We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed &Breakfast!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Stables Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 36 Minehead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here from 6th-8th December 2013. Beautifully clean,3 very large rooms beautifully decorated with everything you could need! Really good tea and coffee facilities,fresh milk in the fridge along with chocolates and cold drinks.we could have spent the whole weekend in the room!!!
Very reasonable rates including breakfast,which was freshly prepared with local produce.
Nina and Andy Dodd were were really good "mine hosts" friendly and welcoming.
They should be proud of what they have achieved.
The house was well situated in Minehead right next to Blenheim Gardens and a footfall to the sea with an easy walk to the railway station and shops.
We spent the evenings at the "Dunster by Candlelight" celebrations where we needed to catch a bus from the station and found the short walk there and home was a pleasure along the sea front.
Will certainly stay there again and would recommend it to anyone!!!!
Bob and Maggie Stokes

Room Tip: All 3 rooms were spotless and well decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Originally planned to stay in nearby Dunster, for the Dunster by Candlelight weekend, but there was not a room to be had. Thank goodness for that, because otherwise we would not have found this gem. Lovely clean spacious room and en-suite. Luxury at an affordable price. Warm and welcoming, Nina and Andy are great hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayneWoroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A visit to Minehead and an invitation to stay here, was part of my 60th birthday (in August) present. I could run out of superlatives to describe The Old Stables. Clean, comfortable, welcoming, definitely welcoming, warm, inviting, great breakfasts, great shower, and above all, great hosts. Nina and Andy epitomise great service. When you look at the 'Could you say a little more about it' below, some may say it lacks a 'Fitness Centre'. 'Piffle', say I. It's just around the corner from the start of the longest coastal path in Britain. Fill your boots. Or, at least get them on!! Top marks across the board. Definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stewieb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed for one night on Saturday......I loved the shoes off idea....fantastic! Spotlessly clean andbeautiful furnishings (Laua Ashley!), lovely big double room - all the mod con's. The extra touch of fresh milk for the fridge is also what I call excellent service. Breakfast was delicious and at good morning times...Do not hesitate to book you will not be dissapointed - I wish all UK B&B's followed this standard!

Room Tip: Ground floor double - excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Could not have asked for a better place to stay, so happy we choose this one. Stayed with a friend in the twin sea view room with separate bathroom. Andy and Nina have really created such a lovely environment in this cosy and comfortable B&B. Shoes off! What a great idea, very brave idea for a bed and breakfast accomodation but once you are in there, you appreciate why they have done that and it makes you feel so at home. I cannot understand why anyone would have a problem taking off their dirty shoes, whilst staying in this beautiful building. Andy & Nina, perfect hosts, great sense of humour. Excellent service, beautiful rooms, wonderful breakfast {thank you Andy....try the scrabbled eggs}. And as for the separate bathroom, not a problem at all, it was all beautiful with great attention to detail, and all for such great value. Would not book anywhere else if/when i go back to Minehead,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCP1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I stayed in a first floor double room for one night. The room was very large with a three seater settee, flat screen tv, tea and coffee facility. The whole place was lovely and clean.
You could not ask for a better B &B and all for £80.00 per night, fantastic. Thank you both very much.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stunning relaxing stay with a lovely big spacious double room - we didn't go out as we felt so relaxed !!. Lovely bedding and bed. Great breakfast and very friendly hosts. We paid £80 for one night and felt it was good value. Just seen the "old stables" on 3 in a bed and they scored well! Don't be put off if asked to take your shoes off - it makes sense!

Room Tip: we were in the old stable block on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raspberry40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 36 in Minehead
64 reviews
0 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Aground
The Old Ship Aground
#3 of 36 in Minehead
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregonwell House
Tregonwell House
#1 of 36 in Minehead
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Stables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Stables Bed and Breakfast

Address: Northfield Road, Minehead TA24 5QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range: £60 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large rooms - all decorated to high standards, flat screen TV/DVDs, minibars, goose down bedding, WIFI, modern shower amenities, quality breakfast. 1 minute walk to the sea, Exmoor National Park and Blenheim Gardens, 5 minute level walk to town centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing