We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true reflection”
Review of Bacon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bacon Arms
Ranked #19 of 24 Newbury B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“true reflection”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

On arrival we were shown two rooms.we pick the best of both which was room 11.but unfortunately this room was still lacking. Wall lights hanging off wall a large built up of mould in the bathrom and quite a selection of cobwebs. The pub/hotel is quite in need of some TLC. But it has to be said the all the staff were extremely pleasant and obliging.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinecaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    39
    26
    18
    37
See reviews for
22
51
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

£72 per night B&B
this hotel is very run down ,dirty and very worn in all areas , the room they gave me room 10 was top of building it was worn out everything was very tatty the bathroom was across the hall next to fire escape the window was hanging off in there glad it was not winter the shower cubicle was falling apart it would not close properly and both in the evening and morning no hot water the chap that booked me in was very rude (possible pissed at 5pm) he was also the bar man in the evening and no change to his attitude then and he was still testing the beer, staff are in short supply and the breakfast was very poor quality
i honestly would not stop there again if it was free , BUT Newbury is a very nice place to visit and i will go again.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laidlawstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newbury hotels

Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a very fine hotel. It's not as bad as people say. Newbury is a very old town and so as the houses and hotels. Unlike most reviews, my room was clean, toilets were clean and serviced daily. Staff is very friendly.

Good things

- Cheapest of others
- You're in downtown.
- Free breakfast.
- 2 mins from Indian restaurants, Dominos pizza and Italian restaurant.
- 4 mins from McDonalds, Teso or Waitrose (super markets).
- 5 mins from almost all the banks.
- Newbury bus service runs on this road.
- 10 mins to Newbury train station.

Bad things
- Old building
- Dirt in the windows
- Old type heaters, not so effective
- Dim interiors, gets really darker in the nights.
- No phone in the room.

Overall I would say this is good place to stay. Most of times we take hotels just for keeping our things and sleeping at nights. We'd we out most of the day. This hotel serves the purpose and at cheaper prices. I liked it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krishnamentreddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Arrived and was shown to my room which had a huge hole in the wall, black mould over the old shower curtain and was very disappointing. I paid nearly £200 for a hovel and am very unhappy. Will never return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliMac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent one night here at the weekend. One night too many. We were taken out to the back of the hotel to our room, passing a door labelled "Boiler Room" and I joked that that was our room. It might have been a better choice as surely it could not have been worse than room 11.

The walls next to the bathroom were cracked and flakes of plaster inches across were loose and dropped to the floor, mould and mineral deposits caked the walls, and clothes if you unfortunately brushed against them. The inside of the door and window were thick with black mould and filth, as was the net curtain. The carpet was covered in stains and did not look as though it had been vacuumed in a long while. A bedside light was hanging at an angle off the wall by a loose screw.

The bathroom. Disgusting; I have never seen anything like it. Black mould on the tiles and roof; coating the tiles all round a wall mounted holder for shower gel. The shower gel bottle was empty. The area around the taps on the basin and bath were caked with crusted filth; there had obviously been no effort to clean the bathroom at all. Including the toilet, but I'll leave that to your imagination.

The sheets seemed clean but the all pervasive smell of mould and damp negated that, making it very difficult to sleep in such an unpleasant atmosphere.

Never, never again. The place is a shameful advertisement for Newbury.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Belarus
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

In general all fine. They have friendly staff, very good english breakfast included, in general rooms are clean, but it seems they have no vacuum cleaner. If you have asthma you should check other hotels...
Shower is only 170cm height .

Room Tip: You shoul prefer executive rooms in this hotel. Room 07 was acceptable. Room 14 (of my collegue is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here as a last minute decision. We did check out the reviews and a lot of them were quite negative but it seemed ideal for what we wanted and perfectly situated.

I am so pleased we stayed here. We were shown to our room by the young lady working behind the bar. She explained when breakfast was and was very polite and helpful. We paid £50 for our room for one night including breakfast.

The hotel itself was a bit tired looking but that is my only negative comment.

We ordered burger and chips on arriving on the Saturday afternoon and at a cost of two meals for £10 it was beautifully cooked and well worth it. We got a bottle of wine from the bar which cost just over £10 very reasonable! The room was very clean and the bed linen good and the bed comfy. The shower wasn't the best but was adequate.

I will definitely return to this hotel and stay in Newbury again. The staff were pleasant and polite and the food fabulous. The breakfast was one of the best we have had in a long time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6, lovely large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serena021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
623 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#13 of 17 in Newbury
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newbury London Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
4.9 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#11 of 17 in Newbury
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacon Arms

Property: Bacon Arms
Address: 10 Oxford Street, Newbury RG14 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bacon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bacon Arms Hotel Newbury
Bacon Arms Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing