We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”
Review of Butlins Minehead

Butlins Minehead
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Minehead
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Please only add your review here if you visited Butlins Minehead as a day visitor and didn't stay overnight. If your review is about a short break please add it to the listing entitled 'Butlins Minehead Resort'.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I originally booked for Bognor but Butlins changed it to a just for tots break as I work for one of the emergency services it was not possible to rearrange my holiday dates so opted for Minehead instead, and after complaining on their Facebook page I was given a £40 discount to cover fuel costs for the extra distance.

Before leaving another family member wanted to come with us for the 4 nights so had to change the booking, I ended up having to book a silver bungalow and was told these were closer to the Skyline.

The bungalow was lovely and clean and very roomy although kitchen area was only big enough for one at a time, but we were probably in the furthest property away from the Skyline which was very disappointing, there was lots of wildlife about, bunnies running around, ducks, the ever annoying seagulls and worst of all rats running around the bin area. Although overall the park is very clean and tidy you don't expect to see rats. The other issue with the accommodation is there seems to be a lack of security and can make things pretty miserable if you have noisy neighbours.

Was a bit disappointed with the entertainment as well this time (I have been staying at Butlins twice a year for the last 5 years although mostly at Bognor due to distance).

Eating out is good with lots of choice and fairly reasonable prices, Firehouse Grill was nice and the icecreams from Scoop were super yummy.

I am coming again in August for a whole week with my grand-daughter and staying in a Silver room so hoping that's going to be nice.

Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Minehead, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Michelle,

Thank you for your review, we apologise that you received the incorrect information when booking. We will pass on this feedback to our sales team so that our guests our correctly informed in the future. We appreciate you taking the time to give us detailed comments on how your stay was, we hope that by listening to your comments we can continue to maintain a high standard at Butlins.

Great to hear that your coming back this month, or have already visited us. We hope you enjoy the break.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

935 - 939 of 1,851 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

best hoilday ever for the kids nice food good entinement going again soon lots for all the family to do a good price to pay well good for the money

Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Minehead, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Christine,

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoy coming to Butlins Minehead! We'd love to have you back again!

We hope to see you soon!

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

It is what it says! A fun family holiday! we love it at minehead butlins its fun for all the family and you feel as a parent you can actually relax! as the children are always busy and having fun. We have a 5 year old and 19 month. Shows are good and the swimming pool is great although sometimes a bit too cold!! We come at least once every year! Main bad point is that sometimes you can wait for a while to get in somewhere like the arts and crafts and then they turn around and say they are full which can be disappointing for the children. unfortuntly this has happernd a few times to us. But overall great fun!!

Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Minehead, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Katie,

Thanks for a fabulous review, we're so pleased that you and your family love Butlins Minehead! We're glad you enjoyed our entertainment and Splash Waterworld. We will pass on your comments regarding it being cold in the pool area and the queuing for arts and crafts to resort.

We hope to see you again next year.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked a weekend break for 2 adults and 3 children from Friday 11th July to Monday 14th. We were allocated a Silver Bungalow (L7) and on entering the first thing that greeted us was the smell of damp and vomit. The carpet was dirty and your feet stuck to it there was lipstick and mascara stains all over the cushions on the sofa the curtains had been used by someone as a face cloth and were cover in foundation/mascara and lipstick stains. The kitchen cupboards were covered in grime and the plates and cutlery had traces of the previous occupants foods still on them. The main bedroom on entry smelt of stale cigarets and the window sill was covered in cigaret ash. We returned to reception and the lady there was very helpful and very apologetic and arranged for a cleaner to be sent. We returned to the bungalow and the cleaner arrived soon after. She came into the bungalow with one cloth and a spray bottle and proceeded to go from wiping down the bathroom to the kitchen and was about to start the living room when we asked her to stop as she had not once changed or even rinsed out the cloth having started in the bathroom. I went and purchased my own cleaning materials and cleaned the bathroom and table and purchased plastic plates and cups for the children to use. The children spent the entire weekend not being able to take off their shoes off inside the bungalow and even slept with their socks on as the carpet was so disgusting. We did enjoy our time at the camp however we spent as little time as possible in the accommodation. The only explanation we could come to was this bungalow must have been occupied by either a hen party or a group of women on one of the adult weekends before hand. Whilst we understand that these weekends occur at the camp surely they could accommodate families in a different part of the camp or at least make sure that the accommodation is thorough cleaned before the next visitors arrive.

4  Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Minehead, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Julie,

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations. We are pleased that you had a good time at the resort and appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We will pass on your comments to resort regarding accommodation so that we can continue to maintain a high standard at Butlins. If you would like to email tripadvisor@Butlins.com with you full name and contact details, as well as where you stayed, we would be more than happy to discuss your comments with you further.

We hope you will visit us again.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Have visited twice this year and will be returning again! Love it here. Came with my 4 year old son and 10 year old nephew and they both had a brilliant time. We stayed in a silver apartment which was very clean and had everything we needed. Swimming pool fab, lots of outdoor play areas which they both loved, Go karts went down a treat. Both had fun on the fairground and in the amusements. Both loved the wrestling! Evening shows very entertaining. Never any time to get bored as always something to do or see. All staff are friendly and helpful. Cant wait to come back!

1  Thank kellyt01588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Minehead, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Kelly,

We're so pleased that you love it at Butlins Minehead, thanks for a wonderful review! Great to hear your family enjoyed themselves and your children had fun on the Go Karts and in the fairground.

We can't wait to see you again soon!

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butlins Minehead also viewed

 

Been to Butlins Minehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing