We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally relaxing for a usually not laid back person like me.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marston Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Addingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Totally relaxing for a usually not laid back person like me.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

No in room phones and no lift and a good five minutes uphill from the centre of minehead. The owner, Alex, made us all very welcome, the breakfast was very good, the rooms had excellent views, parking was easy, it was all very relaxing, very much like having the comfort of your own home but without the daily chores. Much nicer than some more expensive hotels with people waiting on your every command, Would definitely stay again, in fact we didn't want to leave at the end of our stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    44
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
122
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

booked a night at this hotel to visit some friends and was a bit sceptical after reading the reviews on here but I couldn't have enjoyed it more. The hosts Alex and Alice were very friendly and welcoming and I instantly felt relaxed and at home. I was given a lovely room well worth the price with the best views overlooking Minehead. It's location meant that it was very near to everything but without the noise. The hotel also had a snooker table and an honesty bar so it was great to be able to help yourself to a drink and I ended up playing snooker with one of the other guests! There was a good choice for breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. The owners dog was a delight too and accompanied me on a few walks, she even gives you a guided walk of the hotel's gardens!! The owner also has a great knowledge of the area and even suggested some things that my friends didn't know about! I'd originally booked just one night but ended up staying 3 and I can't wait to stay again when I'm next visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygolucky37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

Good points. The breakfast was above average and the road outside had little traffic.
Bad points.Very limited parking onsite, we had to park on the road some distance away. The room decor was poor. It was badly painted in a terrible bright yellow colour and needed renovating. Look at their website under accommodation if you don't believe me. The tiling in the bathroom was dirty and the tiles were just about to fall off the wall.
We were woken by the cockerel making a terrible noise at 4AM and couldn't get back to sleep for ages. When we mentioned this the owner said that usually the noise was far worse, so we were lucky!
The faults are easily fixed but don't stay here until they have been.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lhotelinspector99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCWebshop, Manager at Marston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
The hotel has been comprehensively refurbished for the 2011 season with new luxury bathrooms and central heating throughout, all serviced by mains pressure hot water.

Whilst we still have 12 free range hens giving us the most delicious eggs every morning, we no longer have the cockeral, so guests can now enjoy a long lie in should they so wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

Have spent four days at Marston Lodge and the lovely area of North Somerset and North Devon. The host Alex worked very hard, seemingly alone. We had travelled five hours only to find Alex was out when we arrived, but he appeared very soon afterwards. The hotel details advertised evening meals on request at a supplement, but on arrival we were told that this was not possible at the present time. This was disappointing after a long journey but the disappointment could have been forestalled by a simple e-mail in advance. The room was very clean, had a brilliant sea view, was in excellent decorative condition, with a good flat screen mulit channel TV. Breakfast was pre-determined by a card that had to be filled out on arrival. Not a problem but there was not an option to change the original choices. Alex had great expertise on the local area and our days of touring around were greatly enhanced by his suggestions. Minehead had a limited number of good eating places and without using the car, four evening meals exhausted the supply.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

On arrival no one to greet us- just had room key left on side in hall on table. Note left saying 'Out doing the Horses Back between 4-5'. It seemed to my husband and I who are seniors that we ' were in the way'. The owner of the hotel unfortunately made us a feel that we were intruding in his home. The bedroom was clean but very old fashioned, the bed was very hard and only a double. Tea Facilities werent good as you could only fill the kettle using a tooth mug and the bathroom sink which was very tiny- although spotless. There was no wardrobe just a hook on the back of the door and drawers. Had a note given to us as we booked in requesting breakfast details 08:30 - 9:30. Full English or Croissants but you had to notify him the night before. Coffee not good- only instant and do your own toast! The room was booked at £ 75.00 which had to be booked and paid for in advance. We thought the actual value for what we recieved was around £60.00. We were supposed to be statying 2 nights but werent comfortable enough to stay for both nights so have moved on. The Owner looked surprised that we werent staying- although he hadnt welcomed us in the manner we were hoping/ expecting !

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MangroveMikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Marston Lodge Hotel has it all - sea and countryside views, beautiful gardens, helpful and friendly owners as well as being a fascinating place to stay with interesting art and furniture throughout. We were lucky enough to be staying when Alex's chickens had chicks and they provided endless entertainment. We also ate in the hotel one evening and Ramona's cooking was delicious - freshly cooked and very reasonably priced. We are definitely going to return for another visit because there is plenty to see in this beautiful area and staying at Marston Lodge made our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webbsbakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
272 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

This sits on a hill overlooking the Bristol Channel, Butlins, and the village of Minehead. If you can get a Seaview room, do so, However, if not, take advantage of the lovely 2nd Floor Balcony patio. Lovely to have a drink out there and watch the slow setting sun. Minehead is a great base in whih to explore Exmoor National Park; with the Coastal Path path starting just 10 minutes away. Minehead has all the conveniences (Boots, Sommerfields, Clarks, even a Super Tesco on the town outskirts) for a base, but also feels small enough to feel intimate. The Lodge is comfortable; I started in a Double (Room #10) which is lovely but felt the difference when moved to a Single/Room #11; less than 1/2 the size and with the head of the bed next to the door and therefore the hallway, heard everything. You check off breakfast items you want; good selection: however if everyoen is down at the same time, there are not enough tables, a few mornings, people had to wait for a table to open up. Overall amazing price, great loation and enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kareny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 38 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#1 of 38 in Minehead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#7 of 38 in Minehead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marston Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marston Lodge Hotel

Property: Marston Lodge Hotel
Address: Marston Lodge Marston LODGE St. Michaels Road | Exmoor National Park, Minehead TA24 5JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marston Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marston Lodge provides visitors, to the wilds of Exmoor, a warm and welcoming launch pad for both exploration and relaxation. This coast and country house was an impressive and elegant, Edwardian gentleman's residence (built circa 1900) which retains much of its original character, charm and style. Being amongst the first private residences built on Exmoor's scenic North Hill it enjoys unrivaled panoramic views from most of its individual, comfortable and stylish en-suite bedrooms. Take a 10 minute walk into the town and enjoy the wide selection of quirky shops, bars, restaurants and coffee shops or head further along the coast to the medieval village of Dunster and Blue Anchor. Alternatively, follow the South West Coast Path and venture up on to beautiful Exmoor National Park (just a few steps from our front door!). Allow us to create an individual, memorable itinerary and guide you to Exmoor's Secret Hidden Gems (using our invaluable local knowledge and numerous experiences!!)... Whatever the weather! Take a Home Made Picnic or ask us to highlight the best eating spots on your tour. Return after a 'Wild & Wooly' day of excitement and adventure to a log fire and a hearty, traditional home made supper. With the best views in town and welcoming, relaxed hosts, Marston Lodge offers a home-from-home style atmosphere that you will want to re-live over and over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Marston Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marston Hotel Minehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing