We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Away”
Review of Old Ship Aground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Ship Aground
Ranked #3 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Away”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had a really good weekend staying at the old ship aground. Staff were really friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble. Room was clean and comfortable and the shower excellent. Ate in the bar at night and the food was very good, better than "pub grub" that we expected. Overall a very pleasurable stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Here at The Old Ship Aground the team is dedicated to offering friendly and great hospitality and the great comments from customers like yourself reflecting this, brighten our day! Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    69
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
112
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Not easy to find a spacious single room at a keen price these days. Great location on the sea front, friendly service, and excellent beer and food in the pub. Being able to park free for the whole weekend was a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian A, Manager at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks for such positive feedback and hope to welcome you again, we have 2 single rooms that are both reasonably priced for the independent traveller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We visited today at the conclusion of a walk up North Hill. Great to see the pub reopened and fully refurbished! It is quite amazing what the new landlord has achieved; and, it still retains its old character as an Edwardian Inn. The function room now looks more a part of the pub, rather than an afterthought tacked on, as before. Talking to one of the many friendly staff, the 12 bedrooms have all been refurbished, too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnhenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your trip to Minehead and that you found your visit to The Old Ship Aground so positive. We are progressing nicely with lots of ideas which we will continue to develop and rest assured the pub will maintain its friendly hospitality and traditional pub charm. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in September in a great room overlooking the harbour. Very friendly welcome, loverly food, with some really interesting dishes on the menu. Could do with a couple of comfy/ arm chairs in the room to make the most if the view instead of the dinning type chairs.

Really enjoyed the stay and will definitely stay here when I am next in minehead.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kitran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks for your kind comments, we are looking to get even better all the time and welcome your feedback about the chairs. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Had not been to this pub for some time although we live locally. Pleased to see the vast improvement Jason and Rachel have made to this lovely pub set on the picturesque harbour at Minehead. We ate in the Restaurant and my husband had a very tasty mutton stew with dumplings which took him back to his grandmothers cooking while I had the vegetable stew which was a good choice for a vegetarian. Afterwards the profiteroles were home made and the best my husband had ever tasted. 3 real ales were available on hand pump and the beer was very well kept. Exceptional scenery looking across to Wales or the Quantocks

Room Tip: We did not stay here only visited for a meal as we live locally
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Great comments, thank you so much. We have shared your review with all the team here who were all delighted and we share your love of the mutton stew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The revival of this venerable pub/hotel is in progress. The pub itself has been cleaned up to be quite attractive (the green tiles behind the bar are quite nice actually), the quality of the food rises to well above a mainstream pub, and the rooms upstairs are being transformed to the quality of a 4/5 star hotel.

It takes time, effort, and money to make this transformation happen, and it has already made Old Ship Aground an excellent choice for an eveing meal. Try the smoked pigeon salad or the remarkable "Rachael's Apple Pie" for a delight.

Room Tip: The hotel is right on the harbor. On the evening we were there the place was really quiet. Nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The tiles have certainly caused much debate, we agree and quite like them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stopped for a business lunch with a colleague. The atmostphere is great, warm and friendly. The food is fabulous. I had the Chicken wrapped in bacon with stilton sauce for a very reasonable £12.00 my colleague had the fish and chips and both meals were really well presented and tasted yummy.
We were so impressed with our mains we ordered desserts, we had home made profiteroles and again they were delicious.

What the new people have achieved in such a short time here is amazing.

Go visit if in Minehead you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arkley67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
So pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and thanks for the great comments. Hope that we get to welcome you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#1 of 37 in Minehead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ship Aground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ship Aground

Property: Old Ship Aground
Address: Quay Street | Quay Street, Minehead TA24 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Ship Aground 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Harbourside Pub Inn & Hotel. A landmark building with its history of hospitality going back over 100 years. Our atmospheric restaurant and pub food experience will be very much 'River Cottage' style with Seafood, Fresh Fish, Local Farm Produce, Seasonal ingredients, Carvery, Kids Menu Not forgetting Celiac gluten free, dairy free lots of choice. If we cannot grow it or raise it on our farm, you can be sure it is locally sourced and the very best of quality. From home smoked bacon to our own baked breads you won't go hungry. Alfresco eating with beautiful scenic views. Great Beers & Wines. Cosy in winter with a real fire. Completely refurbished during the summer of 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Old Ship Aground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing