We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”
Review of Northfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Northfield Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have stayed at the Northfield Hotel a couple of times in the past but were very dissapointed this time. At breakfast the waiters were not very friendly gave us the impression they were just there to do a job. Also at breakfast we had to make our own toast this I thought was very poor considering the price of our halfboard package. The menue for the evening meal was poor compared with our previous visits. We learnt that the hotel was under new managment and this may explain why we feel the standards have dropped. Though the Hotel is just as comfortable and clean but we did not find it as friendly as it was on our previous visits. But if you like residential home food and ambiance this is a perfect place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room No4 nice room but has a very small bathroom shower only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, Owner at Northfield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review obviously we were disappointed to read it, there is no excuse for our waiters attitude it could only be as you point out we have just introduced a new toast self-service this week and at times it has been a bit stressful with guest's burning toast and trying to squeeze croissants onto the toaster, these seem to have been resolved and most guest's seem to appreciate being able to have there toast when they like it and the additional offering of croissants and muffins which were not offered before, we are happy to serve guest's toast if they are unable to or do not want to (you mentioned at reception that you serve yourselves at a BW plus hotel and it is because you were not expecting to do so at The Northfield was the shock)
As to price I do not believe for a spacious room with lovely garden views as well as along the coastline, Dinner, bed and breakfast plus afternoon tea at £140 for 2 people per night we are not over priced.
Our chef's are the same as have been here for the past 20 years so the food should not have altered in quality the only possible conclusion is that our second chef has been off sick for 2 weeks but that should not impact our guest's, menu wise hope-fully you just choose dishes that did not suit you last night it was roast duck, rump steak lemon sole or braised lamb not retirement home menu items! All the front of house teams are the same so I cannot understand why their friendliness has faltered.
Most of our reviews do stand up to us improving the Northfield we have lost a few people who do not like change but have gained more so hopefully you will give us another chance in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    36
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
58
102
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I recently returned to the Northfield for the fourth time, and was not disappointed.
I am amazed by some of the poor reviews; those guests must either be very fussy or very unlucky.
The only thing I would slightly agree with is that when I checked in one receptionist did appear a bit 'frosty', and I did not have the offer of help with my luggage, as I have on previous occasions. But this did not concern me unduly. All other staff were very friendly, and helpful, especially the lady who found me a fan for my room when I found the nights rather warm! and the one who remembered I liked a Tia Maria and ice later in the evening!! Like being 'home from home!'
As usual the range of food was excellant and nicely cooked and presented,at both breakfast and dinner. Service was good.
I found the lounges comfortable and pleasant; those guests who found it 'old fashioned' most probably prefer the type of furniture one finds in Ikea, so if this is your preference, the Northfield is not for you! The hotel is in an ideal position for walking in Minehead and exploring the surrounding area, and so close to the exquisite moors (up North hill)
I will certainly be returning. For me, a near-perfect hotel in a wonderful area.

Room Tip: Having only experience of the two single rooms I cannot comment. Both are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinemetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lympstone
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Returned to the northfield for a 3 night break , we visited 10 years ago and to be honest we thought we had stepped back in time as we were welcomed as before with friendly staff, clean large room and good food . As an extra treat we were able to take our little dog into a smaller room whilst we ate which was better than leaving her in a strange room on her own. well done all at the northfield we won't leave it for so long next time we stay with you.

Room Tip: we had room 30 which was a delux but well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed for three nights with my mum dad and auntie last week. I don't normally do reviews but as i always use trip advisor felt for this hotel I should let everyone know how good it is. Hotel in perfect location only a five minute walk through lovely gardens to town and also has sea views. Rooms were lovely and they had just had a delivery of some beautiful new furniture- what comfy big leather chairs! The food at hotel was excellent- we had a four course meal every night and there was a fab varied choice every night. Breakfast also great- just felt so full everyday because I couldn't not eat it! However I went to the lovely pool abs jacuzzi every day too to work it off. The staff were really so lovely abs helpful- my dad wanted something off of the menu that he had the previous night as loved it so much and they dove it for him no problem. All in all a great hotel :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariethepea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We are a young"ish" couple with a 1 year old baby who have just returned from a WONDERFUL unplanned weekend break at the Northfield Hotel. First impressions count, and this always begins with the hotel receptionist. The Receptionist who checked us in, was the most efficient, professional, helpful and friendly receptionist we have dealt with (and we have stayed at a lot of hotels). Nothing was too much trouble, and she immediately set the scene for a lovely stay ahead. Our room was spotlessly CLEAN. The room EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS, with a wonderful sea view, a very large bed, lots of room to move around and great facilities. The hotel swimming pool and jacuzzi was great fun, and our 1 year old daughter had a super time splashing around after being cooped up in the car for hours. We usually dine out when visiting a new town, but decided to eat in on this occasion, as the menu looked nice and we thought it would be easier with our baby. We were given a lovely table in the Sun Lounge, with fabulous sea views, and away from the main dining room, which was excellent - as It meant, we could enjoy our meal, without worrying that our baby was going to make a noise and disturb the other diners. This really was a god send for us...and made what can be a stressful experience, a very pleasant one! The presentation of the table was excellent, with lovely clean, pressed table cloths, polished cutlery and fresh flowers. The meal was excellent, with great choice of dishes, and nice portion sizes for all 4 courses!!! The staff were attentive, friendly and highly trained. We were so impressed with the hotel, that we decided to stay for another night!!!!! The hotel oozes charm, tradition and has a wonderful hint of nostalgia - which is so sadly lacking in most hotels today. If you have very high standards of cleanliness and an eye for tradition and detail, then this hotel is for you. A wonderful end to a fantastic family holiday to the South West of of England..... If we are ever back in the area, then we will definitely be back. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK NORTHFIELD - please dont change - you are doing everything right !!

Room Tip: Room 24 was lovely - but I am sure the others are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V3Fee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, Owner at Northfield Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review, hopefully we will be welcoming you back to the Northfield in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed for ones night in August 2013. Was very surprised at some of the reviews. Found the staff extremely helpful and friendly, nice cosy atmosphere in the bar with a mixture of age groups. The room was excellent and lovely and clean. Would definitely recommend and would stay again. The only gripe was the previous nights bottles being thrown into the bottle bank at 7.30am on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, Owner at Northfield Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank-you so much for restoring my faith in what we are doing, glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

stayed for 2 nights b&b in a deluxe room which was not deluxe, it was small and not in a nice position..The lounge areas were very old fashioned and felt uninviting (I am not ready for residential home yet).the staff were good and polite We will not stay again as there are better B&B in minehead.

Room Tip: the room we had was no33.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, Owner at Northfield Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us the only plus side is that you praised the staff
Am very disappointed that room 33 did not come up to your standards when it has a new £1000 6ft bed Laura Ashley furniture and a couple of easy chairs, it is by no means small and has an outlook along the coastline and towards the Quantocks it is one of my favourite rooms.
Comparing us to a B&B is very difficult pricewise as they do not pay 20%VAT to start with and do not have the facilities of an indoor pool, restaurant and 2 acres of landscaped gardens
A lot of our clientele are more mature but that is changing hence we are making a great deal of changes but gradually.
So hopefully you will continue to enjoy Minehead and will be able to book into The Parks.
Reading our guest book is like reading different reviews from a different planet!
thankfully a lot of guest's get the Northfield and what it is about and what a great team we have here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
225 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#2 of 37 in Minehead
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northfield Hotel

Property: Northfield Hotel
Address: Northfield Road, Minehead TA24 5PU, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Northfield Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Northfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minehead's Premier Hotel Accomodation for rest and relaxation. Located in the heart of Exmoor's National Park Minehead offers a delightful harbour setting with sweeping sandy beaches and the rugged Quantock Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Northfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Minehead
Minehead Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing