We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Gascony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gascony Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and i stayed at the Gascony, we found the hotel to have very good staff that will go out of there way to please all who stay in the very comfortable and clean rooms.
The Hotel has ample private parking in a secure car park which is rare in Minehead.
My next door neighbours stay at the Gascony every year now.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.ps your neighbour is not alone we have dozens and dozens of people who holiday with us every year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    45
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
44
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
herefordshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We traveled to mine head by train, got off and walked up the street,this was the first hotel we came too, but you just know by the outside that standards will be high. We had a fantastic Sunday lunch, yummy pudding at excellent value. The lady in charge is fantastic, nothing too much trouble and no screaming children, bliss.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hrftravler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely revew we hope you will visit us again when next in Minehead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned after a wonderful relaxing weekend at this lovely and very well run hotel. The lounge and bar area were bright and clean, and the room we had on the top floor was bright, spacious and spotlessly clean. With...at last...a very comfy bed. The food was beautifully cooked, really fresh and tasty and the breakfast set us for the day for sure. We will certainly be returning to The Gascony. We could park up and walk the short walk to the WSR station, and at the end of the day, look forward to a lovely hot meal and a pint or three.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review it was indeed a great weekend with the sun shining as a bonus we are very pleased you enjoyed everything so much.for us it was great to see the hotel full to the rafters again after the rewiring and refurbishment work hope to see you in the autumn for the gala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I organised a party of 38 for Christmas Lunch and I can say unequivocally that this was the best Christmas Lunch for value that I have experienced and I have organised these lunches for 4 years at different venues. The food was excellent with good choice from the menu and served hot. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the dining room was beautifully decorated. WE shall be coming again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Royston W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Royston W.Thank you for your review and kind comments your group were good fun to host and we are very pleased that everyone enjoyed themselves so much.Our refurbishment of our bedrooms is continuing apace and we should be open again by mid March,hope to see you then
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Thanks to all the hardworking, professional and cheerful staff who made our short stay so enjoyable.

I don't know which hotel the one star reviewers were staying at, but I reckon the Gascony is a great value hotel.

We will definitely recommend you to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beelzebub666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Beezlebub,A belated thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us in october.Our staff are our best assets and we all work very hard to make everyones stay as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I had a four nights at the Gascony in September and as usual never had a problem, I have stayed here several times over the years and have always found the owners & staff to be very friendly and helpful and look forward to going back there soon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and support. It is always a pleasure to see you. We hope you have a wonderful rest of the Year and look forward to seeing you soon!
Many thanks again,
from Derek, Angela and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Room was full of clutter, very cold, shower not working, no hot water, breakfast not worth getting up for. Meals were very over priced for small portions and unenjoyable. I wouldn't stay here again and don't recommend anyone stays here. Gfg

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cazbeck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Stayed in August and the room was very cold!? I don't think so! Not this year. This review has been posted or instigated by guests whom we charged an extra 2 nights for smoking in the bedroom, and is totally false. These guests never made it for breakfast and never ate at the hotel. I would like to put what I really feel about this but Trip Advisor would not print it. P.S. GFG stands for Good F******* Game, which these people are attempting to play.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#7 of 37 in Minehead
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gascony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gascony Hotel

Property: Gascony Hotel
Address: The Avenue, Minehead TA24 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gascony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
family run 20 bedroom hotel 1 minutes walk from seafront and West Somerset Railway, Large secured private car park Restaurant and Lounge open for breakfast lunch and dinner.disabled access refurbished rooms for 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gascony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing