We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem to break the journey from Canterbury to Ireland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Winterbourne Arms

The Winterbourne Arms
Ranked #44 of 186 Restaurants in Newbury
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a gem to break the journey from Canterbury to Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Having arrived very late for our lunch booking on a Friday, (M25 traffic), our party of 5 - comprising my husband and I, my dad (90 years old with very limited mobility) one teenage boy and a daughter of 10 - was made to feel exceptionally welcome. The kitchen staff had been held back in order to prepare our food and it was well worth coming off the M4 motorway slightly in order to have such a fantastic meal with such wonderful service. We will try and make another stop there very soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clarissa_read
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    65
    24
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really very good indeed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had a dinner for two at the Winterbourne Arms and are really struggling to find anything to fault. The service was excellent, the serving staff friendly and efficient. The food was all very good indeed, with generous portion sizes. The only fault we managed to find was that one of the pieces of toast with my husband's goose rillettes was slightly stale. We left very full and very happy and will no doubt return another day!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Contraryish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic welcome and tasty home cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having booked very last minute on a busy Saturday night, we were warmly welcomed by the owners and waitress who explained all the specials in great detail. We chose the Bacon, Black pudding and poached egg starter which was divine. My son then had the homemade Steak & Ale pie which was the best pie we have ever tasted. I went for another starter for my main, Goats cheese tart, which was also delicious. The service was exceptional considering that the pub was very busy, the food and wine excellent and we will be going again! Highly recommended and lovely to find such a friendly pub with great tasting food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taipei
Level Contributor
411 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Didn't think pubs like this still existed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stopped on the way back from North to South, just 10 minutes off the A34/M4, stunning exterior with a great landscaped garden, perfect for Sunday lunch. Service was amazing, such a friendly welcome considering they had never seen us before, we went to the bar to order and were surprised to hear we could sit in the garden and have all our drinks and food ordered and served there, sheer delight! Sunday lunch of roast topside was superb, brilliant crisply roasties and as many crunchy fresh veggies as you wanted plus home made yorkshires and horseradish. Wife had a delicious piece of salmon with a spicy tomato sauce, was also outstanding. Very good quality wines by glass and over 12 on the list so plenty of choice. We live over 60 miles from here but we will return next weekend to do a bit of pre-lunch walking so we can add some pudds onto our next meal! Brilliant pub.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Enjoyed an enjoyable meal in the garden en route to the West Country.

Very warm welcome, good food and easy to find from the M4. Prices are perhaps a little high but portions are large.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Winterbourne Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Winterbourne Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing