We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Beachside Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachside Suites
Ranked #17 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had decided to stay at this B&B for a couple of nights on our way back from Cornwall. There are 3 rooms available so we chose to stay in the Harbour View room, at least that was what we thought the room had a view of but I shall come onto that in due course. (Please note I cannot comment on the other 2 rooms).
The problems with this B&B started before we had even checked in. Its website states it has a 24 hour reception. We soon realised this is incorrect. There is no reception. As the property has poor external signage we tried calling the owner several times to check the location but got no response. Consequently, when we did find the B&B my wife knocked on the front door only to be eventually greeted by a rude woman who said 'what do you want?'. We explained we were trying to check in but were told in no uncertain terms that we would have to wait as the owners were out. Therefore, we were left in limbo waiting for the owner to return.
So to the room itself. Eventually, when we had checked in we soon realised that the room was not as expected. Instead of looking out on to the harbour what you actually looked at was the road outside. Consequently, as this is the only window you can look out of as the others are high up we had to keep the blinds shut at all times to stop passers by looking in. We did complain to the owner about this but he was not interested. The room also needed a good clean as dust under a radiator could clearly be seen presumably left from when the radiator had been fitted.
The other awful thing about this B&B was the breakfast. Many B&B's pride themselves on the quality of the breakfast they serve, ensuring that a pot of tea or a cafattiere is offered alongside a selection of cereals, yoghurts and a fresh breakfast, but not this place. We knew that it was a continental breakfast served in the room, which we were fine with. However, what we didn't know was that breakfast simply consisted of a pack of Morrisons croissants (not even their finest selection I might add), some items of fruit, a carton of orange juice and a choice of 4 children's cereals out of a variety pack. We also even had to make our own tea and coffee.
As this B&B was so poor we cut our losses and only stayed the one night.
Now, if even after reading this you are still considering staying here please bear in mind that booking is done through a company called Evivo.com. Perhaps somewhat naievely on my part I presumed this company was similar to laterooms for example. Not the case. When I rang Evivo to complain about the room they too were uninterested and said they were simply a software company. Therefore, I would urge anybody reading this to ensure they do not book with Evivo.com. I will certainly make sure I dont have anything to do with them in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TK2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideSuites, Owner at Beachside Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
On arrival these "guests" immediately demanded a free stay, and threatened to leave a bad review on Trip Advisor if we did not give in to their blackmail.
We could not agree to provide a full refund, and were unable to provide the free upgrade to our best suite they then demanded.
True to their word, they have now written all this above. We are pleased to say that none of our other guests staying in the Harbour Suite or in any other suite have made such outrageous claims..
This couple still stayed in the suite, ate and drank everything on offer, and cleared the room when they left!!!
Justin and Caron Taylor, Owners of The Beachside Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    9
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
17
32
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#2 of 37 in Minehead
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Suites

Property: Beachside Suites
Address: Esplanade | The Esplanade, Minehead TA24 5QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Suite serviced hotel suites are the perfect location for holidays, with a touch of class and are conveniently located within a stones throw of Minehead's prom and the beach. Each of the Beachside Suites are fully refurbished (Spring 2014) and elegantly combine style, comfort and privacy. They have been individually designed and decorated with sophisticated furnishings and yet would equally suit small families, holidaymakers, walkers, ramblers, horse lovers, steam train enthusiasts, business people or couples looking for a romantic break. Whichever suite you choose, you can be assured that each one has been finished to the same high standard and includes: bedding, towels and complimentary toiletries. The suites are perfect for short breaks, family holidays or business trips. 3 days and 7 days special offers. Visitors will receive welcome packs upon arrival which include: tea, coffee, sugar, milk and biscuits. A week-long stay welcome pack includes: fresh flowers and a bottle of wine to make your stay as comfortable and stress free as possible. Facilities and Accommodation include: Central heating Flat screen TV Freeview DVD Player Ironing board and iron Hair drier Shoe cleaning kit Clock radio with alarm Soft hand towels and bath sheets DVDs and books in the hall are available to borrow En-suite shower / WC Fridge Free Wi-Fi broadband access Free cot or high chair - please request at time of booking On-street parking Check-out time is 10am. Check-in after 12pm. Sorry, no dogs, pets. Assistance dogs by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing