We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wisteria Cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dragon House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dragon House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Minehead
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wisteria Cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Arrived for a long weekend to be shown this rather cute little cottage in the courtyard of the Dragon House Hotel and Restaurant (easy to find on the A39). Great for self catering with a kitchen that had everything you needed but we still opted to dine in the restaurant that evening. Our food was lovely, scallops cooked to perfection, my partners sauce...divine...I wouldn't hesitate to eat there again. Cottage was clean and had this lovely olde worlde charm. There was just the two of us this time but I wouldn't hesitate to share with another couple to make this an absolute bargain for a long weekend.
Nearby Dunster and it's castle is well worth a visit. Fancy a curry while you're there? Alcombe Tandoori, a short drive away fitted the bill.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VetBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    34
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
65
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England
Level Contributor
185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

A bit better than the 3 stars I gave it but not quite 4 stars !

The place is really old (1700 and something) It's an authentic old coach house; I half expected to see Dick Turpin in the bar and a ghost on the landing (but there wasn't either) There isn't a straight wall or level floor in the place - it's really charactersome. Some of the doors don't fit right because the building has warped so much over the centuries and the walls are 2 feet thick. If you stay here you are experiencing history - the genuine thing; so forget the minimalism of a modern hotel; this is real ! American visitors should give this a try; this place is much older than your country and you'll love the place.

Just let down (by half a star) on a few details: The carpets in the foyer and stairs were a bit dirty (well used) and there's paint flaking from some of the old iron radiators in the room but the room was otherwise clean, in good order and HUGE ! The room was a bit too dark for me personally (deep red décor) but I understand the rooms are all different. We couldn’t get a mobile phone signal on the Vodafone network and as we were on business it was a little inconvenient; it was OK in the car park. The ensuite was nice and the power shower worked when we figured out that you have to turn on the electric at a switch near the door. There wasn’t a plug socket anywhere near a mirror which made drying hair difficult.

Breakfast was pretty good with some local sausage, bacon and eggs from the on-site hens. Breakfast cereals and fruit juice, toast and jams with a lovely pot of tea made it a good way to start the day. The dining room is really chic, the people friendly and very helpful too.

The sun was shining and it was most pleasant. Out front is a charming green with a little duck pond. Out the back are a huge garden and a lovely balcony overlooking it.

I’d stay here again !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Didn't stay in the hotel, but wanted to write a review for the restaurant as it was so good!
Superb selection of dishes, incl veggie & fish.
Lovely desserts too.
Cosy dining room & personal service.
Well worth a visit if you're going to Exmoor or Minehead.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharpkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

WE originally wanted to stay at another hotel, but it turned out to be fully booked. This one was suggested by Late Rooms as an alternative and was even £16 cheaper!
On arrival we were greeted by the owner? who pointed us at our room and suggested we book for dinner as they were likely to be busy. We opted to eat elsewhere and found a super Indian in Alcombe (Alcombe Tandoori).
The room was located in a badly lit hallway. On opening the door the room was very impressive, very large and well furnished with lots of drawers and hanging space (no don't steal me hangers). Unfortunately though as I had requested a quiet room this one looked out over the busy A39. I must say that despite this, I had a good nights sleep.
The bathroom featured a roll top bath which I just had to try our...lovely. Less pleasant was the towel rack that fell off the wall when I placed a towel on it, I'd wondered why they were in the window sill! In addition the TV did not work. I would have reported it if we'd stayed for more than the one night.
Breakfast was as expected but my man would have liked more than one of each item in the full English.

Room Tip: We were in room 5...huge, but right next to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

When we want a treat we can be sure to get a treat at this lovely friendly hotel / restaurant . Amazing food and hospitality . Well worth the money .And never fails to impress. EXCELLENT !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Certainly a place for dog lovers! I'm sorry but either our standards are too high or earlier reviews are from people with low standards. This 'hotel' is dirty, dark, poorly maintained, badly serviced and generally run down. Creaky floors and beds. We stayed 3 nights and to be honest had we not paid in advance I would not have stayed. Drinks are expensive the bar lacks character and single waitress just couldnt cope. NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank birminghamB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDragonHouse, Owner at Dragon House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your review and we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.

I can only say that i was a little unsure how to respond.

We have 1 room that we reserve for guests wishing to bring a dog, as well as our dog-friendly holiday cottage, but as you didn't stay in either, I don't really understand the reference.

All rooms at the Hotel have been refurbished/decorated over the past 5 years and your room has (within the last 4 weeks) had a new bathroom with roll-top bath, rainfall shower and travertine tiling on floor and walls.

I can't comment on individual guests' standards or expectations but can only say that 99.9% of guests leave us with positive feedback. Of course, i'm well aware that it is impossible to 'please all of the people, all of the time' and Tripadvisor is a great way for the minority to skew perceptions of potential guests.

I'd just ask that potential guests read some of the other reviews and perhaps check out alternative reviews on:
Laterooms - total Hotel score: 93%, cleanliness 5/6, quality 5/6
Booking.com - rating 87%, cleanliness 92%

Oh, and I must plead guilty to having the odd squeaky floorboard - the Hotel is over 300 years old!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed in the 'Wisteria Cottage' for 3 nights. It was relaxing with home comforts, but with the luxury of the restaurant!!! The food was excellent!!. Hal (the dog) also enjoyed the break. Close to a dog friendly beach (by car) and on the door step of Exmoor.
We were greeted with a friendly welcome which never wiltered during the stay!
We enjoyed it so much, we have booked again for later this year. All three of us cannot wait.

Stephen, Nicola and Hal - Hartshorne Derbyshire

Room Tip: We recommend the Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon House Hotel

Property: Dragon House Hotel
Address: Bilbrook, Minehead TA24 6HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dragon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dragon House Hotel is a beautiful Country House Hotel located on the edge of Exmoor, an area of designated natural beauty. Here you will find a unique combination of exceptional fine dining and superb customer service. The Dragon House is situated on the outskirts of the quaint market town of Dunster and is a short drive to the coastal resorts of Porlock, Lynton and Lynmouth. Whether you wish to explore Exmoor or simply relax in peaceful surroundings, The Dragon House Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Minehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing