We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable one night stay for Dunster by Candlelight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alcombe House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable one night stay for Dunster by Candlelight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel is really lovely and the owners Frank and Joe made us feel very welcome. On arrival we were offered a cup of tea which was very nice and then we were shown to our room. There were chocolates awaiting us, a Christmas gift and card which were lovely little touches. Because it was the Dunster by Candlelight weekend they had placed candles all around the hotel and had two outside the main door to carry on with the theme. There was also the offer of mince pies and hot drinks when we came back from our night out which we gratefully accepted. Frank was very attentive and friendly and Joe kindly drove us into Dunster on the evening. The bedroom was very comfortable and we both slept well. The breakfast was good and the whole stay was really enjoyable. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would come back in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I was recommended to this hotel for my four night stay.
It is run by the owners whose meticulous personal touch can be seen throughout the hotel. Visiting in November the room was pleasantly warm and comfortable and had a great en-suite. This hotel is different to the glitzy and formal hotels and suited me well. The breakfast, that is included, was great with a large number of choices. Price was very reasonable too for the comfort offered.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Spent two nights here over the weekend. We had a great welcome from Frank who showed us a lovely room. However, it was very cold as there was no central heating. He put on a heater in the room and it was warmer when we returned a couple of hours later but in this day and age we expected more modern conveniences. The sitting and dining rooms were frigid which rather spoilt the ambience and the meal. We quite enjoyed the first night's meal and the breakfast next morning though we were surprised that there was no fresh fruit nor flavoured yogurt and the coffee was very weak. However, the second night's meal-which was supposed to be freshly cooked - appeared to be a bought in prepared meal. Frank was most helpful but we did not like the sopping wet windows in our room and bathroom and the shower was feeble. There was lots of hot water and the linen was all nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at Alcombe House Hotel last week for 2 nights.
I have seen hotel in pictures before new owners - what a great changes they have made! The hotel looks amazing! Our room was good size, beds were really comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and what a view from room 5!
Each morning we had a delicious breakfast and long conversations with both owners.
If I will own a house some day, I will copy their garden. I spend some time outside admiring it.
We felt really welcomed and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We went with my elderly father for a 3 night break and it was perfect. Such a great lounge to relax in and have a quiet read and a drink.
The bedrooms are very spacious and comfortable very good bathrooms.
We slept so well we missed the alarm twice.
Breakfast was perfect just what we wanted it was lovely a great choice and excellent quality.
Each day Frank gave us our dinner menu choices for that evening and the choice was varied every day and the quality and taste of the food was amazing. Joe cooked such lovely fresh meals and we all enjoyed every morsel plenty of vegetable's tender meats and very lovely fish.
If you need special food due to health concerns they are happy to cater to your needs.
A relaxing friendly lovely place beautiful gardens. The new owners are busy to make this gem of a guest house even more special we will go back that is for sure.
They will even drive you to the station to catch the lovely Steam Train Bliss

Room Tip: The larger room on the top floor was lovely great views. We went on the first floor room 2 & 3 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for just one night but will go again. Lovely room, huge ensuite, tasteful decor and lovely views from both side windows. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast very good with attentive hosts. Would like to try dinner next time as menu looks good with home cooking.
There has been change of ownership but we were very happy with new owners.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We needed a stay for a night as we were checking into another hotel the next day, not many options as it was Bank holiday Sunday. We initially drive past this but returned and are glad we did (have to say it's a but pricey at £110 a night) but it was beautiful, bathroom Glorious and All the little touches to make you feel at home. Breakfast choice could've been a bit 'More' special for the price, but brilliant hosts and Divine Gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angicoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
1.0 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.3 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 38 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#1 of 38 in Minehead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcombe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcombe House Hotel

Property: Alcombe House Hotel
Address: Bircham Road | Alcombe, Minehead TA24 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcombe House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel of great charm ideally located for exploring Exmoor, Minehead and the medieval village of Dunster with its castle. AA four star highly commended for quality. All rooms en-suite, large car park, guest lounge and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alcombe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing