We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Hidden Gem”

Dew Pond Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 187 Restaurants in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$156
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A True Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Recently myself and my wife visited the Dew Pond Restaurant for a birthday evening meal.

What a fantastic surprise. Even though we have lived locally for many years we have never been before, how we have missed out.

The restaurants looks are unusual as it feels like you are eating in someones house.
The staff are exceptionally warm and friendly and actually the unusual surroundings seem to make for a relaxed and pleasant evening. We ended up sat in the garden for coffees after dinner and, due to the layout, got chatting with other diners.

As for the food. it is fabulous. Another reviewer commented that it is a fixed price menu for 3 courses but how is that a problem. ALL the food is of a very high quality, cooked to perfection and presented beautifully.

We will definitely be going back and recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_B_H_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    48
    19
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A hidden delight”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This restaurant has the look of three rooms combined within a large house. When I dined here, there was only the option to pay for two courses at a set price with the addition of an extra one if required. The scallops were cooked to perfection, but at an extra cost, I would truthfully have expected more than two. The waitress was knowledgeable about wine and the people who occupied the other tables seemed to be in an older age group. Not that it is of much consequence until you find someone complaining quite loudly. The car park is a tight fit, but the staff is so helpful that you will be accommodated wherever and whenever they can fit you in. Overall it was an interesting meal, if not in a rather different atmosphere, than one might expect. Delightful staff and delicious food...if not much of it. Nothing that would encourage me to visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 01Veritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Recent Dining Experience”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We enjoyed a fabulous meal at the Dew Pond Restaurant recently. It was a warm evening and we had pre dinner drinks outside on the decking area overlooking the beautiful countryside. There were eight people in our party and we had the comfort of our own private dining room. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We drank both a red wine and a white wine during our meal, both excellent . We have always found the wines to be reasonably priced. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great for a relaxed hen party meal!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We visited the Dew Pond as a group of 10 for a relaxed hen party meal and were able to have the private dining area which was great. The location, food, service and ambiance was brilliant, and lived up to its high rating on here. The hen was very happy!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This has to be the best place for a special night out for miles. Great, personal service in a small restaurant. Expensive, but still good value?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dew Pond Restaurant also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 
Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to Dew Pond Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing