We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Potential but rethink needed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Smugglers Inn

The Smugglers Inn
Ranked #8 of 92 Restaurants in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$51
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Smugglers Inn offers a cosy bar, a delightful restaurant and accommodation by the sea at Blue Anchor Bay in Somerset. We are on the edge of Exmoor and the Quantock hills and make a perfect base for walking holidays. The West Somerset steam railway runs through Blue Anchor and the station is just along the road at the end of the bay. Blue Anchor beach is a long sandy beach and is just across the road from the Inn.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Potential but rethink needed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Visited at the end of April on our Wedding Anniversary. It had recently changed hands and did not appear to be fully up to speed. It was not very busy and the atmosphere was a little downbeat - the choice of background music and the photographs on the wall didn't help. The food was good and the service prompt. There is very little else of a reasonable quality in this immediate area and there is considerable potential to cater for families and for those who prefer a more intimate atmosphere but to acheive this the new owners may need to rethink how the building works.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Netsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katherine G, Manager at The Smugglers Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I do apologise that you were unhappy with the level of service that you received in our business.

As I am sure you can understand, the Smugglers Inn changed hands at the beginning of April. Therefore when you visited we had only been here a maximum of 3 weeks.

The business being busy is only due to advertising, and again I apologise but we cannot achieve everything overnight.

I am unsure on what else to say to this review, apart from, that we were new to the Smugglers Inn, and this part of the UK and therefore think it unfair that we are tarnished almost as soon as we walk in the door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    98
    37
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Under new management and still brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We visited Saturday 17th May round 5pm without booking. First time we've been since the new managers have taken over from Simon. Food was just as amazing as ever - the "mini" camembert wasn't mini at all and perfect for sharing and being topped with garlic made it even more scrummy. There were 3 adults, 2 kids and the dog who was spoilt. Couldn't fault a thing - they even made a special non-alcoholic grown up knickerbockerglory for my friend. Chicken and mushroom rissotto was perfect. Lovely to sit outside on a summer's evening....good luck to the new people you deserve to do well - nothing was too much trouble and all the staff made it a great evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We took friends for a meal last Friday evening and were very pleasently surprised at the quality of the meals.
We have been going to the Smugglars for the past 6 years, and although we have enjoyed many a good meal and evening there, in the past year or so standards have definately dropped, in both the service and meal quality.
The pub is now under new management and if they continue as we found last Friday we can only see that things are improving. Compliments to the chef (Spanna) and the rest of the staff.
Good luck and keep up the good work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great find in quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Now under new management the Smugglers is a great place to visit for lunch or dinner. The food was plentifull and of good quality. Friendly and attentive staff completed the experience. I cannot recommend it enough and would tell anyone staying at Blue Anchor to give it a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Smuggle me in with you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

AMAZING food here. We travelled on the railway and googled dog friendly pubs along the line. This one was our first choice and we would go back time and again. Dogs were very welcomed and fed treats. Food is cooked from fresh so be prepared for a little wait compared to other pubs where they just heat up food. The cheesy garlic pizza bread is the size of a small pizza. Baked camenbert is a whole one and antipasti was lush! Staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. Cannot recommend this place highly enough. New owners had been in for just five weeks when we went (10 May) but seemed to have been there for years it was so professional and homey.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smugglers Inn also viewed

 
Minehead, Somerset
Minehead, Somerset
 

Been to The Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing