We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great character and food and location”
Review of Dragon House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dragon House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
UK
Level Contributor
219 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great character and food and location”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

If you need a hotel with country character that serves great food then this is the one. I visit for a weekend every May (local event) and have done now for 5 years. Never disappointed with the food,evening meals are great, wine good AND affordable and the cooked breakfasts wonderful. The building is old so expect wonky floors and a bit of suspect plumbing but does not matter at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uktraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    34
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
65
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Found this as a late availability break on eBay, and secured for what we thought was a good price - around £40 per night for all 4 of us. Cheaper than a budget hotel... and much more room!

Property is self-contained / self-catered and furnished in an 'olde worlde' style, located off a small courtyard to the rear of the main hotel. Features a decent modern kitchenette (addition of a dishwasher would be welcome), some comfy leather sofas in compact lounge and was all very clean upon arrival, with nice crisp bedding provided.

Beds were comfortable, and bedrooms decently sized. The large freestanding bath was a favourite feature - plenty of hot water available, albeit slow delivery... Not a problem, just finish breakfast whilst it tops up. :-)

Only slight downside was that the smaller of the two bedrooms was rather cold, since the night-time temperatures hovered around freezing during our stay, and one of the windows couldn't be completely closed. We resolved this by leaving the electric heaters provided on all night, so wasn't a problem - but, for the sake of a bit of fettling / lagging tape, it could easily be improved with 10 mins work.

In common with some previous reviews - yes, there is some MINOR traffic noise...No, it's really NOT a big deal.

All in all, great value for what we paid, and a lot more character than some identikit 'PremierLodge' hermetically sealed box.

Would consider returning, although preferably once a little warmer. (We realise the lounge is quite compact, however even a basic small Woodburner would make it even cosier.)

We didn't eat at or use the facilities of the Hotel itself, however it appeared well cared for, and staff were certainly welcoming / helpful on the brief occasions when we spoke to arrange checkout, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for Courtyard Room (or other at rear) for least traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aitch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just stayed Monday - Friday in Wisteria Cottage. We come here every year and are never disappointed. This is an old cottage with loads of character, very clean and well furnished. They are happy to allow my dog who is also welcome in the bar area in the Dragon House Hotel adjoining the cottage. We have always found the staff very welcoming and happy to accomodate any requests. Lovely terrace area to sit in the sun, garden for the dog. This cottage is superbly located to travel around Somerset, we ventured to Torquay and along the coast to Lynton. It is just outside Exmoor forest area which is very scenic to drive through. Most importantly there is a dog-friendly beach 5 minute drive away. A costal walk begins here which takes you though another beach and to Minehead beach. There is a steam train that runs from Minehead back to the beach which is lovely and saves walking back! We will definately be back again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaglepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We satyed there this weekend. we had a nice welcome even though we arrived quite late this wasnt a problem. The room was really nice very spacious and clean a lovelly bathroom and even a dressing room. The breakfast was nice and very tasty. Only niggle no beans!! we will deffinatly saty again. It was a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This small hotel is well situated for exploring the North Somerset coast. It is an old building set in its own grounds with ample parking. There is some road noise being on the A39, but I did not find this a problem at night.
The room I had (4) was spacious; double bed en-suite with a private lounge. The bed was clean and comfortable. The furniture suites the age of the property. In the hallway and landings there are 'exhibts' from bygone days of travel, trunks and suitcases etc.
The hotel has wi-fi in the public areas but in bedrooms it can be weak. There is a poor mobile (cellphone) reception in the area.
The buffet breakfast is amply supplied with juice cereals dried fruits etc and includes local preserves. There is a good offer of cooked items, most of which are sourced locally.
The bar is small but pleasant with an open coal fire on cold evenings. The bar itself is well stocked.
The restaurant menu is short but offers some great dishes with a comprehensive wine list. I ate both evenings, the first time I started with seared scallops followed by duckbrest and lemon posset - all well prepared, tasty and presented with style. The second dinner was battered mussels {fab !} followed by fillet of cod. All great meals.
Comments have been made about exiting the premises onto the public road. It only requires care and attention..
The hotel is right beside a bus stop with frequent services [hourly on Sundays]. It is on the route Minehead - Watchet - Bishop's Lydeard - Taunton. This makes it ideal for public transport users, and very useful for visitors to the close by West Somerset Railway preserved line.
And if you use an electric razor - ask at the desk for an adaptor.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away ffrom the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tankerton1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Just had a weekend at the Dragon Hotel and wished we hadn't bothered!!!!
The room was clean, but cold and the rest of the hotel was freezing as well. Harvey clearly not keen to add fuel to the fire, far from roaring, more like burnt out!
Had soup for starter but no where on the menu did it say that it would be so spicey that you wouldnt be able to eat it. Asked for steak to be cooked well done, but it was rare.
Staff really not friendly and could not even be bothered to ask guests if they were having a nice stay, and did not appear to have any knowledge on the local area as could not recommend any where to visit.
Not worth the money and would not go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Don't bother booking, if you really want to go to this part of the country there are much friendlier choices. The place could be lovely but the owner Harvey is the most unwelcoming person I have ever met, had dinner in the restaurant, ok, nothing to shout about and cooked how they wanted it not us. Sat in the bar for a cozy drink by the fire after dinner, freezing, just a couple of embers!! No way was the happy faced host going to put any more coal on! We ate out at the pun down the road the next evening, much better, ambience, good food, friendly faces!!! Certainly not what you get at dull, dreary, depressing dragon house. If they don't want guests who book via groupon then I would suggest they don't advertise on there. AWFUL.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettybigbuttocks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon House Hotel

Property: Dragon House Hotel
Address: Bilbrook, Minehead TA24 6HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dragon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dragon House Hotel is a beautiful Country House Hotel located on the edge of Exmoor, an area of designated natural beauty. Here you will find a unique combination of exceptional fine dining and superb customer service. The Dragon House is situated on the outskirts of the quaint market town of Dunster and is a short drive to the coastal resorts of Porlock, Lynton and Lynmouth. Whether you wish to explore Exmoor or simply relax in peaceful surroundings, The Dragon House Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Minehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing