We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big birthdays weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marston Lodge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“big birthdays weekend”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

10 friends went for a combined birthdays weekend. The hosts were fabulous, friendly and the food fantastic e.g. fresh eggs from the resident chickens and all locally sourced organic produce. The local knowledge they had of where to go, even on a damp, cold weekend added massively to the enjoyment. The hotel was furnished in a Victorian chic style that was totally in keeping with the building. We all said that we would like to return when the weather was kinder - even so the wonderful hosts Naomi and Alex, pulled out all the stops to ensure we had a lovely time. The sing-song in front of a roaring fire on the last night was memorable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a better view down to the beach The walk down to the town is OK but the walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilyFriedFish64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    46
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
129
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

We went to the hotel for the weekend the rooms are beautiful we stayed in room 12 the views are fantastic the rooms are clean and the bed is lovely and comfortable the bathrooms are gorgeous and clean with towels provided the breakfast was so tasty enjoyed it very much the owners of the hotel are so friendly I would recommend this hotel to everyone we will certainly be coming back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This hotel is an ideal location for walking in Exmoor. There are numerous scenic walks from the hotel or near by Dunster Castle. The Hotel has Picturesque views of the sea and hills. The hosts are keen and passionate about the area and can provide all the information you need for a walking and day trips. The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We recently stayed at the Marston Lodge Hotel in Minehead with the family for a short week end break. I must say I was slightly dubious about holidaying in the UK as it's not something I have done for a number of years, but I was not let down. Alex and Naomi were fabulous and catered to our every need. We have 2 children aged 10 and 6, and they had a wow of a time and there is so much to do in the local area....... I highly recommend this hotel in Minehead and can't thank Alex and Naomi enough. We will defiantly be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hurd830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I've stayed in Marston Lodge with family several times over several years and have fond memories of the hotel. The rooms are really comfortable and the atmosphere is homely, perfect for a break in the English countryside and far nicer than any of the big chain hotels in the region.

The English breakfast is really good, it was probably the highlight of staying here when I was young! After a long day walking in Exmoor, this is the perfect place to come back to. The rooms are comfortable and there is a great little games room, and (of course) a decent little bar (the highlight now!). The views over minehead are spectacular.

Alex is a great host and knows the whole area well. Marston lodge is really a great find and the price is very reasonable considering the high quality of the service. We will keep coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank featuredteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

Marston Lodge Minehead
We arrived hear off the back of other reviews on Trip Advisor planning to spend the night en route to Wales. Our amiable host provided us with such a passionate and informative introduction to Exmoor that we decided to stay an extra night. We planned our next day's adventure over the billiard table in the lodge. As promised Alex produced a mystery tour of the region which would provide us with the opportunity to experience some of the exquisite gems that Exmoor offered. From Exmoor ponies,small villages where people have lived and farmed for centuries, charming and chilly seaside villages such as Lynmouth to the mist covered and eerie moors we were entranced. Following a delicious dinner at the 12 th century Lutteral Arms in Medieval Dunster we returned to our warm and comfortable room at Marston Lodge content in the knowledge that we would wake to a glorious view and a delicious home cooked breakfast of our liking. Many thanks Alex for opening our eyes.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Very scenic spot on hill overlooking the town
Room was comfortable, the curtains did not stop any light in the morning and it had small bathroom for the healthy price.
We were disappointed in the no refund policy on one of our team having to cancel, as think that some gesture of help would have been nice.
Nice breakfast, and helpful owners although always felt slightly as though the pride in the establishment was more important than our comfort.
Would of liked to make the owners aware of the rotting of the balcony balustrade wood though, as felt very dangerous...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chippytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
225 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
698 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#2 of 37 in Minehead
393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 37 in Minehead
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marston Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marston Lodge Hotel

Property: Marston Lodge Hotel
Address: Marston Lodge Marston LODGE St. Michaels Road | Exmoor National Park, Minehead TA24 5JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marston Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marston Lodge provides visitors, to the wilds of Exmoor, a warm and welcoming launch pad for both exploration and relaxation. This coast and country house was an impressive and elegant, Edwardian gentleman's residence (built circa 1900) which retains much of its original character, charm and style. Being amongst the first private residences built on Exmoor's scenic North Hill it enjoys unrivaled panoramic views from most of its individual, comfortable and stylish en-suite bedrooms. Take a 10 minute walk into the town and enjoy the wide selection of quirky shops, bars, restaurants and coffee shops or head further along the coast to the medieval village of Dunster and Blue Anchor. Alternatively, follow the South West Coast Path and venture up on to beautiful Exmoor National Park (just a few steps from our front door!). Allow us to create an individual, memorable itinerary and guide you to Exmoor's Secret Hidden Gems (using our invaluable local knowledge and numerous experiences!!)... Whatever the weather! Take a Home Made Picnic or ask us to highlight the best eating spots on your tour. Return after a 'Wild & Wooly' day of excitement and adventure to a log fire and a hearty, traditional home made supper. With the best views in town and welcoming, relaxed hosts, Marston Lodge offers a home-from-home style atmosphere that you will want to re-live over and over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marston Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marston Hotel Minehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing