We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab weekend at the darts”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Minehead Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We paid 124 pounds per person for a fri-mon break for the uk open darts . Accommodation looked a bit dull but inside was very nice clean comfy beds perfect little base . We had a food package included again no complaints about the food although if I was staying for longer than 3 nights it could start to get a bit boring . As a darts venue the players championship that I previously attended was great as every match was in the same arena but for the open it was very spread out and not enough information given about who was on and in what arena - on the whole though great value for money fab weekend had I love butlins and every member of staff was really pleasant and welcoming

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkiruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,306 - 2,312 of 3,743 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We only paid for basic standard accomodation which is just that; very basic, think 50s style chalet which hasn't been updated. That said the room was clean and warm enough and if you only want to rest your head then its fine. We had two single beds and a bath. We did pay to upgrade the food to premium dining and couldn't fault this (apart from the sausages at breakfast which are dire!) but very good, lots of choice for breakfast and evening meal.

We also had to pay £26 to upgrade our seats so we could be in the tables section in the middle of the arena, with standard accomodation you get awful tiered seats, ours were at the back so no way would it have been worth viewing from there. To get the best seats, tables near the stage you have to book either gold or deluxe accomodation. Drinks prices, well for beer anyway very reasonable at £4 a pint, spirits expensive in the Inn on the Green pub but beer good value at any bar.

So overall had a great time, staff were friendly and helpful, minehead town is a short 5 minute walk if you want to go wandering and if you want to see a nice part of minehead you can find 'parks walk' or blenheim gardens. No need for cabs you can easily walk in for beers and back, wetherspoon in the town.

Special mention to Bale's barbers who are great, been in the town for 102 years, good haircut and lots of useful local knowledge!

Room Tip: If you are going for Darts then book either Gold or Deluxe, if there are 4 or 6 of you might work ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyk1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Visited for a 3 night half term break with our 2 kids. Lots for them to do, great shows from Dick and Dom, and the Cirque de Hilarious which we all enjoyed. They also loved the swimming pool, and the Roller Disco. Didn't do much outside due to the horrendous weather (rain, rain, and more rain!), but there was enough under cover to keep us busy. We booked a silver room, and were upgraded on arrival to a silver suite for no extra charge. Accomodation was clean and tidy,we had only caravanned at Butlins before so weren't really sure what to expect, but were very happy. Nice to have a fridge for milk (and beer!), beds were comfy and clean, and shower was fine, and thank god for the heating, was lovely and cosy despite the wet weather! We chose the basic food option, all meals were buffet style so you could help yourself to as much of whatever you fancied, and limitless teas/coffees/juices etc. Possibly our only gripe was that the fairground was out of action due to being redeveloped and improved, we were not aware this would be unavailable when we originally booked, there was dodgems and one other ride, and the swings etc suitable for younger kids, but ours being 11 and 15 were looking forward to more of the fair rides appropriate for their age. Car parking was relatively close to our apartment for us, although quite tight as think they have lost space due to building works happening to make new and updated accomodation, but the new plans look like good improvements when they are completed. All in all, a good mini break for us, and both us and the kids are keen to revisit another time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizbeth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Booked gold 2 bedroom apartment for the darts - nice roomy apartment with twin & double room - nice lounge / diner good size bathroom - even had a dishwasher - room cleaned every day great accommodation next yo the centre stage - had a great weekend - plenty of choice for food and drink - definitely go again - great adults only weekend

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank collins14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A group of us went to one of Butlins adult themed weekends (Ultimate 80's) for a 50th birthday.
Accomodation (stayed in silver bungalows/aprtments) - average and basic for what you pay. Don't expect to get 5* accommodation!!! We didn't really stay in the rooms much. Our accommodation wasn't far away from the main building, but if you do go, don't be surprised if you end up having to have a trek to it!!!!
Food - try and take as much of your own as your can. The restaurants in the resort are quite pricey, so be careful!!! There are a few places to eat if you want to walk into the town. There is a Wethersponns (Duke of Wellington I think it's called), and there is The Hairy Dog (paid about £8 for a really nice carvery on the Sunday).
The acts - very strange times for every act. Rick Astley was there on the Saturday, and he was on at like 3pm (which we all found bizarre considering he seemed to be a headline act there for that weekend). Then some acts wouldn't be starting until 12.30am (yes AM not PM), which by that point I think we all had a bit to be drink and were almost ready to call it a night.
The staff were all friendly and helpful during our stay there, no complaints about that.
There is a Spar on site (in main complex), so if you want some lemonade/coke/crisps/etc then you can pop in there.
For what we paid, we had a good deal!!!

Room Tip: Try and book as early as possible - you may have a better chance to get closer accommodation to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie_L_Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Just came back from an 80's Adult Weekend in Minehead. We had four of us in a Silver Bungalow that was clean and tidy. The only fault we had that it was a trek to the main complex as our row was V. Otherwise the whole weekend was really good, staff very friendly and helpful. Acts were good, only they were sometimes on at strange times of the day and night. All in all for £90 for three nights per person you can't go wrong, also the drinks were not a bad price.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MaryB207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Having stayed at Butlins minehead on 6 other occassions I was really disappointed the last time we went. We visited in September 2013 and paid for my in laws to come as a thank you present for all the help they give us with our children. The accomodation was a complete let down. We upgraded upon arrival as we always do from standard to silver. The carpet in the lounge was dirty, my 4 and 1 year old had black feet for the whole weekend.

The real disappointment was when my 1 year old daughter picked up a pill from the floor in the kitchen, the weekend previous to this was an adult weekend so god know what it could have been. My 4 year old son then picked up an empty beer bottle from under the sofa and put it into his mouth (as 4 year old do) My son later went on to find an earing down the side of the sofa!! There were also holes in the duvet covers.

With regards to the entertainment I wouldn't complain, there is so much to do, you will never get bored!

When we returned from the holiday we were sent a survey, I took an hour to fill it in and have never recveived a reply. If I had a business aimed at families and was told a baby had found a pill etc I know I would do something about it!! Not impressed that they couldn't be bothered to reply to my survey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 36 in Minehead
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
YHA Exford
YHA Exford
#7 of 21 in Minehead
48 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#12 of 36 in Minehead
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beachside Suites
Beachside Suites
#18 of 36 in Minehead
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Minehead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Minehead Resort

Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range: £59 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Minehead Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort
Butlins Minehead Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing