We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overnight stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell at Boxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bell at Boxford
Ranked #9 of 26 Newbury B&B and Inns
s glos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

we stayed overnight with my sister and her husband the rooms were very nice and the pub /restaurant was nicely decorated for christmas and had a lovely cosy feel. All the staff and Paul were very friendly and to complete the experience the evening meal was excellent

Room Tip: room 7 was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 257sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We please you enjoyed youe stay at the BEll..esp the food!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bell in the not too distant future
Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    70
    29
    17
    18
See reviews for
27
84
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I visited on a reasonable day in early January, and on entering the pub for the first time was greeted in a warm and friendly manner, which is great for these days! The chap behind the bar was helpful in letting me know what food and beer was available, and the Burger I chose, 'The Bell Burger' was super tasty, good beef, juicy and fresh salad, nice cheese and chips, reasonable price and a lovely pub interior, (not tarted up or trendy, but just quirky and nicely decorated with a Hop Vine around the bar and plenty of pictures and oddments). Not cluttered but very homely as a Public 'House' should be in my opinion. A happy lunch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sculpturedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hope to see you again soon
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our stay at The Bell last Saturday, 30.11.13, made for a wonderful weekend.
We were met by Philip who proved to be very welcoming and helpful.
Our pub lunch was tasty and in the evening we had a delicious three course meal in the attractive restaurant with good service.
The open fires added to the atmosphere and the many Christmas decorations.
Our two bedrooms were comfortable and breakfast just right.
Certainly plan to return to The Bell and how wonderful to know we can count on peace and quiet in a pretty part of England.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
It was a pleasure looking after you! Thank you for you comments esp. re the Food. Ive passed these directly to Anuska who prepared and cooked your meals for you.
We all hope to be able to welcome you back to the Bell in the near future.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Paid £85 for a double room, was told when I got there, 2 double rooms were not available, would I except a single as I was on my own, I agreed and a complimentary drink was thrown in. This didn't bother me. I was shown to my room and explained everything I needed to know, thought was good customer service.
The room looked clean and nicely decorated. It came with trouser press, coffee and tea facilities, biscuits, shower gel, cotton wool buds, fresh towels. Bed was comfortable and noise to a minimum. Good tv. Wifi worked in the room but was very slow. This may have been my device!
Room for improvement.
Skirting boards dirty, ledge underneath sink dirty, shows lack of detail when been cleaned, bits in shower tray, shower was only warm, paint of the wall near shower curtain holder, mould starting to appear on shower ceiling showing lack of ventilation, tiles badly grouted and showing signs of mould.
Breakfast:
Choice of cereals:
Full English breakfast:
Sweeteners
Toast
Coffee tea
Condiments
Breakfast adequate and plentiful.

Conclusion, lovely pub b&b great location 1st class service, room needs the attention detailed above then would be worth the asking price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Drewfos007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thanks for your review & your comments have been addressed accordingly. Thank You.
Your room originally booked had a heating fault and as the weather was getting colder a single was offered instead. I hope you will contact me directly when you next require a room in the Newbury area at Paul@bellatboxford.com Our oil tank has now been changed so we shouldn't have a heating concern again! :)
Kind regards
Paul Lavis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

A group of us went back to The Bell on Saturday. We used to drink there each week 20 years ago and the venue holds real sentimental value for us all. Paul, one of the owners very kindly enabled us to have lunch, even though the kitchen was closed (this was possible because we ordered a couple of days ahead.) We were very grateful to him for this.

I'd recommend The Bell for cosy weekend drinks and get togethers.

I've only graded the 'value' as average because the bar food is expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docphot1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were surprised just how far outside Newbury the location was but in hindsight the peace and quiet was welcome. We arrived just before 7pm on a Sunday after a long drive and were told the kitchen was closed, but a roast meal was located which we shared, as there is no where else to eat locally. We were shown our room which was surprisingly spacious and well appointed although rather dated. There was a good shower and the room was serviced daily. Breakfast was average but came with a great pot of tea! A good job done by a busy couple but it would have been nice if the cigarette butts were removed more frequently from the public areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

An old country pub Very friendly atmosphere ,The bedrooms are comfortable rooms although a little cool on entering, was warmer in the morning.The restraunt had a good a la carte menu, but was unable to try the Lobster or crab as they only served Sunday Lunch or bar snacks on a Sunday.
Staff helpful and friendly ( Philip) especially. The owner was chatty and knew a lot about local History.
Boxford is a lovely hidden village but close to Newbury and Hungerford and many interesting Places to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
0.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
0.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
3.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
3.3 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell at Boxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Boxford

Property: The Bell at Boxford
Address: Lambourn RD | Near Newbury, Newbury RG20 8DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell at Boxford 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Bedroom Inn with Restaurant and real ales. 4 miles from Newbury and Lambourn. Previous AA Wine Pub of the year with 60 wines by the glass and Champagnes too! Free Wi FI throughout. Special food requirements? Just ask and we'll do our best to oblige! Rooms have power showers en suite with HD TVs. Complimentary Breakfast is included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bell at Boxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Boxford Hotel Newbury
The Bell At Boxford Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing