We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70's Big Weekend.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Minehead Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed at Butlins Minehead 14th-17th March, for the 70's big weekend. Stayed in a de-luke room, very good, well maintained, maid service, own parking space fight outside apartment, also booked the premier food deal, excellent choice off food, from full english, kippers, fresh omelets, cereal, continental breakfast, evening meal was also very good, hugh selection.staff very good, warm welcome from chaps at restaurant entrance,to table clearing staff, all excellent. First time i have been to one of these big weekends, and it will not be the last, very well organised, plenty of bands to listen to,starts 1.30pm-4.30, then 8pm to close, fancy dress on the saturday night, i would say 99% dressed up.drinks where pub prices, all-in-all great fun.

Room Tip: we booked the de-luke rooms, glad we did .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevensSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,359 - 2,365 of 3,806 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

firstly ,the rooms are not the best we have ever stayed in, very very basic,cold beds are well worn ,but clean ,must say thanx to Sean Hodson (butlins staff) who helped to get us parked up close to our chalet ,top guy!! as were all the staff. helpful cheerful and hard workers.now to the entertainment,got to say it was top class. all our gang had a blast ,we all dressed up on sat night in our 70s gear ,as did thousands of others,we watched blondie,led zepp t,rex,bay city rollers too many more to mention(all top class tributes bands) and they were all brill. all in all we had a really good time, and wiould def go back next time,

Room Tip: you can upgrade from the basic room we stopped in, but we havent seen them, but if you can live basi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baz n caz c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Went to the 80's weekend with my daughter , mainly just to see go west as we love them , but we were pleasantly surprised by the whole event ! We stayed in a silver room which was a tad on the small side ( you had to jump over the bed to get to the wardrobe ) but it was ok for 3 nights , we found the food to be excellent in the quayside resturant. The bands were all good , the atmosphere is fantastic , fancy dress is a must on the sat night , no trouble seen at all , security gaurds were lovely . Especially the one who carries sweets in his first aid pouch !!!! The only down fall I can say is / could do with some sort of blinds on the windows , as every one noseys in your room when they go past !!' Also the queues at the bar were rediculous ! You need more bar staff and the drinks are very overpriced especially the coctail pitcher. !! Our advice ! Take your own drinks ! Cheaper and no queuing ! Finally we were offered a VIP pass for about 20 pounds each ?? Well thank god we didn't bother ? What a waste of money that would be on these type of weekends ????? No entrance queues to actually jump ?? And the so called VIP bar ??? A cornered off bit in centre stage ???? Which I might add we never went in because all the best bands were in reds!! So that would have really been a waste of money. ??? Bit of a con we think butlins ????!!!! Last note GO WEST you were brilliant as always !!!!!! And will be booking to see you again xx

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Well went to Butlins Minehead for the PDC Darts with mixed feelings due to all the poor reviews, Stayed in Holnicote C14, we did get to the room, it had not been cleaned and the beds slept in but a call to the person in charge it was quickly sorted.
Basic accommodation but impressed with staff, room, venue, surroundings and the darts
(great atmosphere).
Will certainly go there again Thank You Butlins

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAUL h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Pros- bands were amazing!!!! Great line up, fun pool, near to the beach, lots to do indoors, very clean and everything is in one main place. Value for money.
Cons- slow service at the bar. Room only doesn't have at least a mini fridge to keep your drinks in but would definitely go again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmedSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Minehead resort. We really do appreciate the feedback from our guests.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the entertainment and facilities.

I have passed on your comments to the team on resort regarding the bar service and if you choose to join us for another break in the future you can hire a mini fridge from the hire shop on the resort.

Kind Regards,

Danny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Spent a weekend here watching the UK Open darts. Good set up for a darts tournament. We loved watching the games on the outside boards away from the main stage. As for the accommodation getting an upgrade to a larger chalet that had a lounge and kitchen was a real bonus.

Food was your usual buffet fare. Plenty of choice and lots of it.

Negatives
More fruit/yoghurt/healthy options would have been good at breakfast and dinner.

Many areas were closed in the late evening. If you didn’t fancy a disco in Jumping Jacks or drinks in the Sports Bar then you were limited (and they shut off all the pool and snooker tables in the evening.) A chill out area with quieter background music would have been good.

The pool was only open from 12 – 2pm on the Saturday and Sunday.

To end with a positive, nearly all the security and bar staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a gold apartment with balcony - which was clean and the beds (two singles in one room, and a double in another) were fine for getting a good nights sleep, if not luxury.

The kitchen had a spacious fridge (good for drinks at the darts!), a microwave, hobs, and a kettle. We also went for the premium dining, which just as garyk1968 says was all great other than the sausages (which are honestly the worst sausages I have ever tasted).

The seats were fantastic for the darts, we did take a few trips to boards 3-8 and 2 to see some of our favourite players (and local qualifier), board 2 in particular has an amazing atmosphere.

Having been to Premier League nights, this is so much a better experience, most of the crowd actually seem to be there for the darts (and drinking) rather than just drinking. If you are going for the darts, try and get to the first session on the first day, as you'll have the opportunity to get closer to the action on boards 2, and 3 - 8 as much of the crowd turns up late.

All in all a very good weekend.

Room Tip: Gold rooms with either a balcony or patio seemed very good - not sure about the ones without which s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
328 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
153 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
286 reviews
1.6 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
209 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Minehead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Minehead Resort

Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range: £56 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Minehead Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort
Butlins Minehead Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing