We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a little getaway.”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queens Hotel
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for a little getaway.”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here for a night combined with a brewery trip during the day. The room was pre booked and was ready when we arrived early evening. We were taken to our room by the lady on reception who also explained and showed us where the breakfast would be and at what times in the morning.
The room was clean and comfy, plenty of room. However, our only complaint was that the bathroom had a few areas that could have been cleaned. But, in all we were very happy with the accommodation. Great sleep, no noise.
Breakfast was superb. We very much enjoyed our stay. We found the staff extremely helpful, friendly and very polite.
We would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    11
    9
    15
See reviews for
2
18
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed here for a night on a visit to Newbury. I arrived late afternoon and got a room when I walked in, no hassle. £75 for a double room for a night with breakfast.

The hotel is a pub with letting rooms above.

Parking is at rear of the pub.

The staff were friendly and welcoming.

The pub was typical of a Friday night town center pub, busy but not frantic.

The room was top floor at the back so was quiet and peaceful. It had en-suite and all the usual stuff, TV, kettle etc.

As it is an old building the floor sloped a tad, which was quaint.

The double bed was not the most luxurious but big and comfy enough to sleep in.

Decoration was tired and past its sell by date so needed refurbishing, this didn't bother me that much.

The shower made the floor wet and the loo seat was cheap plastic that slid to the side when you sat on it.

Breakfast which is served until 10am was very good, cereals and full English with tea Coffee and juice.

All in all its not the Hilton but for the money its about right.

The room, like me, was tired and old but welcoming and comfortable enough to give a good nights sleep in a warm place with a hearty breakfast thrown in.
I would stay here again,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This Hotel above a pub is very good value. I have stayed here on numerous occasions on business and sampled most of the rooms. What you don't want is one of the coach house rooms out in the car park unless you are happy to walk straight out to your car. Inside, they have standard rooms but not all of these have baths. The best rooms are the four posters - spacious decently appointed rooms with ensuites. Marstons took over the Room at the Inn brand and unfortunately haven't invested greatly in any big refurbs and the hotel is probably in need soon.
However, the staff are always welcoming and very helpful. As a Marstons, the beer is always reasonably priced as well as the food. They have a car park which is bonus fo rthe centre of Newbury.
I would recommend the Queens for those on limited business budgets as it is good value for the town as the more upmarket hotels do tend to charge to accommodate the business they probably get from the likes of Vodafone and the other corporates based in the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a for first week of September as my usual hotel was double booked.
Location is fantastic for the shops,bars,supermarket, cinema,train station,banks, you name it the location is superb. Can only comment on room 14 which is a double and is situated at the car park at the rear of pub, so you are not above the pub. Very spacious, clean with a bath and shower, all the usual stuff, ie kettle tv fan. Not sure of the cost as my company foots the bill but have been told you can haggle lol. Food in the bar is quite cheap and nice and staff to me were friendly.
Definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is excellent if you want somewhere in the centre of town. We booked the four poster room as we thought we'd treat ourselves - the room was airy and clean with a good bathroom but the view from the window was just the skylight of the bar and you could see customers in there which was very disappointing and the bed was just about falling apart to the point that every time one of us moved it woke the other up! The choice of breakfast was limited but very generous portions of lovely food. Did not eat there otherwise as slightly put off by some other customers and the fact that we couldn't pull the menus apart. Staff were all friendly and helpful. It's ok if you want a bed for the night but would not recommend the overpriced four poster room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzyluck67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stopped off in Newbury both going to and coming back from a cheap coach tour to Blackpool.

This pub is just over the road from where all the coach's park, we only had 45 mins to get off, stretch our legs and get something to eat so went in here.

We both just grabbed a burger and chips and a couple of lemonades , came to about £13, so pretty good price wise. Was not that busy in there but took a while to come. Quite a nice burger and chips weren't bad either, usual pub grub.

As someone else has put on here, there are few people in there who probably sit in there all day long drinking there benefits money away, bit like a Yates or weatherspoons, you can spot the scroungers from a mile away.

But for what we paid, it was ok and we came back on the way home aswell during our stop.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatesy150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed here for a work trip, two week nights. The roon was very good, clean, spacious and confortable. The bathroom is also very spcious and clean, the shower was not great in the sense that it was a bit old, but I showered both days with no problem. Right in central Newbury, amazing breakfast, very good service. I actually even managed to do some written work in the evenings so I wish I was staying a while longer. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natércia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#12 of 17 in Newbury
3.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.4 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#11 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
1.2 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: Market Place, Newbury RG14 5BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing