We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERCALAFRAGALISTICEXPIALIDOCOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marston Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Stayed at Marston Lodge last week on a friend's recommendation. Couldn't have been better advised. Combined a family visit with beautiful strolls on Exmoor and a welcome rest- this was the perfect base. Entertaining, yet incredibly relaxing!! Very comfortable room, lovely refurbished bathroom, tasteful decor and a very peaceful and easy-going feel to the house. Professional, efficient yet subtle staff. Excellent breakfast - at time to suit us - and plenty of it! Free to relax in gardens by day, and Bar by night! A good magazine in the Lounge or a game of Snooker? Have booked for next year, as well as a sneaky week in the summer!!
VERYsurprised to read negative comments about this hotel.

Room Tip: Unique! Highly recommended.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaomideMendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Marston Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2011

Spent over two hours on internet to find a room with extra large bed & walk in shower, Marston Lodge came up with both; when I spoke on phone to reserve was told they "didn't really want overnight but would accommodate" On arriving, our reserved room had been given away to another couple & we were shown a small double with bath & overhead shower. (Final straw was having to make a choice between EITHER a full cooked breakfast OR a warmed croissant the night before.) We left without staying. Short admission of culpability and apology arrived by text. Too little too late.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Professore3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCWebshop, Owner at Marston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Upon reading this review I feel compelled to say a few words in mitigation.
I did make a booking error which I readily admitted to the person concerned.
I had tried to do the best by this customer and another elderly couple but I am afraid it back fired spectacularly.
There was no malicious intent just a desire to see everyone as happy as humanly possible.
Whilst I do not try to make excuses for my booking mix up I honestly do not feel it warranted such a malicious review, and that I was not given the opportunity to put things right as they were not interested and left barely 10 minutes after arrival. I then tried to text my humble apologies after they left.
All I can say is that it was an honest mistake so please do not judge Marston Lodge by this review.
It is impossible to satisfy 100% of the people 100% of the time ... but I assure you we do try.
Thank you for reading this
Alex, Marston Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Friendly and very welcoming owner Alex could not do enough to make our stay comfortable.
The bedrooms have recently been refurbished and had everything in them to make you feel at home. The bathrooms and showers have just been replaced and are all new.
Breakfast was first rate and hearty. It set us up for the entire day!
We enjoyed our stay so much we will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonersNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

No in room phones and no lift and a good five minutes uphill from the centre of minehead. The owner, Alex, made us all very welcome, the breakfast was very good, the rooms had excellent views, parking was easy, it was all very relaxing, very much like having the comfort of your own home but without the daily chores. Much nicer than some more expensive hotels with people waiting on your every command, Would definitely stay again, in fact we didn't want to leave at the end of our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

booked a night at this hotel to visit some friends and was a bit sceptical after reading the reviews on here but I couldn't have enjoyed it more. The hosts Alex and Alice were very friendly and welcoming and I instantly felt relaxed and at home. I was given a lovely room well worth the price with the best views overlooking Minehead. It's location meant that it was very near to everything but without the noise. The hotel also had a snooker table and an honesty bar so it was great to be able to help yourself to a drink and I ended up playing snooker with one of the other guests! There was a good choice for breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. The owners dog was a delight too and accompanied me on a few walks, she even gives you a guided walk of the hotel's gardens!! The owner also has a great knowledge of the area and even suggested some things that my friends didn't know about! I'd originally booked just one night but ended up staying 3 and I can't wait to stay again when I'm next visiting the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygolucky37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Good points. The breakfast was above average and the road outside had little traffic.
Bad points.Very limited parking onsite, we had to park on the road some distance away. The room decor was poor. It was badly painted in a terrible bright yellow colour and needed renovating. Look at their website under accommodation if you don't believe me. The tiling in the bathroom was dirty and the tiles were just about to fall off the wall.
We were woken by the cockerel making a terrible noise at 4AM and couldn't get back to sleep for ages. When we mentioned this the owner said that usually the noise was far worse, so we were lucky!
The faults are easily fixed but don't stay here until they have been.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lhotelinspector99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCWebshop, Manager at Marston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

The hotel has been comprehensively refurbished for the 2011 season with new luxury bathrooms and central heating throughout, all serviced by mains pressure hot water.

Whilst we still have 12 free range hens giving us the most delicious eggs every morning, we no longer have the cockeral, so guests can now enjoy a long lie in should they so wish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Have spent four days at Marston Lodge and the lovely area of North Somerset and North Devon. The host Alex worked very hard, seemingly alone. We had travelled five hours only to find Alex was out when we arrived, but he appeared very soon afterwards. The hotel details advertised evening meals on request at a supplement, but on arrival we were told that this was not possible at the present time. This was disappointing after a long journey but the disappointment could have been forestalled by a simple e-mail in advance. The room was very clean, had a brilliant sea view, was in excellent decorative condition, with a good flat screen mulit channel TV. Breakfast was pre-determined by a card that had to be filled out on arrival. Not a problem but there was not an option to change the original choices. Alex had great expertise on the local area and our days of touring around were greatly enhanced by his suggestions. Minehead had a limited number of good eating places and without using the car, four evening meals exhausted the supply.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
305 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#2 of 37 in Minehead
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marston Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marston Lodge Hotel

Address: Marston Lodge Marston LODGE St. Michaels Road | Exmoor National Park, Minehead TA24 5JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range: £76 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marston Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marston Lodge provides visitors, to the wilds of Exmoor, a warm and welcoming launch pad for both exploration and relaxation. This coast and country house was an impressive and elegant, Edwardian gentleman's residence (built circa 1900) which retains much of its original character, charm and style. Being amongst the first private residences built on Exmoor's scenic North Hill it enjoys unrivaled panoramic views from most of its individual, comfortable and stylish en-suite bedrooms. Take a 10 minute walk into the town and enjoy the wide selection of quirky shops, bars, restaurants and coffee shops or head further along the coast to the medieval village of Dunster and Blue Anchor. Alternatively, follow the South West Coast Path and venture up on to beautiful Exmoor National Park (just a few steps from our front door!). Allow us to create an individual, memorable itinerary and guide you to Exmoor's Secret Hidden Gems (using our invaluable local knowledge and numerous experiences!!)... Whatever the weather! Take a Home Made Picnic or ask us to highlight the best eating spots on your tour. Return after a 'Wild & Wooly' day of excitement and adventure to a log fire and a hearty, traditional home made supper. With the best views in town and welcoming, relaxed hosts, Marston Lodge offers a home-from-home style atmosphere that you will want to re-live over and over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marston Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marston Hotel Minehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing