We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”
Review of Butlin's Minehead

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Minehead
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Reviewed 5 April 2014

went for an adult weekend check in was very fast on arrival we were lucky and got a free upgade the rooom was very clean and warm the beds were very comfortable but the two sofas were rock hard there was no remote for tv contacted room services and sorted straight away which was very good but the tv was not digital and you could not get ceefax on it the entertainment was very good both day and night the bar service was very quick to say how many people was there the resort itself was very clean and tidy with plenty of people going round cleaning up there was plenty of places to eat some were very nice but the chip shop was very bland i thought the prices for the food was quite expensive it woold be a lot cheeper to book your meals at the start or go into the town center the staff were very polite and helpfull if you needed them i would go back again next year if the entertainment was as good

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenb0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,231 - 2,237 of 3,688 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Brilliant here I've stayed about 5 times and it is great. Stacey Solomon and Bruno Mars was there when we was which made it good. Rooms are ok but lots of items broke last time. Like iron leakers kettle didn't work. Fridge off ect. But overall good hol.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just had a Mon - Fri 'Sun' break at Butlins Minehead. We chose a £9.50 'all in week', total cost of £38 for the two of us. What a good value for money break it was! We were a little unsure about this holiday, both of us have reached old age without ever visiting a Butlins, but we will certainly be going back.

The check in was easy and after a look around we went into Minehead for a wander until our flat was ready at 4pm. The accommodation was superb, a two bed flat with everything in it that we could need. It was bitter cold outside but the flat soon warmed up with an efficient heater in each room. The beds were ready made and there were toiletries and washing up cloths and liquid provided - very impressive considering we had only paid for 'basic'.

The entertainment was excellent, I think there really was somthing for everyone. We watched a Freddy Mercury tribute which was loud but good and a Tom Jones tribute who sounded better than he looked!!! There was a lot of childrens entertainment in the Big Top arena and a huge amount for them to do around the site, although non of this seemed to be included in the price. The swimming pool complex was one of the best we have been to, and even us oldies enjoyed the wave machine.

All in all, a very very good holiday, cheap for us because we did a Sun deal, but dear if we had had to pay full price. Will certainly go back on another 'Sun' break, we have 3 a year, and this was by far the very best we have had.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayleywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We went to the GB Alternative Festival at Minehead, 28-31 March. We're 'Butlins Veterans' inasmuch as we go to Skegness for the Rock and Blues every year, but we hadn't been to Minehead before. The journey was interesting, due to the lack of a train between Taunton and Minehead, but the bus service was good and everyone on the bus starting chatting, which was a great start.

Check in was smooth and easy (better than Skeggy in this respect) and we were happy to see that our Silver accommodation (room only) had been upgraded to a room with lounge! And an extra bedroom, handy for the luggage. Not that it really matters, but always nice to get an upgrade. The room was very clean, with fresh paintwork and a new carpet (squishy and bouncy). The bathroom was small but clean and well designed for the space.

We paid for the standard dining package, as this has always been more than adequate, and the quality (and quantity) was excellent. A big improvement was the 'self-service' which has been recently introduced, as we enjoy experimenting with different combinations of food! The self-service made the dining much quicker, and there were no real queues for food all weekend. We particularly liked the timing of breakfast (9-11) which meant we didn't have to get up to early! Always useful after a big night.

The raison d'etre for all of us was, of course, the music. And once again, Butlins did a wonderful job. The two venues had simultaneous bands, starting at 8.30 with the last ones off stage at around 12.30-1.00. Really good mix of music, and the only problem was deciding which ones to see. The great thing is that you can take your drink from one to the other, so there is always a chance to see everything. The bar prices are not high - we live in London and actually pay more for two pints at home than at Butlins.

The site at Minehead is very well laid out, with a lot of entertainment, such as the swimming pool, funfair and crazy golf. We were lucky that the weekend was great weather, which meant we spent more time outside than if it was raining. Beatifully landscaped and well maintained gardens gave a lovely feel to the whole place, and everything was clean and well looked after.

As the weather was so good, we (and most others) ventured into Minehead, along the (fabulous) beach. We were very fortunate that the steam railway was running this weekend so we had the novelty of seeing working steam trains running. Surprise bonus! Minehead itself is a very clean and tidy town, with a lot of cafes, pubs and shops to browse around. We walked along to the quay, past the beautiful cottages, all the time marvelling at the view.

To sum up, Butlins Minehead is a very good site, perfect for these music weekenders. It's in a fabulous location (the best of all three Butlins sites) and is clean, comfortable and welcoming. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clairec58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just arrived back from alternative music festival weekend and what a brilliant time we had. An adult only weekend, we stayed in a silver apartment which was clean and had everything you need. We stayed half board and decided when looking online to up grade to the premier dining. The food was top quality and omelettes to order for breakfast and fresh fruits, you have a massive choice of full English or continental. Evening meal was served from 4.30 to 7.30 and gains so much choice in a lovely environment. We can honestly say we didn't meet any miserable staff at all. The water world was open from 10 till 3 on sat and sun and oh joy to have all the slides open and no children!! No large ques and no height pitched shrieking! Not that I'm against children I have grown up ones puff so nice to have a weekend away without them. This is our second time at one of these weekends and would defiantly recommend them to others.

Room Tip: Worth a walk to oyster bay at the back of the park but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthea_reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just back after a family week Mon to Fri, The accommodation was clean and reasonable and the staff were helpful and friendly but boy did we get a shock when we bought the Captains Breakfast in their pub vastly overpriced and how someone can charge £1 for a slice of toast is beyond me.
In the main tent they charge on average for each child's ride £1 try telling a 2 year old they can only have so many rides.

As to the free stuff well done to Butlins the kids enjoyed it and it was good but as an adult I think I have just been legally mugged.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I've recently returned from the 90's Reloaded weekend in Minehead as a family of 8 to celebrate my brothers 21st birthday and can honestly say that the whole place/event exceeded my expectations.

We had booked the Gold rooms (not really by choice, we left our booking until late so it was all that was left) and on arrival the check in was very quick and easy. The rooms we were allocated were brilliant, I was expecting dingy dated dirty rooms (due to past experiences at a similar resort) but these were spotless, bright and warm. They are quite cosy but we had been allocated two rooms opposite each other with only our rooms sharing the corridor so whilst we were in we just had the doors pinned back to make one very large apartment. The facilities in the apartment were brilliant, full kitchen (cooker, microwave, fridge, crockery etc and even a small dishwasher), telly DVD, two small but very comfy sofas, safe in the main bedroom, plenty of storage for our needs and a lovely sized balcony which we were fortunately able to enjoy our hangover recovery breakfast on. It is worth mentioning that the bathroom is quite compact and the shower a bit tight (though even my husband who is 6ft3 was able to cope fine) and the toilet didn't flush brilliantly (sometimes took a couple of go's), however everything was pretty spotless.

The staff all around the resort were lovely and chatty and didn't mind getting in on a little banter whist still being professional. Special mention should be made to our cleaners (unfortunately I didn't get their names) as nothing seemed to much trouble and they were always asking if we were having a good time.

The event itself was amazing fun, all the acts were great, even the tribute acts and our entire family (even my parents) had a brilliant time. There was plenty of options for places to drink and acts to go see throughout the day and the drinks weren't ridiculously priced (in comparison to Reading that is). That said, we did experience on more than one occasion (unfortunately on several occasions in fact) the bar staff in both Central Stage and Reds trying to over-charge us on drinks when they thought we were too drunk to notice. If we asked for doubles we caught them pouring singles and still charging doubles. When confronted it was corrected however I felt it a big shame that this was even happening in the first place, just because people are on a weekend where drinking is playing a big part doesn't justify trying to rob them of their money. The overall atmosphere was brilliant, it was mostly full of stag and hen parties all dressed up and having a good time, I didn't see one bit of trouble the whole time we were there.

Food was very reasonably priced but by the end of the weekend I'd had enough of greasy fast food so we did find ourselves wondering into town to one of the local pubs for some nicer grub. That said what was on offer was perfect for a boozy weekend (didn't eat at any of the on site pubs) and the fake Nando's place (can't remember the name) was nice. Plenty of shops available on site and nearby for essentials.

The park itself is obviously more geared towards families and I wasn't really in any fit state to use many facilities. I would probably have used the pool but it was only open for a few hours a day so I didn't bother and we did try to have a go at the laser quest but after waiting about for around 10 mins without seeing a member of staff (seemed like one member of staff only concentrating on the current paint-balling game going on) we gave up and played crazy golf instead.

Overall it was a brilliant weekend and I wouldn't hesitate in going to another Butlins adult weekend.

Room Tip: If you're on a adult weekend and drinking late watch what the bar staff are pouring/charging...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berks_Big_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
652 reviews
8.4 mi away
YHA Exford
YHA Exford
#6 of 21 in Minehead
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 37 in Minehead
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Minehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Minehead

Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range: £59 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Minehead 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort
Butlins Minehead Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing