We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speak as you find”
Review of The Smugglers Inn

The Smugglers Inn
Ranked #8 of 93 Restaurants in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$52
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Smugglers Inn offers a cosy bar, a delightful restaurant and accommodation by the sea at Blue Anchor Bay in Somerset. We are on the edge of Exmoor and the Quantock hills and make a perfect base for walking holidays. The West Somerset steam railway runs through Blue Anchor and the station is just along the road at the end of the bay. Blue Anchor beach is a long sandy beach and is just across the road from the Inn.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Speak as you find”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Once again we have visited the Smugglars with friends, as on my last visit I stated that the food was good, again all four of us had excellent meals.
We know there has been a change of kitchen staff but the standard has not dropped at all and if anything it has improved. Well done to Lauren and the other kitchen staff. Keep it up.
also the new management seems to be settling in well and putting their mark on the pub,
all for the good!
We shall be back soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    99
    37
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stonehouse, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, Helpful and Good Food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Went twice whilst on holiday in Blue Anchor Bay, once for a drink and again for an evening meal. We selected this pub not only because it was close to where we were staying, but they were dog friendly in the bar and part of the restaurant.
The owner and his staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we understood everything.
The new owners have only been there a few months but judging from the number there, both locals and holidaymakers, they are building up a nice clientele.
The wine was good and the evening meal excellent.
Can thoroughly recommend and would go there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank half_cab_fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First meal ”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Well simply brilliant
Fresh food cooked superbly what more do you want I will be back had the steak it was the best I've had in a long time thanks

Helpful?
2 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smugglers inn”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was our third visit we come every year this year the inn is under new management but the food and service was excellent very friendly staff very dog friendly would recommend this to anyone in the area well worth a visit. Thanks Katherine and Rob for a lovely welcome and excellent food

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnielaO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Discovered this lovely coastal pub”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have just come back from a mini break in Somerset. Whilst on our first walk along the front we were talking about where to eat that night. We saw a sign for Smugglers Inn under new management so wondered up a short drive to a lovely looking pub. Gardens out back were well looked after with a nice pond. Inside the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a few drinks and ordered some food the mussles in white wine were amazing and my husband had the steak & otter oie with mash & veg the food was amazing. We went back the second night of our stay and sampled the same excellent quality of food & staff excellance. We will most definately be back. Thanks to all for two enjoyable evenings.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 448Matthew1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smugglers Inn also viewed

 
Minehead, Somerset
Minehead, Somerset
 

Been to The Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing