We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not cheepie cheep but it's not expensive good for dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Quay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Quay Inn
Ranked #14 of 38 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ammanford, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's not cheepie cheep but it's not expensive good for dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

After a road trip in the rain (well it was a Bank Holiday) we found ourselves in Minehead. Not entirely planned.
We were looking for somewhere to walk the dogs but was somewhat surprised to discover that at the local parks they were banned A very nice local advised us that past the harbour there is a part of the coastal walk I think it was Clifton Gardens where dogs are allowed to go crazy.
This pub/accommodation is an easy walk and dog friendly. A very comprehensive menu, great menu. We had two meals from the English menu and one from the Thai, all excellent.
Great for dogs accepted in both inside and outside areas.
I would totally recommend. We had three adult meals for £29

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    34
    8
    9
    10
See reviews for
39
54
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

A pub on the seafront with a nice big garden and friendly staff, maybe come for a pint but would not recommend eating here. The food was just very low quality - seemed like frozen burgers/fish. would not visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AzzaJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a very nice place. Be careful where you park as I was issued with a ticket within the parking area for here.

Food was not very good, so we are out.

Staff were nice but the manger is something else. When the owner was away the manager would talk to the staff and customers like they were pieces of dirt on his shoe. I think he needs a course in customer satisfaction or better still, the sack!

The hotel has lovely rooms, but I for one will ever return.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kayleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porlock, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A lovely evening out with my grandchildren and family ruined by appalling food and management. There were only 5 of us but the last member of our party a 3 yr old had their food brought to the table 1/2hr after the first person. The portions were tiny (pasta bake 2 tablespoons) the risotto was like nothing I have ever seen, obviously microwaved in a bowl and turned out so it was flat bottomed bowl shaped and inedible. There were 2 positives the chips were nice and the waiting on and bar staff were very apologetic. The manager was rude and obnoxious and I dread to think who was in the kitchen, Perhaps Thai is their speciality and they should remove the rest of menu because they are clueless. Overpriced and unacceptable.
We did not stay this is just a review of the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Went to the Quay Inn yesterday with my family for dinner, for the last evening together for a while. There were 14 of us and the table was ready for us as we arrived. Things rapidly went wrong from that point. Our orders were wrong, starter coming after main course and some people not getting their food until some had finished their's, in total 2 family members waited one and a half hours for their food. The manager was appalling, his attitude of not caring about us or our food, he told off his waitresses at the bar in front of us, no people skills at all, the waitresses looked very stressed. Three of my family members are locals and will no doubt spread the word of the very poor service, as for the rest of us, we will never eat there again. Fourteen people, that's a fair amount of custom lost.

Room Tip: Did not stay, visited restaurant only
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DENISE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Me and my wife have just spent two nights at the Quay Inn, Minehead.

We were greeted with a friendly welcome from the owners and staff.

Our comfortable room had a sea view and the added bonus of an adjoining twin room for the kids.

The owners have introduced a great new Thai food menu that is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The food is excessively overpriced. £15 for six tiny fish cakes, four spring rolls and a few shriveled chicken wings. We asked for a refund but management refused to speak to us. Beautiful location spoilt by extremely bad management skills and unprofessional behavior.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seacat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 38 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Duke of Wellington
The Duke of Wellington
#13 of 38 in Minehead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Inn

Property: The Quay Inn
Address: Quay Street, Minehead TA24 5UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Quay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a management team with over 30 years experience in hospitality management, an award winning Head Chef and attractive location The Quay Inn is the perfect place for friends, couples and families alike. We are a short walk from the West Somerset Railway and North Hill walking route, and only a short drive from a variety of popular activities. Our attractive, comfortable rooms come equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, and all have sea views. We offer breakfast, lunch and evening meals, and our attractive beer gardens and beach front situation make The Quay Inn an ideal place for your visit to Minehed and Exmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing