We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“under new management”
Review of Bacon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bacon Arms
Ranked #19 of 23 Newbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I had the pleasure of staying hear this July i was greated with a warm welcome, the property had been taken over a few weeks earlier although the decor could do with a little attention the new owner is hoping to address this as soon as the brewery authorise it .
The room i was given had a nice comfy bed cleaned daily i was short of tea bags so mentioned it and was sorted out with some straight away the breakfast was excellent a good choice available and i sampled the meals of an evening a couple of days the food was good and the service was fast the bar staff very helpful
I will be using this accomadation again It is great for access to town and has free parking for residents the locals are very friendly to

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sexyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Recently went on a stag night in Newbury and stopped for what we thought would be a quick pint in the Bacon Arms.

Pleasantly surprised to find ample indoor and outdoor seating, friendly welcoming staff, (despite us being a stag night that had spent a day drinking at the races) and a very welcoming bunch of locals, which is what has prompted me to write this quick review.

Enjoyed ourselves so much we stayed for several hours and went back for breakfast next morning. Despite being short staffed, the manager couldn't do enough for us and the fry up impressed.

Be warned though, the Karioke standard on a Friday night is quite high, (at least when there's no stag parties in).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pokervillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The B&B itself from outside looks very nice lots of flowers and a very nice ouside sitting area and it has a carpark around the back the inside is old fashioned but is still very nice the room a quite large and a big comfortable bed greats you when you get into your room the bathroom was also a grate size and the spa bath was good would have been nice to maybe have a shower guard and a stand for the shower head so you can have a shower if youd prefer the breakfast was nice too altho the lady who was serving didnt ask me what id like for my breakfast and just brought me out a full english even tho a menu of diffrent selections is on the table but all in all the place was nice and the staff were very friendly

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed for two nights for Newbury races,and can't say how pleasant our stay was,nice comfortable,clean room.friendly staff,good hearty breakfast and free parking.also very well located for town and races.
Thank you for a pleasant experience
Dave and deb from brum.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a break to attend the races. On checking in we were told there would be no food available due to staff shortages, we later found out the chef had walked out. We had booked 2 rooms for our party and we were shown to our room, which was on the ground floor outside, on entering it was very dark, even though the lights were on, the bed looked as if the duvet had just been thrown on and the TV was in the corner so that if you were in bed you could only see it from one side. When we went into the bathroom there was black stains all over the ceiling and on the tiles and the taps did not work right. On the whole it looked like it needed a good clean. The other room was no better and the floor in that room sloped down from the middle so much the furniture looked like it would fall over. When we went down for breakfast it was utter chaos, no one knew what anyone was doing. After seeing the breakfast we had ordered given to someone else when it did finally arrive only 3 of the party got theirs by the time the 4th breakfast arrived the others had finished, On the whole it was terrible and would not recommend this place to anyone. So Beware!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here for one night with friends, reasonably priced bed and breakfast. Showers were refreshing and much needed after a day at the races. Beds were clean and relatively comfortable. Staff were courteous, friendly and made us feel very welcome. We had a good evening in the bar area having drinks before heading into the main town. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. Rooms are basic but would have no qualms in staying here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyBerkshire_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A nice old pub/hotel with character well located near Newbury town centre with private parking. Excellent evening pub meals, & substantial breakfast. My single accommodation was in an adjacent converted barn which was very comfortable. It was located by the outside seating area of the pub so may be a bit noisy at times.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newbury London Road
0.0 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#13 of 17 in Newbury
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#9 of 17 in Newbury
42 reviews
1.0 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn, Newbury town centre south
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacon Arms

Address: 10 Oxford Street, Newbury RG14 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bacon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bacon Arms Hotel Newbury
Bacon Arms Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing