We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a VERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY PLACE TO STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Bordon, United Kingdom
1 review
“a VERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Newbury/Thatcham Premier Inn is one of the best Premier Inns we have stayed at. The Inn followed exactly the same very high quality staff service and room cleanliness but the hotel food was the best we have experienced

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    111
    81
    35
    28
See reviews for
85
122
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Arrived to a very warm and friendly welcome, the room we stayed in was very clean and the bed was really comfortable, had a really good night sleep. We ate at the restaurant attached and had a really nice meal, also had a great breakfast. All the staff are all very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

For a budget hotel where a good nights sleep is important the Premier at Thatcham is very good, all the staff were very helpful. We stayed in the older building which has some issues with squeeking floor boards but it is not a major problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here in mid March 2014. Even though we arrived at 1:30am we had a warm welcome and introduction to the facilities. The room was clean, well decorated and in good order. The shower was great. The choice of pillows was a very welcome surprise. We grabbed a breakfast on the fly from the attached pub and the coffee was great.

So won't we return? For us the bed, although of good quality, was far too hard. Neither of us managed a good night's sleep. I can't in all honesty say that there was anything wrong with the bed, it was just too hard for us.

When I mentioned the problem to the member of staff in the morning she immediately asked for a few details and then without hesitation refunded my money. You simply cannot say fairer than that.

If we hear that they start using softer mattresses, we'll certainly try Premier Inns again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlynRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Did exactly what it said on the tin. Excellent, no frills room with en-suite. Superbly comfy bed. WiFi connection was good. Ate out with family so did not use the attached restaurant. Much nicer than local Travel Lodge and considerably cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

First visit to this Premier Inn, Outstanding as usual. Comfy bed, friendly and helpful staff. Great meal in the Berkshire Arms. Gooseberry and ginger crumble. Wow !!!! We will definately be back here again.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is my second stay with my friend, while we attend the poultry show at the leisure centre.
As always although basic, room was warm, comfy and clean, there is a nice cosy feeling in the whole place which I like. The restaurant/pub is lovely, with great food, fantastic staff and reasonable prices, I love it in there.
The only slight blip this time was although we booked back in november, we were put in the other part of the inn where familys go, so although when you walk in, there is signs warning that it is a quiet area, our room was anything but, with a herd of elephants running up and down in the room above.
And although you are garenteed a great nights sleep or your money back, this is not the case, as on the morning of our departure when we went to the desk to complain, the lady on duty was not very helpful and really didnt know what to say, and just gave us a card and said ring this number when you book next time.
Will we book for next year.... I am not sure...think we will try somewhere else, shame.

Room Tip: Make sure you state that you do not want to go in with the family rooms, if you want a good nights s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
5.8 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
623 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Newbury London Road
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn, Newbury town centre south
4.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#11 of 17 in Newbury
31 reviews
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel

Property: Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
Address: Bath Road, Newbury RG7 5UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newbury / Thatcham Hotel Newbury
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel Newbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing