We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional value on Sunday nights” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queens Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Newbury
Goole
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceptional value on Sunday nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed two nights while visiting the Farnbrough Air Show and the hotel was above average for a pub/hotel chain. Staff and the manager in particular were very friendly, as were the locals - but the latter could best be described as a little 'weird'. Perhaps the relatively cheap drinks and exceptional value food attracted a certain type of customer?
We did eat at the hotel one evening and the food was certainly good quality and value. Breakfasts were traditional, generous decent quality. Rooms were clean if a little small, but had all the essentials and shower was a very high quality affair.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in the middle ovelooking an internal lower floor roof. They are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    11
    9
    15
See reviews for
2
18
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night on friday, and were extremely impressed. We booked on the friday at 6pm after a fishing trip and were pleasantly surprised with the cost of the rooms and the quality received. The rooms were functional, clean and spacious. Breakfast in the morning was given to us even though we came down late. The staff were friendly and helpful and pointed us in the direction of a good place to eat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I was in the stables too - it was pretty grubby-looking from outside, but the room inside was clean enough. The staff were helpful about me leaving a car in the car park all day the next day without charge. The coffee with breakfast was undrinkable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longstaff97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newbury hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Food below average but the rooms and main corridors are in an urgent need of decoration as it appears like the place is about to fall down.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

I had a room in what is called the stables at the back on the hotel, basically it may have been a stables at one time, but it's a bit
like sleeping in a garage. The room overlooked the car park. The room was pretty grubby and the dirt between the external window and the double glazing was just not OK. The net curtains were grey. Staff seemed perfectly fine but it's not really a hotel but a pub with rooms. Don't let them put you in the stable rooms you have to walk through all the smokers and I could smell smoke in my room, not nice.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastry
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The staff were great - helpful, polite, etc. Food in the bar was good, solid meals at a reasonable price. However the accomodation lets it down compared to it's price. The room was tidy and clean and didn't suffer noise (as I've seen on previous reports) but the mirror was cracked in the bedroom, the toliet roll holder in the bathroom was also hanging off and the 4-poster bed had been repaired with (what looked like) standard 3x2 from the local Wickes/B&Q, so not quite inkeeping with the ambience aimed at. You couldn't watch TV in bed as it was fitted across a corner which was obscured by one of the 4 posts of bed plus drapes.
Like I say - okay but not quite worth the pricetag.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squiddyEastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Went with very low expectations due to the poor reviews on here, but was pleasantly surprised! Location is great, right by everything you need. We were given a 'quiet room' facing the back - quite lucky as the club opposite the hotel on the high street was pretty loud as other have said, but we heard very little. Having said that, the walls are thin and we were woken up at 4am to hear our neighbours in a nearby room having some kind of very violent domestic! Screaming, crashing and banging... I thought at one point they were about to burst into our room! Aside from that, I had a peacefully uneventful two nights' sleep. The room itself was lovely, cosy with quite a bit of character and the bed was comfortable. Heating was set a bit high at night, but other than that, very good value for money. (We had a deal at £45 per night)

Room Tip: Go for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CB_ladyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
1.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#10 of 16 in Newbury
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.4 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: Market Place, Newbury RG14 5BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing