We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
99
95
33
23
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
95
33
23
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub roast dinner sea bass would stay again comfortable room stayed for two nights full english hops menu lambourn chef countryside wine venue
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I live close to the Bell and so have not needed an opportunity to stay there. On Burns Night, I was invited to stay over and what a wonderful night it was. The area lost electricity early afternoon and the kitchen at The Bell pulled out all stops to ensure that we were fed and had a fun evening.Paul, Helen and their staff are very welcoming, friendly and fun. Ladies note, hairdryer plugs in in front of a mirror with a stool to sit on!! Well worth mentioning, if like me you have stayed in pubs/hotels where the mirror is one side of the room and the plug on the other! The room was very comfortable with a super power shower (we did regain electricity) and lots of beverages to help yourself to. Despite a very late night, Paul and Felipe were up providing us with a great British fry up on Sunday morning. A very good time was had by all.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thanks for the review of Burns night. It was certainly a great success...lots of Haggis Neeps and Tatties........Whisky, of course, and some fantastic speeches and replies! Hope to see you at next years bash as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I recently stayed here for 1 night and all i can say for me was a very good experience.The barman was very professional and look smart.I had a very tasty Sunday roast which tells me that the chef knew what was doing.The room was warm and comfortable but what impressed me the most is that the owners are very friendly and funny specially Mr.Paul Lavis which gives a special atmosphere to the pub and to the locals.

Room tip: room number 7
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DvddGhosT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Bell. Hope to see you again very soon
Kind regards
Paul Lavis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a lovely oldie world type inn with a great atmosphere in a lovely village with thatched houses. As soon as we walked in we were greeted by a very friendly, polite and helpful member of staff who showed us to our room we felt nothing was too much trouble, the food is excellent and highly recommend. Our room was warm and very pleasant and we had a good couple of nights sleep. Even the locals were friendly with a lot of laughter in the evening and we felt very welcome by all. There are lovely walks and as an added bonus not too far from Newbury if you want to go into town.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fraz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the not too disant future
Kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

we stayed on new year's eve and the room was very comfortable, heating just right, bed gave us a good night's sleep, and the breakfast was delicious. Altogether a great experience, thank you the Bell!

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annec33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for the smashing review Hopefully we'll see you next year
Kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

we stayed overnight with my sister and her husband the rooms were very nice and the pub /restaurant was nicely decorated for christmas and had a lovely cosy feel. All the staff and Paul were very friendly and to complete the experience the evening meal was excellent

Room tip: room 7 was quiet
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 257sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We please you enjoyed youe stay at the BEll..esp the food!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bell in the not too distant future
Kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews