We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern Indian Restaurant”
Review of Alcombe Tandoori

Alcombe Tandoori
Ranked #12 of 94 Restaurants in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
647 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Nice modern Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting, clean and well lit. Great food (madras is HOT) and fab service. Always patronise when we come to 60's weekend at Minehead.

Helpful?
Thank shish57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    65
    19
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had the special banquet. Good value. Excellent food. Great Service. If you like indian food and you are in the area I would recommend visiting this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Branch out and try the specials”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Good curries, lovely breads and sweet and friendly waiters. The curries were very tasty, with an interesting variety to choose from especially under the 'chef's specials' sections. The lamb was a bit tough, but the curry it was in was delicious so perhaps we were unlucky with the piece of meat.
The tables for four are definitely a bit on the small size even for our family of average weight and height but that is only a very small downside on an otherwise comfortable and enjoyable evening.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pookiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“My favourite Tandoori”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We go to a Indian restaurant every week for a meal (usually around London) and this is by far our favourite Tandoori anywhere. Its a pity we can only eat here 4 or 5 times a year when we visit family, but it is a 400 mile round trip. The quality of the food is so much better than our local Tandoori restaurants. We have never had a bad meal or dish in the 6 years we have eaten there. We always find parking in the side streets.
Highly recommended

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“No Parking”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We were on holiday in the area and fancied an Indian Take Away.

We did try and ask people but got no joy. I keep forgetting to use TripAdvisor after all I make a fair number of contributions!

Anyway I had seen this place as we drove past the day before and it looked very nice.

I ordered two meals with poppadoms and it came to just over £20.

I thought it was on the expensive side as where I come from they give a 20% discount for TA.

Having said that it was a very nice meal you should not be disappointed.

As a measure of its popularity there was also a party of about 20 in who I suspect must have been locals so that tells you something!

Helpful?
Thank StinkyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alcombe Tandoori also viewed

 
 

Been to Alcombe Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing