We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding by the sea”

Andrews on the Weir
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Andrews on the Weir
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Minehead
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wedding by the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2007

We have just come back from a weekend stay at Andrew's, where friends of ours held their wedding reception. The staff at the hotel were lovely, extremely efficient and friendly. This was their first wedding so they were almost as nervous as the bride and groom.

Food was great - especially the breakfasts as others have said. I was particularly impressed as the only veggie in the group, a special meal had been prepared for me. You can't ask for more than this. The wedding meal was also impressive and included lobster and beef, all locally sourced and of high quality.

Our room had a great view across the harbour, was comfortable and clean. The bed had sheets and blankets - very traditional! Not too much to say on the downside other than the towels could do with replacing, the remote control batteries were dead and the loo didn't flush too well!

We would certainly recommend a stay at Andrew's if mainly for the exceptional countryside roundabout. There's a good local pub too. We thought that the hotel coped extremely well with their first wedding and hope their success continues.

  • Liked — Extremely friendly service - ideal location for our friends wedding
  • Disliked — Dead batteries in the remote control!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Estherc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    8
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2006

Great location with sea views if you pick the right bedroom. DO not stay in Dunster which suffers continual noise from kitchens, washing machines and fridges. We were forced to have the windows closed or we could get no sleep. The view was of a brick wall and the kitchen yard. Not at all what we had expected.

To add to this the room was tired, bedspread had holes and room only had one bedside light. Shower room was adequate but no lighting over the basin.

They tried very hard with the food but 'that certain something' was missing, together with any vegetables that we had to purchase at extra cost.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Darkness
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask exact details of the room.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JERIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
140 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2006

Great location, with sea views, and a good choice in an area with little quality accommodation.

Generally good but not great food. Breakfast especially good. Restaurant clientele seemed to be dominated by local retirees.

Bedroom had great view, & reasonably furnished. However, poor quality bathroom with noisy macerator (pump), no light over sink etc, and very poor condition bath linen. Not what you expect for the price charged.

Overall, a good place to stay, but certainly not as good as it thinks it is.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gmbklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
130 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2005

Needed to stay in the Porlock Weir, Devon area for one night in October, 2005. Very pleasant B&B for want of a better description. We wanted to stay here for the food and were not disappointed overall. I had an excellent pigeon breast and beet salad, followed by a Dover Sole that was cooked simply and served with good basic veg. My husband had a lovely mullet and scallop starter, but was disappointed in the whole Lobster Thermidor he had ordered. There was a hefty supplement for this (fair enough), but the cheese was too strong and the meat somewhat overcooked. Not really bad, but we have cooked lobster at home with greater success.

Having been rather severe, this is definitely a good place to stay and eat. Breakfast was great....it is a real pleasure to have lovely runny poached eggs served with mushrooms and kidneys. And if that doesn't appeal to you, there will be something that is absolutely bang on.

Great to find a good place to eat and stay in a very much out of the way corner of the UK. We will go again.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank marleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
6.1 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
6.0 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews on the Weir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews on the Weir

Property: Andrews on the Weir
Address: Porlock Weir, Minehead TA24 8PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Andrews On The Weir Hotel Minehead
Andrews On The Weir Minehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing