We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressed”

The Wheelhouse Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were in Minehead for a few days and decided to try this restaurant as it seems impressive from the outside and as it was our last night thought why not, being a Saturday i phoned to book a table.
We arrived to find the restaurant was only a third full, anything wrong here ? was my first thought.
We need not of worried, the atmosphere was very pleasant, the hosts very efficient and the food was excellent, i had chicken and my wife had steak with trimmings, all really enjoyed.
My wife chose cheesecake for pud again excellent, we later found this was hand made, a bottle of wine complimented our evening .
After finishing our meal we talked to the owners who even though had finished serving for the night where in no rush for us to leave.
This restaurant is without doubt worth a visit, try it !!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toblerone58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    61
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine place to dine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lovely find. Not in the mood for fish and chips or "pub grub" at the start of our holiday, we came across this grand little restaurant. Very good food served quickly and pleasantly and at a very reasonable cost.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Decided to go for dinner, didn't book, just walked in by chance. Was met by the owner who was very friendly. Charming warm atmosphere, buzzing with chatter from other tables. Our food arrived piping hot and beautifully served. It was delicious and we would thoroughly recommend. Owned by a great couple and their family. Fab building. Will be back. The Wards, Barnstaple.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank escortrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Booked the wheelhouse for a nice Xmas meal whilst in minehead for dunster by candlelight weekend. Very intimate restaurant, so makes it really cosy, deco lovely and staff very friendly. Would definately book again when we are in minehead.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dawn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marvellous Sunday Lunch for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

we visited this restaurant only yesterday, the food and welcome were excellent.

if you are in Minhead, ignore some of the larger pubs and try this place, you will not be disappointed.

service was quick, polite. All of the facitilies were clean and fragrant.

an Excellent example of a family run business in the south west.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freddy_gratts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheelhouse Restaurant also viewed

 
Minehead, Somerset
 

Been to The Wheelhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing