were disabled spaces right outside but this car park is via another route with no obvious signposting. The TV offered poor reception which spoiled my Sunday evening. Worst of all for me was non existent WiFi, particularly as there was no 3G signal in my ground floor room. I complained and the receptionist offered me another upstairs room. I wasn't going to move after unpacking and taking a shower. She told me they were awaiting repair to the wifi server. Not a good stay, a very poor Premier Inn and I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FatCockneyonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newbury hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.3 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#10 of 16 in Newbury
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel

Property: Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
Address: Bath Road, Newbury RG7 5UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newbury / Thatcham Hotel Newbury
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel Newbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing