We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wayside Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marston Lodge Hotel(Minehead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlelight B&B(Minehead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
10
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
0
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This is the Best B&B we have visited.
On arrival we were taken to our room in an adjacent building to the main house.
A selection of 5 different teas,instant/ground coffee,biscuits and chocolates available.
Flat screen t.v.,alarm/radio and glass topped table with 2 leather chairs and info.pack on
local restaurants and amenities.Plenty of storage space and the most comfortable bed and quality linen.Spacious bathroom with powerful shower and shampoo/soap/conditioner all upmarket brands.
Rosalind our host was very welcoming and served a superb traditional breakfast complemented with fresh fruit (not tinned) Yoghurt and homemade pancakes as an alternative.Immaculate is how I would describe the setting and accommodation and
with Rosalind's cheery manner and infectious laugh we had a fantastic few days.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms but both immaculate.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ping12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed there on our journey into Cornwall. It is situated within close driving distance of Minehead and the Exmoor National Park. Before our arrival, the hosts added a personal touch to our booking by sending us by post a confirmation letter and instructions on how to get there. When we reached there, we were welcomed by its warm & friendly host who waited patiently in the rain for us to park our car before showing us our room. The room was very spacious & had good quality bed linen coupled with a very comfortable mattress. The en-suite was spacious & they provided Crabtree & Evelyn shower products, including a shower cap - very thoughtful indeed! Towels were clean and stain-free with an extremely pleasant scent of freshly-washed linen. Although it was refurbished about 5 years ago, it was very clean & in excellent condition! It was beautifully decorated with matching curtains and bed linen against the white and blue furnishings, giving it a cosy feel. It had a lovely garden and ample of parking space, too! A lovely stay that is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed there on our journey into Cornwall. It is situated within close driving distance of Minehead and the Exmoor National Park. Before our arrival, the hosts added a personal touch to our booking by sending us by post a confirmation letter and instructions on how to get there. When we reached there, we were welcomed by its warm & friendly host who waited patiently in the rain for us to park our car before showing us our room. The room was very spacious & had good quality bed linen coupled with a very comfortable mattress. The en-suite was spacious & they provided Crabtree & Evelyn shower products, including a shower cap - very thoughtful indeed! Towels were clean and stain-free with an extremely pleasant scent of freshly-washed linen. Although it was refurbished about 5 years ago, it was very clean & in excellent condition! It was beautifully decorated with matching curtains and bed linen against the white and blue furnishings, giving it a cosy feel. It had a lovely garden and ample of parking space, too! A lovely stay that is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This bed and breakfast operation hosts two rooms in a block to the right of the owner's house, with a separate entrance. The two rooms are at the top of a staircase (no lift so not suitable for those with physical disabilities). There is free parking next to the block in a secure, gated area. There are gardens but they are not presented as available to the visitors. There are no common areas except a room in the main house which is only used as a place to have breakfast.
Our room was not ensuite and to reach the 'private bathroom' we had to get dressed and cross the landing at the top of the stairs outside the next room, which also had people staying in it (so the bathroom did not feel 'private' even though I was told that this arrangement fulfills official criteria for being labelled 'private as the bathroom is for the exclusive use of those staying in our room).
The bedroom and bathroom were very clean with spotless linen. Tea and coffee facilities (with biscuits) were provided and these were also nice and clean and a nice touch was a piece of chocolate provoded by the side of the bed.
Our room did not have a full length warrdrobe but this was fine by us. There was no full length mirror anywhere and we were going out to a celebration 'do' so that would have been nice.
Wifi was provided but the room would not have been comfortable as a base to combine work with leisure or as the base for a work trip that required a place to sit with a computer as there was limited desk/table space.
A main problem with the room is that there is only a paper thin partition wall between the two rooms. We could hear the TV next door and the people in the room to the extent we did not put our TV on because it would have had to be on top volume to compete with the TV next door.
The breakfast was based on good quality ingredients but not a lot of it. The coffee was excellent.
The owner was very nice and very professional. I was very impressed indeed that we had accidentally left somethng behind and the owner took the trouble to send on to us beforewe even realised it was missing.
My summary is that the owner really does know how to operate a high standard b and b but the limitations of the accommodation (noise because of thin walls, no en suite) means that at the moment the rooms are overpriced for what is available.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for the one en suite room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequentflyer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This is the best B&B that I have ever stayed. Can not fault it at all. Only 2 rooms but ours was perfect, clean, fresh flowers and a shower for two! We only had to make a quick call to have a DVD delivered to us, which we watched wrapped in the cosy dressing gowns and comfy chairs. Breakfast was delightful, wonderfully cooked. More than we expected, i didn't want to go home!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBadgers32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews