We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not Great”

Dew Pond Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 187 Restaurants in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$156
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice but not Great”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were a little early and had to wait for our friends a lovely evening so perfect to sit outside and enjoy an aperitif. The garden area was however disappointing. Although the restaurant is out in the country they are not making the most of their garden and there is just a small rather unkempt garden area. It could be so much better.
The food was good and nicely presented, not great but above average. It would not take a lot of effort from the chefs to make the food outstanding. Its a set 3 course dinner menu which is pretty good value and 3 courses is what you get. Nothing more! An amuse bouche or two would have been nice, or a pallet cleaner, could move this restaurant to a different level. A bit more work on the presentation and this would be a very good restaurant and some where worthy of note. But hey, they miss the mark on too many points and don't measure up to the better restaurants in the area. They are almost there but not the complete article.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank IamBigAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    48
    19
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“5* eating in a 5* setting.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I know this is my second report on this restaurant and I make no apologies for this.
If you want the best and you are down this way then book you table at the Dew Pond.
The service from all the staff is first class and they have just added "chips" - so my favorite meal of Steak & Chips meal was superb.
I'm not going to harp on just to say this will not be our last visit here and I'm already looking forward to my next meal at The Dew Pond.
Julie and Keith 5* from this couple of diners again.
Thank you, Tony & Val, Cheshire.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OTTO99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Although we say what a find we have in fact visited a couple of times many years ago and don't know why we left it so long as the dinner we recently had was excellent.The food was expertly cooked and beautifully presented right down to the macaroons with the coffee. We certainly will be visiting again soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllGold11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem?”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I've visited this Restaurant twice now, and enjoyed both occasions. One visit was with a very large group (12-15) people, and the restaurant handled the event very well, providing excellent service and very good food. My second visit was just my wife and myself.

The food is consistently excellent, and the service is top class.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

There are few restaurants in central southern England where you get a sense of the magnificence of the countryside this area has to offer. Happily, Dew Pond is one of the few. On a balmy summer's evening, cocktails on the deck overlooking Beacon Hill and the distant high ground was a real treat. An excellent fixed price, three course menu offered something for everyone and all the food was great. A good wine list and good service added to an excellent evening. Thank you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Planetsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dew Pond Restaurant also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 
Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to Dew Pond Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing