We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70's Weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlins Minehead Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“70's Weekend”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had a super time at the 70's weekend. Staff friendly and helpful,
food in the Deck was great. Evening entertainment excellent something to suit everyone, The service in the bars was excellent as there where loads of guests. As well as groups on in the main venues had some brilliant d.j.s on in other bars playing some decent tunes creating a brilliant party atmosphere.
On the downside breakfast was not available until 9.00 a.m. which I think is a bit late. 8.30 would have been better. The room we had was clean but the location was not very good, due to noisy neighbours. On the beer side Butlins is now selling Estrella premium lager, but for some unknown reason it is not available in the main entertainment venues

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,219
    1,071
    535
    251
    373
See reviews for
2,036
362
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed at Butlins Minehead 14th-17th March, for the 70's big weekend. Stayed in a de-luke room, very good, well maintained, maid service, own parking space fight outside apartment, also booked the premier food deal, excellent choice off food, from full english, kippers, fresh omelets, cereal, continental breakfast, evening meal was also very good, hugh selection.staff very good, warm welcome from chaps at restaurant entrance,to table clearing staff, all excellent. First time i have been to one of these big weekends, and it will not be the last, very well organised, plenty of bands to listen to,starts 1.30pm-4.30, then 8pm to close, fancy dress on the saturday night, i would say 99% dressed up.drinks where pub prices, all-in-all great fun.

Room Tip: we booked the de-luke rooms, glad we did .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevensSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

firstly ,the rooms are not the best we have ever stayed in, very very basic,cold beds are well worn ,but clean ,must say thanx to Sean Hodson (butlins staff) who helped to get us parked up close to our chalet ,top guy!! as were all the staff. helpful cheerful and hard workers.now to the entertainment,got to say it was top class. all our gang had a blast ,we all dressed up on sat night in our 70s gear ,as did thousands of others,we watched blondie,led zepp t,rex,bay city rollers too many more to mention(all top class tributes bands) and they were all brill. all in all we had a really good time, and wiould def go back next time,

Room Tip: you can upgrade from the basic room we stopped in, but we havent seen them, but if you can live basi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baz n caz c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Minehead hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Went to the 80's weekend with my daughter , mainly just to see go west as we love them , but we were pleasantly surprised by the whole event ! We stayed in a silver room which was a tad on the small side ( you had to jump over the bed to get to the wardrobe ) but it was ok for 3 nights , we found the food to be excellent in the quayside resturant. The bands were all good , the atmosphere is fantastic , fancy dress is a must on the sat night , no trouble seen at all , security gaurds were lovely . Especially the one who carries sweets in his first aid pouch !!!! The only down fall I can say is / could do with some sort of blinds on the windows , as every one noseys in your room when they go past !!' Also the queues at the bar were rediculous ! You need more bar staff and the drinks are very overpriced especially the coctail pitcher. !! Our advice ! Take your own drinks ! Cheaper and no queuing ! Finally we were offered a VIP pass for about 20 pounds each ?? Well thank god we didn't bother ? What a waste of money that would be on these type of weekends ????? No entrance queues to actually jump ?? And the so called VIP bar ??? A cornered off bit in centre stage ???? Which I might add we never went in because all the best bands were in reds!! So that would have really been a waste of money. ??? Bit of a con we think butlins ????!!!! Last note GO WEST you were brilliant as always !!!!!! And will be booking to see you again xx

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Well went to Butlins Minehead for the PDC Darts with mixed feelings due to all the poor reviews, Stayed in Holnicote C14, we did get to the room, it had not been cleaned and the beds slept in but a call to the person in charge it was quickly sorted.
Basic accommodation but impressed with staff, room, venue, surroundings and the darts
(great atmosphere).
Will certainly go there again Thank You Butlins

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAUL h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Pros- bands were amazing!!!! Great line up, fun pool, near to the beach, lots to do indoors, very clean and everything is in one main place. Value for money.
Cons- slow service at the bar. Room only doesn't have at least a mini fridge to keep your drinks in but would definitely go again!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmedSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Minehead resort. We really do appreciate the feedback from our guests.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the entertainment and facilities.

I have passed on your comments to the team on resort regarding the bar service and if you choose to join us for another break in the future you can hire a mini fridge from the hire shop on the resort.

Kind Regards,

Danny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Spent a weekend here watching the UK Open darts. Good set up for a darts tournament. We loved watching the games on the outside boards away from the main stage. As for the accommodation getting an upgrade to a larger chalet that had a lounge and kitchen was a real bonus.

Food was your usual buffet fare. Plenty of choice and lots of it.

Negatives
More fruit/yoghurt/healthy options would have been good at breakfast and dinner.

Many areas were closed in the late evening. If you didn’t fancy a disco in Jumping Jacks or drinks in the Sports Bar then you were limited (and they shut off all the pool and snooker tables in the evening.) A chill out area with quieter background music would have been good.

The pool was only open from 12 – 2pm on the Saturday and Sunday.

To end with a positive, nearly all the security and bar staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#21 of 37 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
8.4 mi away
YHA Exford
YHA Exford
#8 of 20 in Minehead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlins Minehead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlins Minehead Resort

Property: Butlins Minehead Resort
Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlins Minehead Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing