We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANKS FOR A LOVELY STAY!”
Review of Gascony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gascony Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed for 2 night at the Gascony Hotel on The Avenue in Minehead, Somerset. Due to work commitments,we couldn't get there until the early hours of the morning 27-28/7/14 and the owner went out of his way to be there or leave a key so we could get in. When we arrived he made us very welcome, even though he must have been very tired himself!

The hotel has recently been refurbished and everything is very clean EVERYWHERE! The décor is rather colourful and jazzy with many patterned wallpapers and borders, curtains, carpets etc. ......not to everyone's taste but actually quite quirky and interesting! It should last for years as it's all been very professionally applied!

We stayed in room 17 which was quite spacious and had a nice bathroom .... a bit more storage space in the bathroom would have been good .....maybe a wall cabinet or something?? It was spotlessly clean. The only down side of this particular room was the noise level from a nearby bar or club ......people were singing and shouting until about 3.00am. Not the fault of the hotel, of course but if you don't like noise, it may be a good idea to stay on the other side of the hotel.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and a nice hot full English breakfast if you wanted it. WE DID!! We had one evening meal which was REALLY EXCELLENT ........ lovely FRESH food and not too expensive.
The staff were very helpful and friendly ..... one girl .......Lauren, I think her name was was always smiling and went out of her way to help. She looked up a local telephone number for us and seemed to work in many places....reception, dining room etc..... a very pleasant and polite member of staff. :)

We enjoyed our stay .... the hotel is in a very convenient place too .........close to all the shops, bars, railway station, buses and seafront.

We will certainly be going back ...............THANK YOU !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in a family room, 2 singles and a double. nicely decorated room, relatively recently refurbished, comfortable beds, heaps of storage, good sized bathroom. Theyvwery friendly people, and very helpful. we got there a few hours early and scoped the place out so we would know where to come later, allowed us to book in early as the room was ready and allowed us o leave the car parked for the remainder of the day after we booked out. Good hearty breakfast too, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review we are pleased that you enjoyed your family outing to minehead so much and that we were able to contribute with what we do,hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and i stayed at the Gascony, we found the hotel to have very good staff that will go out of there way to please all who stay in the very comfortable and clean rooms.
The Hotel has ample private parking in a secure car park which is rare in Minehead.
My next door neighbours stay at the Gascony every year now.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.ps your neighbour is not alone we have dozens and dozens of people who holiday with us every year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We traveled to mine head by train, got off and walked up the street,this was the first hotel we came too, but you just know by the outside that standards will be high. We had a fantastic Sunday lunch, yummy pudding at excellent value. The lady in charge is fantastic, nothing too much trouble and no screaming children, bliss.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hrftravler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely revew we hope you will visit us again when next in Minehead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned after a wonderful relaxing weekend at this lovely and very well run hotel. The lounge and bar area were bright and clean, and the room we had on the top floor was bright, spacious and spotlessly clean. With...at last...a very comfy bed. The food was beautifully cooked, really fresh and tasty and the breakfast set us for the day for sure. We will certainly be returning to The Gascony. We could park up and walk the short walk to the WSR station, and at the end of the day, look forward to a lovely hot meal and a pint or three.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review it was indeed a great weekend with the sun shining as a bonus we are very pleased you enjoyed everything so much.for us it was great to see the hotel full to the rafters again after the rewiring and refurbishment work hope to see you in the autumn for the gala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I organised a party of 38 for Christmas Lunch and I can say unequivocally that this was the best Christmas Lunch for value that I have experienced and I have organised these lunches for 4 years at different venues. The food was excellent with good choice from the menu and served hot. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the dining room was beautifully decorated. WE shall be coming again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Royston W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Royston W.Thank you for your review and kind comments your group were good fun to host and we are very pleased that everyone enjoyed themselves so much.Our refurbishment of our bedrooms is continuing apace and we should be open again by mid March,hope to see you then

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Thanks to all the hardworking, professional and cheerful staff who made our short stay so enjoyable.

I don't know which hotel the one star reviewers were staying at, but I reckon the Gascony is a great value hotel.

We will definitely recommend you to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beelzebub666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Beezlebub,A belated thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us in october.Our staff are our best assets and we all work very hard to make everyones stay as enjoyable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Quay Inn
The Quay Inn
#11 of 36 in Minehead
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 36 in Minehead
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Aground
The Old Ship Aground
#3 of 36 in Minehead
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gascony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gascony Hotel

Address: The Avenue, Minehead TA24 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range: £64 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gascony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
family run 20 bedroom hotel 1 minutes walk from seafront and West Somerset Railway, Large secured private car park Restaurant and Lounge open for breakfast lunch and dinner.disabled access refurbished rooms for 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Gascony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing