We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable stay”
Review of Gascony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gascony Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I had a four nights at the Gascony in September and as usual never had a problem, I have stayed here several times over the years and have always found the owners & staff to be very friendly and helpful and look forward to going back there soon

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and support. It is always a pleasure to see you. We hope you have a wonderful rest of the Year and look forward to seeing you soon!
Many thanks again,
from Derek, Angela and all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Gascony Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Room was full of clutter, very cold, shower not working, no hot water, breakfast not worth getting up for. Meals were very over priced for small portions and unenjoyable. I wouldn't stay here again and don't recommend anyone stays here. Gfg

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cazbeck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Stayed in August and the room was very cold!? I don't think so! Not this year. This review has been posted or instigated by guests whom we charged an extra 2 nights for smoking in the bedroom, and is totally false. These guests never made it for breakfast and never ate at the hotel. I would like to put what I really feel about this but Trip Advisor would not print it. P.S. GFG stands for Good F******* Game, which these people are attempting to play.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Gascony for three nights in September. We were very disappointed with the hotel. We did receive a warm welcome but our rooms were a disappointment - very dated with flowery wallpaper and past it's sell by date MFI type furniture. We were just B&B and after a mediocre breakfast we were very glad we did not have to look forward to an evening meal with them. During our stay the staff were friendly and helpful. There were notices up about a refurbishment in November but I'm afraid we will not be returning to see the changes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I agree that the rooms you and your friends stayed in are dated, but these will be upgraded in November. However, our rooms are bright, airy, clean and well maintained. We are human, and do occasionally miss things, but on the whole they are good.
As for the breakfast being mediocre, with over 40 fresh, packaged and dried foods on the buffet, plus the menu choice of porridge, cheese, ham, bacon, sausage, tomato, beans, mushrooms and eggs (scrambled, fried, boiled and poached) tea, coffee, fruit infusions, juice and toast. We also provided vegetable sausages as I understand that one of your party is vegetarian. We have made other vegetarian dishes in the past with prior notice (stuffed mushrooms, potato cakes etc.)
For a 2 star hotel, charging 2 star prices, I would have thought this was more than adequate. As do previous reviewers.
Finally, I think it is wrong for you to comment on our "Evening meals" when you didn't try them. I myself have been the Lunch and Dinner Chef this year, producing thousands of freshly cooked homemade dishes (the only dish we buy in is breaded Scampi) with very few problems and a lot of praise as all the previous reviews have shown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I took a chance and booked a group to stay in the Gascony for a week. It was exactly what we wanted. Run by delightful people - very friendly and helpful. All the staff really looked after us. Good food and a pleasant bar area to sit in after the meal. Great location - on Minehead main street and close to the seafront, station and bus stops so we could explore the Exmoor area from there. And great value. I would recommend this hotel for groups wanting to walk in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel food ,staff and service were second to none. Drinks on the patio in the evening sun was heaven. The hanging baskets and planters brought a splash of colour and scent to our evening.i would recommend this hotel to couples and families alike.

Room Tip: All the rooms were clean and tidy .
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have been visiting this hotel almost every year for the last 10 years, and my OH's family for more like 25!! We would not consider staying anywhere else in Minehead. You get phenomenal service, good food and a very warm welcome - a real home from home. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spotless, with plenty of storage space.

OK some of the decor is a little dated - but I consider the atmosphere, the service, the cleanliness and the food far more important aspects of a stay. After all who sits in a hotel room looking at the wallpaper all day when on holiday?

I can only give this hotel a rating of 5 - I wish I could give it more. We will continue visiting this hotel, until the current owners decide to call it a day!

Thanks for another great stay & hope to see you all again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuppence1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great central position to Minehead right between seafront and town.My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Gascony the rooms were very clean and there was coffee and tea making facilities in the room which was most welcome. The staff were friendly without being intrusive and the breakfast were good. Would recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 37 in Minehead
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#2 of 37 in Minehead
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gascony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gascony Hotel

Address: The Avenue, Minehead TA24 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range: £83 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gascony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
family run 20 bedroom hotel 1 minutes walk from seafront and West Somerset Railway, Large secured private car park Restaurant and Lounge open for breakfast lunch and dinner.disabled access refurbished rooms for 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Gascony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing