We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
East Mids.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

First impressions were good, friendly staff in hotel and pub next door. Room was large and well set out. All seemed ok until bedtime, I think this was the bed that Lenny Henry used as a trampoline! Cooked breakfast was reasonable, but the 'continental' was abysmal - croissants in a bag anyone? We went for some food in the attached pub later and whilst the food was very nice, the service was chaotic. This wasn't the worst hotel we've ever been to, but it wasn't that that cheap and vfm poor.

Room Tip: Try the bed first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petelmrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    112
    81
    36
    28
See reviews for
85
123
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed over for one night after attending a birthday party and subsequently meeting up with friends. The receptionist was friendly, efficient and helpful, our room was pleasant clean and tidy as was the bathroom and overnight was quiet even though near a main road. There was also adequate parking.
We would definitely stay there again when in that area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here to go to a friend's birthday party in the area. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and professional. Very importantly, the bathroom was spotless - and to get a bath rather than just a shower in a budget hotel is always a treat. The lighting in the room was a bit dim for putting on make-up and one of the towels was coming unravelled, and those are the only picky things I can find to stay. I'd stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

On arrival, my room was freezing. I couldn't get the heating to work. I asked the very helpful receptionist to help, she manged to get the heating on, but after a while it went off again and I couldn't restart it. The receptionist then gave me a different room which was warm and had a new heater in it which worked perfectly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Never stayed in a premier inn before, but as it's good enough for Lenny Henry, it's good enough for me - and it was 40% cheaper on a Late Rooms deal.
The receptionist was friendly and efficient. My room was spacious, clean and well maintained. Once I'd sorted the heater it was comfortably warm, even though it was -2C outside. The bathroom was again, clean and nicely maintained. Really good hot shower.
The only issue was noise. A neighbour had their telly on at 3am, and from about 4am the road noise just builds and builds, the A4 being a very busy road. The double glazed window didn't seem to have any effect on the noise, it was almost like it was open ( I did check). I had earplugs with me and used them, otherwise I don't think I'd have got much sleep. The room I was in didn't face the road and was set back a fair distance.
Not sure I could recommend it unless you go prepared or are used to living near a busy road.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tikky110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had booked a room at the hotel for 24th and 25th December. Because of the stormy weather conditions we checked with H.O. if there were any problems with booking in late and was told the hotel was working as normal with no problems!
We arrived at 21.00hrs with the hotel in darkness (power cut some19 hours previous). We were shown into the hotel by an apologetic man with a candle as the only form of light who told us we could book in at the Best Western hotel for that night and check on the power conditions the next day.

Power had been restored at 02.00am on Christmas Day so we booked in again for that night. Next morning (26th Dec) we were first down for breakfast and on entry was asked what we wanted for breakfast i.e. two eggs one sausage etc. but with no menu. Cereals and coffee/tea being on a separate table (help yourself) the coffee being in a vacuum flask!

Selecting cereals and coffee we made our way back to our table only to find our main breakfast was waiting for us. The waitress saw what was wrong and reheated the main breakfast.

Under the circumstances of the power cut and associated problems I can sympathise with the manager and thank him for his efforts. However what was wrong with the information from H.O. and why did nobody telephone us?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuttonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The rooms are great, a King sized bed and a bath/shower in the bathroom. The location was nice for a getaway, but don't expect much else to do in the area without a car. We visited a couple of external restaurants by foot, but we had to be careful as there were no pavements once we were no longer on the main road. The service at the adjoining restaurant was a bit slow, but it was good food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn, Newbury town centre south
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Newbury London Road
0.0 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
3.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel

Property: Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
Address: Bath Road, Newbury RG7 5UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newbury / Thatcham Hotel Newbury
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel Newbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing