We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just by chance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheelhouse Restaurant

The Wheelhouse Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
newport
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just by chance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We went for a stroll down the high street and just by chance came across, This lovely restaurant there was four adults and two children and they were so helpful and welcoming we all had such tasty home cooked food. Shame we found this place on our last day otherwise we would of gone there every day! So good for your money 2!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank petmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    58
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Havant, Hants
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Wheelhouse, Minehead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Walked by one afternoon and had an excellent value cream tea. We asked to see the dinner menu; it caught our eye. After a discussion we booked a table for a few nights ahead.
The restaurant is big enough to hold approx. 40. It is clean and well presented. A family run business it offers a wide range of excellent value starters, mains and desserts; there is also a specials board which is seasonal and market available food. The wine list is short and to the point with all tastes catered for. The food was excellent, served timely and well presented. A very good evening was had by all in the party. The staff whilst busy made time to talk to all the customers and get a feel for their particular needs. I would go again and I thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wiggyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“When you please 18 ladies at one time you must be good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Have just received a phone call from my wife regarding the meal at lunchtime. It is our youngest daughters hen weekend and they had booked the Wheelhouse for the lunch for 18 ladies. Just had the report and every one of them said the food ,prices and service were great and the place is spotless.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank p_burtenshaw1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great value for money, great food and great staff. GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Ate lunch here today taking advantage of the £5 lunch offer. We both had the pasty, chips and beans and a couple of milkshakes. Our waitress was superb. Not good, not great just superb! It's very rare I feel the need to say a special thank you but the young lady was so pleasant, so helpful and so good at her job it does merit a comment. How was the food? Lovely. Yes it's only a pasty and chips but it was tasty, hot and served very promptly. The milkshakes were proper "old school" shakes in a proper glass. Really nice again.

The restaurant is a lovely design in an interesting building and had nice booths as well as more open tables. The full menu looked very inviting but we knew we had to try the pasty and were not disappointed.

At the end of the meal another lady came to take our payment (Sorry I don't know your name!) and she too was so pleasant and happy to chat. This was a totally pleasant experience and next time we are in Minehead you can expect us to visit. We last came here 8 years ago, it won't be another 8 before we are back.

You made our day ladies! Absolutely spot on.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NickKeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were in Minehead for a few days and decided to try this restaurant as it seems impressive from the outside and as it was our last night thought why not, being a Saturday i phoned to book a table.
We arrived to find the restaurant was only a third full, anything wrong here ? was my first thought.
We need not of worried, the atmosphere was very pleasant, the hosts very efficient and the food was excellent, i had chicken and my wife had steak with trimmings, all really enjoyed.
My wife chose cheesecake for pud again excellent, we later found this was hand made, a bottle of wine complimented our evening .
After finishing our meal we talked to the owners who even though had finished serving for the night where in no rush for us to leave.
This restaurant is without doubt worth a visit, try it !!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toblerone58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheelhouse Restaurant also viewed

 
Minehead, Somerset
 

Been to The Wheelhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing